Cherry Tree And Sleeping Bee


It seemed to be early by about two weeks. But checking last years records, meaning the yearly blog post about the blooming of the Yoshino cherry tree, Prunus x yedoensis, growing center stage in the front yard, to see that story, please click here, these flowers came two weeks early in 2011, as well. So what is normal, anyway?


The whole saga of the cherry tree, with photos showing the progression of growth to the time of the first blog post about it, 2008, can be seen here. Looking at the size of it in 2012, one wonders how large it will be at maturity. Such a sight, alive with the humming, buzzing pollinators and the sweetest scent you can imagine. It is glorious and joyful as spring returns, according to the calendar, anyway. It seems spring has been here for some time in actuality.


And now, moving on to the second section of this post, the sleeping bee. It had been lightly sprinkling off and on all day, just a nuisance rain that didn’t really water the garden, it just made everything wet. I noticed something at the base of the glass mushroom, story here, using it like an umbrella to keep dry. Do you see it?


Do you see how the mulch is slightly darker around the circle of lighter, drier pine fines? And do you see the little napper taking advantage of the protection of the thick glass?


When the bumbles don’t move at all, like this one, it makes me slightly worried that something is wrong. Let’s kneel down a little closer…


Just to make sure all is well, a tiny twig was used to give him a teensy nudge. Over he tumbled, head over wings, down the sloping ground! Oh no! I am so sorry, Mr. Bumble, please forgive my rude intrusion upon your sweet dreams! Righting himself, he gave a shake and flew away. I should have known better, really, to let sleeping bees lie.

Frances

This entry was posted in Plant Portrait, Seasonal Chores, wildlife. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Cherry Tree And Sleeping Bee

  1. So nice to see a bumble that close up, I do not get any in my garden for some reason, plenty of other bees etc but no bumble bees.

    Hi Growing Vegetables, thanks for visiting. When they are asleep is the only time I can get that close to the bees, not because they will sting, but because they dart around so quickly. The bumble are native to the US, maybe that is why you don’t see them, they are more rare in the UK? Just a guess.
    Frances

  2. Lea says:

    Wonderful!
    Really great photography!
    Have a blessed day!
    Lea
    Lea’s Menagerie

    Hi Lea, thanks. A sleeping bee makes for an easy closeup! You to have the most wonderful of days.
    Frances

  3. Layanee says:

    I must have a Yoshino cherry. Where did yours come from? As for the bee, what a smart bumble. You continue to create habitat for nature’s creatures in the form of a rainbrelly mushroom. Good for you! Good for him?

    Hi Layanee, thanks. My cherry tree came from Lowe’s, more than ten years ago. It was so small when planted, hard to believe how large it has grown. I loved that the bumble was so smart to seek shelter under the glass mushroom. Isn’t Nature grand?
    Frances

  4. Crystal says:

    Oh, he probably had a hangover after drinking all that nectar from the cherry tree. Bet he’ll be grumpy all day now.

    By the way, after reading your earlier post for new bloggers, I did a google search and discovered a blog with a very similar title to mine. So I’ve changed my blog title to avoid any confusion. Great advice. Thanks.

    Hi Crystal, thanks. Poor little bumble, and the big, clumsy human sends him tumbling while he is sleeping peacefully! I am glad you checked out your blog name. I have found that having a misspelled word helps to make it unique! HA
    Frances

  5. I’m delighted by your bee story. As I was reading it I was thinking what a unique mind you have, to take in that sort of detail, to ponder it and then to share it with us. Don’t know anyone else in blogland who could think that way. Love it.

    Hi Heather, thanks so much. Really, no one else thinks that way? Uh oh, something must be wrong with me, then, HA! I am a very detail oriented person, it is true. There are a few of us around, but we do seem to be in the minority.
    Frances

  6. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Teee hee. Poor little bumble. They do look like they are fake bugs when they are sleeping. One almost thinks that they are not alive because you can’t see them breathing and when they are awake they are rarely still. Love the photos.

    Hi Lisa, thanks. Every single time I see a bee that is not moving, I think the worst! How long do bees live, anyway? It does make for easy photos, when they are perfectly still, but I would feel awful if I was taking pictures of a dead bee so I have to rouse them. Every time!
    Frances

  7. Gailae says:

    Dear Frances, Your cherry is every bit as beautiful in photos as it was in person. It was magnificent to stand nearby and watch the critters madly dash from flower to flower. No wonder the bumble had to nap. I am going to think about where in my garden I could add a flowering cherry. Must make sure I can see it from a window or a comfy bench. xoxogail

    Thanks, dear Gail. I am so glad you were able to come visit my garden in spring, since you have only been in late fall before then. Those pollinators work so hard, I am glad this one found a dry place to doze off for a few minutes until some dullard poked him.
    xoxoxo
    Frances

  8. Donna B. says:

    Something about a sleeping bee is so peaceful. I tend to find sleeping bumblers amongst the foliage in my garden – but never on the ground like this! I too get nervous and give them a poke to make sure everythings’ okay… most of mine are found upside down clinging to a raspberry on my bushes! Daredevils!
    And like always, great photos! The fuziness makes me feel great on this slightly dreary day. ♥

    Hi Donna, thanks. I am so glad to hear I am not the only one poking, gently of course, at sleeping bees. How sweet that they enjoy your raspberries, too, watch out when picking!
    Frances

  9. What a gorgeous tree and a sweet bee..I have not enough time outside to see any bumbles just honey bees in droves…

    Hi Donna, thanks. We saw nothing but honey bees for a few weeks, now the wasps, bumbles and everyone else is showing up. The weather is like summer here, very scary, actually.
    Frances

  10. ricki says:

    What is normal is a regular post in my in-box that lifts my spirits every time. Thanks, Frances.

    My goodness, Ricki, what a sweet thing to say. That made my day, thanks!
    Frances

  11. I know there is the expression “Let sleeping dogs lie” but we gardeners have to make up one for a resting bumbler. If I weren’t so tuckered from a day of vigorous gardening, I’d put my thinking cap on. Once I fall asleep tonight, I don’t think a gentle nudge will come close to rousing me!
    What a satisfying delight your cherry must be for you since you rescued it from Lowe’s and have given it such a good home. I love when there is a gentle breeze blowing during the time the petals fall and it becomes a soft pink snowfall.

    Hi Michaele, thanks for visiting. I know exactly what you mean about a day of vigorous gardening! It is snowing pink petals right now as the green leaves are showing more and more. I love it then, as well.
    Frances

  12. Linda says:

    The oddest thing has been happening in my garden, the last 3 days……I found 2 little wasp nests, inside one of my bird feeders. (I’m a catch and release kinda gal) The feeder is next to the arbor with wisteria which is LOADED with bumblers. Every time I approach the feeder the bumblers dive bomb me, as if to protect the wasps. Is there a relationship between these 2? I’ve had bumble bees land in my hand, as I reach to them, as they hover……..so tame…hence reason I am stumped. Gotta clue?

    I don’t know much about that sort of thing, Linda, but have noted aggressive behavior in the carpenter bees and nesting wasps, too. I believe they have strength in large groups and are very protective. Watch out for hornets!
    Frances

  13. Diane says:

    I loved reading about your bumble bee! I stumbled accross your blog when googling “Yoshino cherry tree”, as I just planted one this afternoon. I am hoping mine grows as fast as yours, but I am in MA with much yuckier weather, so highly unlikely.I loved reading about your bumble bee! I was laughing at you nudging him w/a stick b/c I just did this the other day to a BB who was resting inside my garage. I love my bees as well – LOL. I, like you always fear the worst when I see one lying idle and will watch them on the flowers, and I’ll chit chat “hi, bee!! Aren’t you cute!! Very sweet post.

    Hi Diane, thanks. Good luck with your Yoshino, I will need pruning while young unless you have it planted in a large, open space. If it is by your house, be aware that the horizontal growth can be 40 feet wide! I took off the lower branches while mine was young and easy to cut. Just a suggestion. As for the bumble, when they are spotted sleeping here, often on flowers, I always worry that they died in their bliss of nectaring and give them a gentle shake. So rude, I know, I should just leave them be.
    Frances

Comments are closed.