Gotcha…


Earlier there was a post written about a frog that lives in the small manmade pond in the Fairegarden, see it here. The lament was that I could never even see the frog, he always jumped into the pond when I got close. His splash was seen out of the very corner of my vision.


It seems now that the same frog has gotten used to the traipsing gardener as she scrambles around the hillside, taking photos, pulling weeds and pinching seedpods from some of the hellebores, among other tasks.


Recent forays to photograph the frog have turned out to be as easy as shooting fish in a barrel, and this pond is sort of like a large barrel, come to think of it.


Wearing the fancy hiking boots that I got for Christmas, a gift from The Financier that have been sitting patiently in the closet, too nice to wear and get dirty, until he suggested that they would be perfect for gardening on the steep and muddy slope and why haven’t I been wearing them, up we climbed to the area above and behind the pond. The zoom camera, Canon Powershot SX1IS, is turned on and pointed at the mossy rock where the frog is sunning himself lazily.


Click, click and more clicks as the frog did not move as I skootched closer and closer. I had enough of him just sitting there, why doesn’t he jump in the water? I might be lucky and click at just the right time to get him mid-air. I threw some small sticks at him. He did not move a wart. I looked around for some larger sticks and in he jumped. Okay.


There are some flowers blooming right now so the lens was pointed and the button clicked at some of them. The 20x zoom is so fun to play with on this camera. It does much better when the sun is shining, too.


We went around the garden clicking and decided to go back to the pond and see if the frog had crawled back up onto the mossy rock. He had.


It looks like the pond needs to be topped up. It has a leak and loses water, but only sometimes. I like to keep it filled up so the fishies have more room to swim, the birds can more easily get a drink from the rock edge and it looks prettier. The hose is kept nearby, at the ready for a quick fillup.


While the hose is spraying the area, we might as well water the newly moved daffodil divisions, the frog sits stoically on his perch. The hose is set down, propped on a rock to continue spraying while I fumble around with the camera. Maybe the frog will jump in with all of this ruckus.


Nope. Instead he darts back into a space between the rocks. That must be his hidey hole. I think this frog needs a name if he is going to hang around here for an extended period of time. Or is he even a frog? Or is he even a he? Any ideas out there in the blogdom? Research has been unfruitful for a positive ID, but he may be a Wood Frog. Or not.

Frances

This entry was posted in Photography, wildlife. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Gotcha…

  1. Frances he does look like a wood frog, but hard to tell…so glad you captured the little dickens…Oliver is a cute name for the little loner…

    Hi Donna, thanks. Wood frog was the closest match on the sites I visited. I like Oliver, or it could be Olive.
    Frances

  2. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    What a friendly fellow/fellowette. It is fun to have a wildling in the garden. Our garter snake has returned. I always look forward to seeing it in our garden. We named him/her the other evening. Stripey. You will come up with a name for your frog. Maybe you will name him/her Ribbet. That could be for a girl or boy. Have a great weekend.

    Hi Lisa, thanks. How wonderful for your returning garter snake. Stripey is the perfect name for him, too. I saw a small snake on the daylily hill, no stripe, all brownish. I did not name it! Ribbet is cute for the frog. You too enjoy the weekend.
    Frances

  3. Nature is waking up – :))))

    Hi Liliana, thanks for visiting. Everything is awake here, except I have yet to see any turtles. Maybe soon!
    Frances

  4. Sandy Bridenbaugh says:

    Your pictures with your camera are beautiful. Will you share with us the type of camera you are using. I cannot imagine gardening on a hillside. Climbing up and down has got to keep you in shape. I have enough trouble on flat ground.We finally got some rain here this morning. It has been so dry I actually watered my Spring flowers yesterday. That is something I have never done before. Here in Oh. we have had temps in the 80″s all week breaking records. Beautiful rain this morning and cooler temps. Welcome back Spring…

    Hi Sandy, thanks. As I mentioned in the post, these photos were taken with the Canon Powershot SX1IS. My regular camera, the one most of the photos on the blog are taken with is a Canon Powershot A720IS. Always on auto setting for both, with the zoom on for the SX1 and the macro on for the 720. It is raining here, too. I had to water newly planteds this week, it was so hot.
    Frances

  5. I’m always in awe of your photography. But the photo with the water spraying is the best one I’ve ever seen you do – wonderful, magical. Now where’s my zoom lens?

    Thanks Heather, I like like that one, too. I was so worried about getting the camera wet while holding the hose at the same time! The light is the magic in all of my shots, I can claim no credit.
    Frances

  6. Marguerite says:

    SO glad you finally have met the local fauna/ambphibia He just needed a bit of time to warm up to his hostess. As for names…. in tribute to the Little Rascals fellow, you could go with Froggy (not Froggie of Froggie goes a’ courtin’ fame, who meets a very unfortunate end) , and then again, there is always Kermit, and if he turns out to be a she, Kermette. He seems more Frog than Toad, so I’ll not suggest Mr. Toad, although the longer he gets to know you, he may shed more of his inhibitions, begin to emulate Mr. Toad’s raucous behavior in The Wind and the Willows. I’d keep a close eye on him….Mr. Toad’s having too much time on his hands led him into some dangerous hi jinks: wild motoring , eventual arrest, and a daring escape from prison. It’s the quietly croaking ones you’ve got to watch.

    While, it’s certainly not easy being green, this guy couldn’t have a more beautiful place to live. Thank you for sharing it with all of us!

    Hi Marguerite, thanks for all those suggestions. Mr. Toad was always one of my favorite characters! We still have not decided upon a name for the frog, nothing seems quite right. He might always be *The Frog*. Sort of like *The Donald*.
    Frances

  7. Diana says:

    What a cutie! I love getting to watch wildlife in the garden. We have Rio Grande Leopard frogs here.

    Hi Diana, thanks for stopping by. Your frogs sound very exotic!
    Frances

  8. Jane Carroll says:

    Frances…I’ve been having frog envy…since reading your posts of late…and then…I saw it…a tiny tree frog…clinging to my gutter…a start…albeit small…love your photos…glad you were able to capture froggy…or…whoever…it decides to be!

    Hi Jane, thanks for sharing. I love those little tiny tree frogs, we stumbled upon one in the wheelbarrow planter one year, itty bitty green guy.
    Frances

  9. Robin Ripley says:

    That’s the best kind of hunting! Congratulations!

    Thanks Robin. I was happy to be able to capture this little guy!
    Frances

  10. I think he was posing! Don’t let the celebrity status go to his little frog head. Love the moss effect. Next time, what will be his stage?

    Hi Freda, thanks for stopping by. You are funny! It will be fun watching this frog as he grows larger. Who knows what heights he will reach!
    Frances

  11. DJ says:

    Frances, I especially love the next to the last photo. The frog seems to be in a fantasyland green utopia, surrounded by such interesting textures and colors. He (or she) is one lucky amphibian!

    Hi DJ, thanks for visiting. I like that photo, too, with the water from the hose spraying. We do the best we can to make all the wildlife here happy. Even the dadburn squirrels seem quite happy.
    Frances

  12. gail says:

    Frances, he looks very happy at Fairegarden and who could blame him. A comfy and safe home, plenty of food and pretty plants to pose with~Ah a frog’s life is good in a garden. PS I forgot to tell you how very much I enjoyed the froggie fotos! xoxoxogail

    Hi Gail, thanks. He does have a nice spot, with that mattess of moss! The moss in flower is nearly as tall as he is. He now has an indentation where he always sits in it, sort of crushed down and matted, just to fit his shape. Cool!
    xoxoxo
    Frances

  13. sandy lawrence says:

    I like Lisa’s idea of Ribbit because that’s what I named my bumble bee poison dart frog that lives in his very own giant jar terrarium in the living room. Turns out he is male because he sings to me. LOVE frogs and other critters in the garden. I supply lots of hidey-hole places for baby snakes, chameleons, etc. so they can stay safe from neighborhood kitties, who seem to like baby snake sushi 😦
    So glad you caught this cutie on camera!

    Hi Sandy, thanks. How cool that you have a serenading frog! It is good to provide plenty of habitat, like brush piles and messy areas. That sushi sound awful!
    Frances

  14. Too cute, I love the photos with him nestled in the moss. This is the third ‘frog blog’ I’ve read this morning. It must be the season 🙂

    Hi CV, thanks. More frog blogs? It certainly must be the season!
    Frances

  15. dirtynailz says:

    Nice frog, Frances, and that mossy rock is the perfect spot for him/her to hang out on. They do get used to your presence. I think they’re far more savvy than people give them credit for.

    Hi DN, thanks for visiting. I agree, I believe the frog, and the fish, are quite aware of what is going on in the garden, and who the human is that they see all the time.
    Frances

  16. Lola says:

    I like all the blooms but the frog caught my eye. I have some land frogs but I guess they haven’t woke up yet. At least I haven’t seen any. I do like those frogs & they are so helpful.. I have Kermit sitting under a tree out front. The fruit from the tree feeds the birds well.

    Hi Lola, thanks. The frog is a highlight of going over the the pond now, we always look for him on the mossy rock or other spots at the edge of the water. I hope your frogs wake up soon!
    Frances

  17. katiesettlage@yahoo.com says:

    Hi Frances,
    I think that’s a very common green frog you have there. Seems unlikely to me that it would be a wood frog. Hope this helps!
    Katie

    Hi Katie, thanks. I will check out the common green frog photos and description for a match.
    Frances

  18. cheryl says:

    ooooo froggies ! Can I tell stories about frogs and ponds, 🙂 He’s a handsome wee one Frances but he needs a mate and then you’ll have the fun of watching tadpoles, o yesssss ! One word of caution if you have a Bully frog hop on in is NOT to wear red. It’s like waving a red flag in front of a bull because he will charge! True, I had one do that and he was swiftly moved to the river. The pond is for pondering not for wrassling 🙂

    Hi Cheryl, oh my! I don’t wear much red, but would definitely lose consciousness if a frog charged me! That story makes me glad that this little frog is timid! I will look at him differently from now on, just in case….
    Frances

  19. spurge says:

    Wonderful frog – may he live long and consume lots of evildoers in your garden! You could call him the Timid Avenger.

    Hi Spurge, thanks. I like that, Timid Avenger! My grandsons would enjoy that name, as well. Very super-heroish.
    Frances

  20. Pingback: They’re Back! « Fairegarden

Comments are closed.