For One Brief Shining Moment*…


Fabulous but fleeting….


….The flowers flourished for but a moment.


The intoxicating perfume of hyacinths…


….Filled the Fairegarden.


There had been a flurry of furious planting the previous fall….


….Fun with bulbs.


But the weather gods were weary of the winter that wasn’t….


….They peeked forward to the later chapters of the book of 2012, into the Summer section….


….Speeding past Spring…


….All too quickly.


But for one brief shining moment, it was Eden on Earth.

***

*Don’t let it be forgot / That once there was a spot / For one brief shining moment / That was known as Camelot!

The cast:

#1 Sanguinaria canadensis, blood root
#2 Narcissus bulbocodium ‘Golden Bells’, hoop skirt daffodil
#3 Hyacinthus orientalis ‘Blue Ice’
#4 Hyacinthus orientalis ‘City Of Haarlem’
#5 Long view of edge of white/yellow garden
#6 Muscari aucheri ‘White Magic’
#7 Magnolia ‘Jane’
#8 Leucojum aestivum ‘Gravetye Giant’
#9 Epimedium sulphureum backed by Primula veris
#10 Paeonia ostii ‘White Phoenix’
#11 Erythronium ‘Pagoda’, Heuchera ‘Silver Scrolls’ and Athena

Frances

This entry was posted in Seasonal Chores. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to For One Brief Shining Moment*…

  1. Beautidful! Yikes I think it’s to early to spell correctly. Beautiful!!

    Thanks Susan. I left your second comment because it made me laugh! I can edit comments on wordpress, but don’t always.
    Frances

  2. OH I love Camelot…and this post! With the cold seeping into our spring the bulbs are slow to open and have no fragrance..they are holding onto it for warmer days…so our spring is still here crawling along with another freeze predicted tonight.

    Hi Donna, thanks. I am glad you still have some cold, it makes things seem not so freakish like they are here. I am wondering what the rest of the growing season will bring.
    Frances

  3. gailae says:

    Dear Frances, It was a brief shining moment in my garden, too. I spent some time in the 2011 Spring photo archives working on a post and wowzer, what a difference. I am so glad I was able to see your garden in March before summer arrived. It was too brief a visit but, every minute was a treat. I’ve already scheduled reminders on my calendar to get more bulbs~they are worth it, even if fleeting. xoxogail

    Hi Gail, thanks for coming, you are welcome any time, but you know that already. Certain flowers are fleeting here, even under the best conditions. I still consider them worth growing though. Most of this garden is foliage based, with different flowers chiming in throughout the months. I wouldn’t be without the bulbs. Need more!
    xoxoxo
    Frances

  4. Good morning ,Your Spring garden is simply stunning. My Spring flowers did not do as well also because of the warm Spring. I will simply enjoy yours. I love the hyacinths in the blue pot.I started using the blue pots last year, but mine are a dark blue. Seems like no matter what I put in them the color just makes them pop.

    Hi Sandy, thanks. The flowering time of certain things here has been affected by our summer like temps as well. We could also use some rain, but I am on top of that with watering of the newly planteds. Cobalt blue pots are wonderful in any garden, even unplanted!
    Frances

  5. We, too, had a brief taste of what is to come with temperatures well into the 70’s a couple of weeks ago. But that is gone, as well as the magnolia blossoms which have frozen on the tree and look like old frozen brown lettuce leaves. But my daffodils and flowering quince held it through, so there is still some hope. We Canadians never know when spring will arrive and summer will come pounding on our doors with high heat.

    Hi Heather, thanks for joining in. Every year is different, I am sorry about your magnolia blooms, we had a cold snap just as Jane magnolia was blooming and she got browned up, too. Then it went into the high 80s. We have to be ready for anything and just ride it out!
    Frances

  6. Wow, Frances, how beautifully your garden grows. That Eden on Earth shot is a real show stopper. Love your composition. I am sure I am not the first to comment on your artistic talents. Lovely.

    Hi Georgia, thanks so much for those kind words. The garden is my passion and does give great joy. But there is always a list of improvements to be made.
    Frances

  7. I especially love the delicacy of the yellow Erythronium especially with the backdrop of that luscious green…is that moss? Spring in east TN is such a treat.

    Hi Michaele, thanks. The Athena hill is home to naturally occuring moss and Sedum acre. In the winter the moss is the star, in the spring the Sedum emerges and flowers with little yellow stars. It is marvelous and I had absolutely nothing to do with that. My favorite way to garden!
    Frances

  8. Leslie says:

    I can’t pick a favorite vignette…it looks breathtaking there right now!

    Hi Leslie, thanks. We don’t have to pick favorites as we wander around the garden, it’s all wonderful.
    Frances

  9. Lovely! How beautiful your spring garden is, I too was planting alot of bulbs in the fall and they just gave me a spectacular show a week ago . Even though spring bulb blooms are short-lived it is so worth it! Love your photo’s and thanks so much for sharing your lovely spring garden

    Hi Graceful Gardener, thanks. Those spring bulbs must be in any garden I am tending. After winter’s dreary lack of color, we need those shots of pizzazz and nothing provides it like the bulbs do.
    Frances

  10. Wow! I love how you mixed the bulbs with other annuals. I will have to give that a try for next spring. My hyacinth bulbs never came up this year. I will have to investigate further what happened to them.

    Hi Karin, thanks. Violas are really the perfect match for the bulbs. Note to self: more violas this fall, if we can remember where the bulbs are. That is where photos really help us remember what is where. So sorry about your hyacinths, sometimes it happens.
    Frances

  11. Rose says:

    One of my favorite musicals of all time–I love the music! This has been such a gorgeous March, but if I had one complaint it would be the same as yours–it’s all too fleeting. Beautiful images, Frances–you did indeed have Paradise for that shining moment!

    Me too, Rose, those were some fabulously melodious tunes, weren’t they? Our spring is always fast here in TN, so we are used to it and know to treasure each moment, shining or not.
    Frances

  12. It’s beautiful. There is bloodroot up here, but it doesn’t seem to want to open. Otherwise we’re up to daffodils, but no hyacinths yet.

    Hi Kathy, thanks. The bloodroot was literally here one day and gone the next. I envy you still having the anticipation of things to come. For us, it is onward!
    Frances

  13. commonweeder says:

    No shining moments in my garden, yet. But I am not unhappy because Summer did make a strategic retreat and we are now enjoying a more seasonal spring. I think I have 6 daffodil blooms.

    Hi Pat, thanks for joining in here. I am glad your weather returned to a more normal timeline. We really don’t know what is normal anymore, each year is so different.
    Frances

  14. Lynn Hunt says:

    Oh, what a glorious garden and posting! Then to have the pleasure of seeing one of my all time favorite movie moments. Thank you. Just wish I could’ve seen the original cast on Broadway. Never mind, I can watch this clip any time I like!

    A few brief, shining moments here in the NC mountains. Lots of interesting violets (one of which I can’t find in my wildflower books) and the hay-scented ferns are beginning to unfurl.

    Hi Lynn, thanks so much. I love hay scented ferns, need to add some!
    Frances

  15. Christina says:

    Frances, your garden is truly Eden on Earth! I love all the bulbs that you have planted and enjoyed the outstanding combinations of colors, textures and leave shapes. Each time I visit your blog I walk away being enriched. Your blog is such an inspiration! Thanks you for putting in the time and effort to write it and share your amazing garden.
    Christina

    Hi Christina, thanks for those kind words, you are so sweet! I love the garden, and love sharing it.
    Frances

  16. Camelot is one of my favorite old musicals. Love it. I have ‘Golden Bells’ too, just started opening. Your white muscari and pansies combo!

    Hi Janet, thanks. Camelot is a blast from the past during a very happy period of my life, so romantic! The white muscari is new this year, I am smitten by it.
    Frances

  17. Dee says:

    Simply lovely Frances. Spring seemed over here too, and then a cold front came through. No tornadoes for us like Dallas, but rain and cooler temperatures. I love the white hyacinths with the purple/pink pansies. Lovely.~~Dee

    Hi Dee, thanks. I am very glad to hear you were not affected by those horrific tornadoes! Rain and cool sounds good. We could use some of that.
    Frances

Comments are closed.