April Bloom Day 2012-Is It A Dream?


I don’t know what to make of it, this glorious month of April 2012. Summer, winter, up and down, it is difficult to follow the flowering progression. Things are out of sync, with never before seen combinations of blooms. There is only one thing for a gardener to do, hold her hands straight up in the air, knees pressed against the restraining bar and loudly yell in delirious delight as the ride follows the ricocheting track.


Don’t pinch me yet, for this dream is still playing out.


I want to see where it leads.


What will bloom when, it is all a coin toss.


My eyes are open wide, head twisting this way and that, trying to take it all in.


Crawling on hands and knees, lifting leaves….


….Searching out tiny treasures that are easily overlooked….


….Trying to see from some new perspectives.


It is the unexpected that stirs the senses…


….When the colors click….


….Just the way the vision had imagined.


You have got to be alert, if you blink, you could miss it.

***
For more April Dreams Gardens, check out May Dreams Gardens where the bloggers show their blooms each month.

The blooms:

#1 Iris germanica ‘Cinnamon Girl’ with foliage of Penstemon ‘Husker Red’ volunteer
#2 Allium bulgaricum with Heuchera ssp. flower stalks backed by Japanese maple ‘Crimson Queen’
#3 Geranium x cantabrigiense ‘Biokovo’ with Iris pallida variegata
#4 Clematis lanuginosa ‘Candida’
#5 Baptisia alba
#6 Polygonatum odorata ‘Variegata’ backed by Phlox divaricata ‘Blue Moon’
#7 Convallaria majalis
#8 Rhododendron ssp. with lily stalks in the foreground
#9 Bignonia capreolata ‘Tangerine Beauty’, Lunaria annua and Rosa ‘Fortune’s Double Yellow’
#10 Bignonia capreolata ‘Tangerine Beauty’
#11 Rosa ‘Fortune’s Double Yellow’
#12 unknown tree peony, mislabeled as Paeonia suffruticosa ‘Kamatanishiki’, which is purple, not pink

Frances

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Bloom Days. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to April Bloom Day 2012-Is It A Dream?

  1. I was just saying the same thing…out of sync and combos I have never seen…strange weather and the garden continues to move ahead even with frost damage that has been replaced with new growth in some plants…what will May bring?

    Hi Donna, I think this is a shared experience for most of us, this crazy mixed up blooming. I do like seeing what is early and what resists the temperature changes. I feel it has something to do with the trigger of day length versus temperature. I also wonder about May, and June and July!
    Frances

  2. The flowers may be all bloomed out come the heat of summer with their early arrival this year. Plus many (bulbs) are staying in bloom much longer this year, so far. There have been years where the cherry, pear and crabapple all bloomed simultaniously and that was an oddity, but this year the trees seem more on schedule than the bulbs and perennials. Your garden is lovely in April, and that is just the nature of gardeneing, surpises are always a given. Beautiful photos, Frances.

    Hi Donna, thanks for joining in here. It has certainly been a wild ride so far. I look forward to the rest of the season for more fun surprises.
    Frances

  3. indygardener says:

    Quite a ride, isn’t it. It just makes you wonder if the next ride, May, will be just as thrilling?

    I sure hope so, Carol!

  4. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    You bet it is a time in the garden when you don’t want to blink. You want to be outside all the time because the garden is rolling at full steam ahead. Crazy weather keeping things stirred up. Love your iris and dark-leaved plant combo. Happy GBBD.

    Happy GBBD, Lisa, thanks for visiting. There is not turning back the garden, so best to look forward, with a wide grin!
    Frances

  5. I totally agree Frances. This April has been one for the record books. Our garden is also full of brilliant surprises every day and I think this is natures way of waking us up to new and amazing treats for our souls to enjoy. The beauty of the flowers this year seem to be full of amazement or is this just my imagination. The colors are more vivid with the early warming and right amount of Spring showers. Your pictures are beautiful this morning.

    Hi Sandy, thanks. Nature is full of wonder and surprise, thank goodness!
    Frances

  6. sequoiagardens says:

    More than just Spring you have, for sure! Here we are heading for a spectacular autumn/fall, with lower than normal night temps, but sunny days. Enjoy the flow of all things new and rejuvenated – and keep sharing! Jack

    Hi Jack, thanks. I am so happy to hear your gardening season is spectacularly beautiful!
    Frances

  7. Gail says:

    Frances, It sure is a different April! I can’t wait to see what May looks like and if the Susans will bloom in June! In the meantime I am enjoying what ever the garden gives me. Your offerings today are a treat~The bignonia looks like Hummer’s heaven and thank you for crawling around to get those low to the ground flower shots! xoxogail

    Hi Gail, thanks. I too wonder what will be blooming when. What about the daylilies? The bignonia was wonderful, although I have not seen any hummers yet. Got to keep my eyes peeled for them!
    xoxoxo
    Frances

  8. Rose says:

    What a beautiful peony, but the small almost hidden blooms are so sweet. Thanks for making that extra effort for those shots and sharing them with us. I’ve been marvelling all spring about all the early surprises; it certainly is making this an interesting year in the garden. I never ride rollercoasters at amusement parks, but this is one ride I don’t want to get off. Happy Bloom Day!

    Hi Rose, thanks. The peony was absolutely gorgeous, but only lasted one day. The tree peonies are short in their blooming period always, but still so worth growing. I always loved roller coasters, even though I am terrified of heights. Happy Bloom Day to you!
    Frances

  9. Great shots to document your beautiful flower combinations! I love when Mother Nature surprises us with treats like this spring. It makes us appreciate them even more. Happy GBBD!

    Happy GBBD to you, Karin and thanks. I love surprises, especially when they involve flowers!
    Frances

  10. I had a couple Allium like yours…..guess they either rotted (a very wet area) or the voles got them (a popular route through the garden). Our Bignonia is done already, seems like it was a flash in the pan this year.

    Hi Janet, thanks for visiting. Those alliums are beautiful, but out of the 50 that were planted 2 years ago, this year there are 6 in bloom. Sometimes it takes several years for some bulbs to rebuild and bloom again, especially alliums. The Bignonia got zapped by the cold, I am hoping it will rebloom, it often does, but the show won’t be as spectacular.
    Frances

  11. My Kids Mom says:

    I’m in a bit of a lull here. The columbine is lovely, but the rest is either prepping for the party or cleaning up afterwards. I often think of replanting clematis, and crossvine is on my “when more ivy is off the fence” list. Perhaps they’ll be there for the lull next time.

    Hi Jill, thanks for adding to the conversation here. In normal years, we might experience something of a lull, but 2012 is not normal, whatever normal is anymore. All the fireworks were lit at once, with things blooming at the same time that has never happened before. The bearded iris are full on, roses and even the earliest daylilies are in flower. I do recommend the crossvine, but give it plenty of room to travel. Clemmies are much smaller, in general. I love to stick them all over the garden.
    Frances

  12. Wowzer! I just love that first combo. Makes me think I should get some Irises like that to plant next to the Penstemons instead of the variegated Iris. It seems I’m not the only one with a mislabeled ‘Kamata Nishiki’. Does anyone have the true plant?

    YES! Phillip of Dirt Therapy in Alabama does, and he takes amazing photos of it. Thanks for the kind words. The penstemon and Cinnamon Girl combo is having a great year. Some years the iris don’t bloom well here, but this one sees the vision coming to fruition. I put the pallida with white iris, just opening now.
    Frances

  13. Dee says:

    Frances, I’m right with you. Nothing is blooming normally, but I’m so okay with it. It’s exciting and new! Every gardening year is you know. We never know what will happen. Love that Baptisia, and the crossvine shows me good things to come in my yard.~~Dee

    Hi Dee, thanks for visiting. You are so right, every year is different, with some things performing better in each, and some doing poorly, but never the same mix. The crossvine is a giant, just a warning!
    Frances

  14. Lyn says:

    Thank you for always including the proper names for all the plants you show, Frances. I appreciate the time it takes to do this. I wondered what those beautiful orange and yellow trumpets were, and then you told me. I wonder if I can buy Bignonia here? Like your spring, my Autumn is looking a bit strange, but wonderful, too. Along with the usual Autumn leaves and flowers, I have Ajuga reptans in full bloom, one Botlebrush (Callistemon viminalis) flowering and lots of new growth sprouting on the roses. They all seem to think it’s early Spring.

    Hi Lyn, thanks for noticing. I try to include the name if I know what the plant is. Sometimes it is a guess. The Bignonia is a native here and thrives under the neglect it gets from me. How strange that your spring bloomers are blooming now. The weather is crazy!
    Frances

  15. Beauiful images and the wonder of spring , searching for those first signs of the new plants pushing through the soil.
    Ronelle

    Hi Ronelle, thanks so much. We are well beyond the first signs of plants here, everything is so far ahead of their normal blooming schedule. We don’t know what it means for the rest of the season, but hope for the best. Onward.
    Frances

  16. Tracy Bantel says:

    I havent seen your arbor before, that is very pretty w/ the vine n birdhouse~ I was thinking where does this path lead, or maybe you just sit underneath………………………………..thxs 4 the share.
    I would love to know the name of the Iris in your first photo, i’ve looked for that color and have not seen it anywhere, what a topical pretty color.

    Hi Tracy, thanks. The arbor is sometimes in the background of shots, but this is its time to shine, when the crossvine and roses bloom in spring. The rest of the time it is a nice place to sit. There is usually a bench under there, but I am shopping for a new one right now. The iris in the first photo is Iris germanica ‘Cinnamon Girl’.
    Frances

  17. nuttygnome says:

    Stunning photos Frances, I love them! Things have been a bit slow to get going here with our very mixed weather this spring – we had a couple of weeks of lovely warm17*+ days, then a day of snow last week and torrential rain this week….but the plants are slowly get on with their job regardless of what the weather is throwing at them! 🙂

    Hi Liz, thanks. The weather has been borderline insane all over it seems. Spring will get there, as well, and the plants will show which of them has the best survival instincts. That is what is happening here, too. I am not much for coddling most of the garden plants, they have to adapt.
    Frances

  18. So well said and photographed, Frances! I wish I could spend more time simply enjoying it all. Sigh…

    Hi Plant Postings, thanks. I hope you can enjoy your garden, too.
    Frances

Comments are closed.