The Orangeman Cometh


The Orangeman cometh*, and he is bringing all his rowdy friends….


….Who also happen to be orange.


Orangeman is a daylily, Hemerocallis ‘Orangeman’, new this year to the Fairegarden, purchased from Old House Gardens, a good place to find old cultivars of heirloom garden stalwarts. We also bought Hemerocallis ‘Corky’, but he doesn’t seem to feel like blooming just yet, but that’s okay. Gardeners know that patience is part of the job description. Above: Orangeman daylily. First photo: Papaver orientale, Second photo: Lilium ‘Buff Pixie’.


It seems out of whack to be talking about daylilies and lilies blooming in early May, but there it is, there are some blooming, with many more buds coming along. We might as well just ride it out and see what comes next. Orange is a color that may be au courant right now, (oh, how I hate the thought of colors or plants being in style or a trend, but it helps some folks make a living, I suppose.) Above: Iris germanica ‘Tennessee Volunteer’, a passalong from dear neighbors, one of the last bearded iris to bloom here.

june-5-2008-110-3
Included on the list of daylilies and lilies growing here, both have their own pages on the sidebar under Plants We Grow, Daylilies and Lilies are many, many oranges. There is even a section of the Azalea Walk dedicated to attracting butterflies and the color orange, led by the much favored butterfly weed, Asclepias tuberosa, seen above in a shot from June, 2008.


Many new lilies were planted this spring, after a fit of online ordering one dreary winter’s day, with choices made of oranges and whites. We like orange here and more whites were needed. All are up well, I am happy to report. Names were written on wine corks and stuck onto bamboo skewers to help with identification when they bloom. Photos will be taken and added to the plants we grow page as blooming occurs. Above” Lilium ‘African Queen’, a Chinese trumpet, blooming June 13, 2011.


As for the daylilies, the excitement builds as this is the third year for the cross made right here between two of our favorites. There was some blooming last year, with some real beauties. It is hoped that all fifteen of the babies will produce flowers this year so that naming can begin. Read about it by clicking here. Above: Number 15, the first to bloom last year, on May 30, 2011. It is budded up right now and will in all likelihood be the first to bloom again. Early might be included in the name.


Yes, dear readers, naming a new plant is as fun as growing it from collected seed from pollination done yourself. Almost. Above: Number 11, taken June 13, 2011. It sort of has a starburst look, doesn’t it?

Other posts about Orange:

Orange You Glad 2008

Orange Dreams 2011

***

*My apologies to Eugene O’Neill for taking liberties with the name of his play, The Iceman Cometh which opened on Broadway October 9, 1946.

Frances

This entry was posted in Plant Portrait, Seasonal Chores. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Orangeman Cometh

  1. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Of course you like Orange. You live in Tennessee. Go Vols. I can’t wait to see the other numbered flowers in your garden Frances. I can imagine how you feel watching your patiently produced babies come to bloom. Seeing what is blooming in your garden gives me a heads-up as to what I can expect in just a week or so. I am lovin’ all this orange. I found an Orange carnation at one of the nurseries here this spring. I think it is so pretty. It was a new color of carnation to me.

    HA, Lisa, my love of orange is coincidental to the school colors of this fine state! It is more in spite of seeing orange everywhere around here than because of it. I am from Oklahoma, after all. I look forward to the blooming of the baby daylilies, which are not baby sized at all, someone might have given them some extra kelp fertilizer last year, to help make them strong and healthy. I have seen that wonderful peachy dianthus and so far resisted it. Smart money is on it coming to live here, soon!
    Frances

  2. Les says:

    I remember attending a lecture on using specific colors in garden design, and orange was listed as the least favorite, especially among women. I guess they just asked the wrong women.

    Hi Les, thanks for visiting. I bet your lecture wasn’t in Tennessee, orange is the favorite color of most folks here, including women. Some people even paint their houses and cars orange, but not for the same reason that I like it. I have found the butterflies prefer it, especially the Great Spangled Fritillarys that are now out and about, waiting for the butterfly weed to open. It is almost there.
    Frances

  3. gail says:

    Frances, I am reminded of a very silly knock-knock joke~ “orange you glad…” is the punch line! But, orange you glad there are so many beautiful orange flowers these days. My Orangeman isn’t nearly ready and the Butterfly Weed might surprise me this week. Your hand pollinated babies are pretty…Happy Monday. Hope you get the rain that passed through last night. xoxogail

    Hi Gail, thanks, no rain here, sad to say. I did a post in 2008 with that very tite, Orange You Glad. Great minds, once again.
    xoxoxo
    Frances

  4. sequoiagardens says:

    Always a joy to read AND SEE what’s up in the Fairegarden… 😉
    Now those are two seriously lovely daylilies – it seems that unlike rose crosses, the chances of getting something good out of the game are…well… good! Rose crosses tend to be small/weak/thin/slight… Get the picture? Seldom an improvement on or even a reflection of the parents.

    Hi Jack, thanks for those sweet words, you are such a charmer! One of the traits that I chose for the daylily crosses was vigor and strong stems. These babies are amazing in their size of fans already, even if the colors might disappoint.
    Frances

  5. Layanee says:

    I love orange but no shades of ‘school bus yellow’. They do show up at a distance don’t they? Fifty mile per hour plants ’cause when you are driving that fast you can still see them..

    Hi Layanee, thanks for adding in here. I feel differently about bright colors in the garden now that I have matured somewhat. It might be failing eyesight, or it might be a different perspective, or it might be what my dear departed neighbor, who owned a flower shop told me: All of nature’s colors go together beautifully, just like you see them in the wild. She was right, and I embraced that philosophy. My garden is prettier for it, too.
    Frances

  6. Look at all that glorious orange…your garden is sporting the color of the year beautifully…looking forward to my oranges

    Hi Donna, thanks. I cringe at the thought of the color of the year, but orange has long been a color I have loved.
    Frances

  7. As a fellow east TN gardener, I, too, am sharing your amazement at how far along the daylilies already are. I’m hoping such an early bloom period will result in a repeat performance from some of my larger showy ones that are labeled rebloomers but rarely live up to that described behavior.
    Sincere kudos to you for following through on the pollination effort on the home front. I got halfway there (inspired by Keith from Champion Daylilies) but then didn’t do the most important step of collecting and planting the seed. Hence…no babies to be proud of and have the fun of naming!

    Hi Michaele, thanks so much. It was Keith’s website about making crosses that gave me the courage to attempt it, too. We stop by there each year to peruse his own crosses. I have a few of his discards growing here. This year, why not give it a go again, and this time collect those seeds!
    Frances

  8. I’m so grateful for orange flowers, and I’m even a Sooner from OU. OSU grads wear orange as you know. :)~~Dee

    HA Dee, so true about OSU, and that is a mighty fine dark orange, unlike the lighter Tennessee one.
    Frances

  9. I have to be more observant next trip to TN. I did not realize it was the land of orange. Like Les mentioned, I am least fond of orange in isolation generally speaking, but it looks great in harmonious plantings with reds and yellows. Then it really struts its stuff.

    Hi Donna, thanks for joining in the orange talk. In West Tennessee things are probably not as orange, but with the orange radiating from UT-Knoxville, land of the Volunteers, people around here bleed orange. In the hot, glaring sun of summer, those intense colors stand out best while pastels fade away to white against the green. Strutting is right!
    Frances

  10. Linda says:

    One of my very dearest friends says that orange is the color of “HAPPY”…….In color therapy, the one who wears orange, is the one to hang out with (they will be the most fun!)

    Hi Linda, what a joy you are! I agree with your friend, orange is a happy, energetic, creative color, and in the garden, it attracts butterflies by the scores.
    Frances

  11. spurge says:

    Oh my, I love all of your oranges – I used to not like orange, but as I get older I find that I like it more and more. Your shades are perfect – lemony and deep, not irritating.

    Hi Spurge, thanks, with age comes wisdom, doesn’t it? I have always liked the color orange, but not for flowers in the garden until moving to this house in 2000. I now see the light.
    Frances

  12. Stephanie says:

    I love your Orangeman daylilies…They add just the right amount of pop to the garden…Ive planted 10 orange vols daylilies but they arent as far along as yours…..A first for me as I have only 2 oranage asiatic lilies that are 2 years old…The color really serms to glow especially in shade gardens such as what I have where deep shades of blue and purples can get lost …..Oakes Daylilies in TN have wonderful plants, Ive found.

    Hi Stephanie, thanks for adding in here. The orange lilies and daylilies are much beloved here, they really do make the garden pop, and the pollinators love that color. I have been to Oakes, very nice place. There are many daylily growers in this area. We are lucky!
    Frances

Comments are closed.