Ready To Fling


The time has arrived.


The arrangements are in place, including permission to visit the fabulous Wamboldtopia!, a very small portion of which can be seen in the above shot.


The peas have been picked.


The garden is ready for visitors who are stopping by the Fairegarden en route to the Asheville Fling 2012.


I can hardly wait!
Above: Water garden at the Botanical Gardens at UNCA, on the list of suggested spots to visit during a trip to Asheville.

march-22-2009-asheville-040-2
Stay tuned for future posts about this momentous event.
Above: Gargoyle detail from the famous Biltmore, where the garden blogger attendees will be spending an afternoon touring the gardens.

***
For the stories written about the previous garden blogger meetups, see the page Garden Blogger Meetups listed on the sidebar or click here.

Frances

This entry was posted in Road Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Ready To Fling

  1. Good morning! Sounds like interesting things to see. The pictures are beautiful and love the butterfly in the first picture. The colors are amazing.

    Hi Sandy, thanks. The lilies, fleabane and Verbena bonarienses in the lawn/meadow is a haven for butterflies. Getting a photo as they sway in the breeze is a challenge, though. It is prettier in person.
    Frances

  2. Layanee says:

    I am awaiting more pictures with bated breath.

    Hi Layanee, thanks for stopping by. There will be pictures to come, I promise.
    Frances

  3. gail says:

    See you soon. xoxoxoxgail PS That watering can is marvelous

    Hi Gail, yes, soon we will be together again! You would love the UNCA botanical gardens, all natives!
    Frances

  4. Barbara H. says:

    Have a wonderful time, Frances. Every year I think maybe I should start blogging, just to go to the Fling, but then it fades when I see all the wonderful pictures and read the tales from the bloggers. And I guess I have commitment issues… so much time and learning needed to do it well. Anyway, I look forward to your reports.

    Hi Barbara, thanks. You should start a blog, it is easy and you build up with experience. Just jump in, that’s what I did, without a clue. But I did have a garden! You can spend as much or as little time as you want with it. That’s the beauty of it, you are your own boss, no deadlines.
    Frances

  5. georgiafromga1 says:

    A gorgeous preview, Frances. Can’t wait to read and see your report of all the fun. Meanwhile, thanks for the link to the fabulous Wamboldtopia. That place really calls to me. Have a blast!

    Hi Georgia, thanks. I can’t wait to visit Wamboldtopia again, it is the coolest place, full of magic!
    Frances

  6. Can’t wait to see you, Frances. That’s the down side of flying – we can’t just pop in to see you on our way : ( but will love visiting with you in Asheville.

    Me too, Diana! We are so happy to be able to drive to this fling, just throw everything in the car and go when it suits us. I am so looking forward to catching up with friends and making new ones.
    Frances

  7. gittan says:

    Have a wonderful time my friend! And don´t forget to take a lot of pictures so we can “see” it all. Those hands with the bucket are so cool / Trippel kram gittan

    How I wish you were coming, dear Gittan! Maybe next year in San Francisco? I will, for sure, take a whole lot of photos to share.
    Triple quadruple kram
    Frances

  8. I am SO looking forward to this and to seeing you and all my blogging friends. I hope we get a chance to chat a while. Fingers crossed I have better luck with the flights than I did this past weekend!

    My fingers are crossed for an uneventful flight for you and everyone, Jean. I look forward to some chatting with you, as well.
    Frances

  9. How I’d love to visit the Fairegarden on the way to Asheville. Well, I will see you there and can’t wait!

    I would love for you to visit here, Pam. You are welcome anytime! But we will be able to catch up in Asheville, I hope.
    Frances

  10. So looking forward to this weekend! Love the sculpture in the Botanical Gardens. What fun. See you soon.

    Same here, Janet, great and abundant fun awaits us! Let the wild rumpus begin!
    Frances

  11. grwhryrpltd says:

    looking forward to all of it!

    Me too, Andrea!

  12. Sharon Parker says:

    Have a wonderful time flinging in Asheville! I miss living there very much and following your wonderful blog helps keep me in touch with all the flowers that I miss by living in Florida. I will eagerly anticipate your photos and stories, Frances. Used to spend many hours at th NC Arboretum and volunteered at the UNCA Botanical Garden. I will be with you in spirit! Also wishing for some ice cream at The Hop!

    Thanks Sharon, you are sweet! I would miss this part of the country if we ever left it, too. There is something about the mountains and the lush greenery, and the ice cream!!!!
    Frances

  13. indygardener says:

    Fling it! I’m looking forward to seeing you in a few days.

    I hope to see you today, Carol! You will be the one in green, I know.
    Frances

  14. sandy lawrence says:

    And WE, your readers, can hardly wait for those photos from your camera eye! Have a fabulous trip.

    Thanks Sandy. I am going to have to pick it up here, for I have not taken a single photo, but we still have many gardens and other spots yet to visit. If we could stop talking long enough, we might remember that the camera is in my purse. HA
    Frances

  15. We had a great time at Tressa’s tonight, great food, great company and you did a fine job organizing the Fling. Thanks, Donna and Carolyn

    What a pleasure it was to meet you both, Donna and Carolyn. Christopher has done a wonderful job pulling this together. There will be lots of gardens for the next 4 days, have the cameras ready!
    Frances

  16. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Oh Baby, it was worth the drive. It was a wonderful time. Loved your garden. It was a great way to start a trip.

    Hi Lisa, thanks so much for visiting my garden and that lovely hostess gift which I will write about in the future! Hugs to you!
    Frances

Comments are closed.