Do You Like Pink?


Do you like pink?


I do.


It is warm and inviting, soft and alluring.


Pink brings a smile, the lips part and the corners turn upward at the sight of it.


The end of September finds the Fairegarden in the pink….


….For that is when the pink muhly grass, Muhlenbergia capillaris begins blooming. On sunny days, when the angle of the sun is just right, the camera leaps into my hands to try to capture the way this grass appears to human eyes. The images don’t do it justice, but they do suggest the brilliance of backlighting on the billowing inflorescenses. The plantings at the top of the slope, in front of the knot garden boxwood hedge open first. The long stand down at the bottom of the hill by the driveway opens a few days later. The pink will last until December, when it finally turns to biscuit. We will savor every minute of it.

***
For more information about Muhlenbergia capillaris and more photos, here are previous years’ posts about it:
Pink Muhly Grass Time October 2011
More Muhly December 2011
Muhly Grass Grand Opening October 2010
Waiting For Muhly-Finally Over November 2010
Muhly Watch Friday September 2009
Muhly Grass-See You In September January 2009

Frances

This entry was posted in Plant Portrait, Seasonal Chores. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Do You Like Pink?

  1. Anne Boykin says:

    Love your photos – beautiful!

    Thanks Anne!

  2. Marguerite says:

    As a very wise woman once said……. THINK PINK! (I also think she also is known for saying that Pink was the Navy of India….) So ethereal. Lovely.

    Or “Pink is the new black!” HA Thanks, Marguerite!
    Frances

  3. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    You bet I like pink. Pink is one of natures colors. I like all of nature’s colors. I especially like the way this grass looks so soft almost ethereal when it is blooming. Makes me want to try it. Stretch those limits again.

    Do give it a try, Lisa! It is the drainage and sunshine that are required. If you place it where it can be backlit, that will make it even pinker. It is the prettiest thing in our fall garden here.

  4. Sigh with pleasure…ahh, yes, the beguiling allure of the ethereally beautiful pink muhly. I have several areas with generous amounts of it and when the light is especially right, it literally stops me in my tracks no matter how urgent the task might be that takes me by it . There is no ignoring this magical fall magnificence.
    You are fortunate that your pink color lasts into Dec. Our hard frosts come a bit earlier here in the Knoxville area and I always feel a sense of loss when the pink clouds turn to tan.

    Thanks Michaele. I believe our weather is very similar to Knoxville, it is the siting on my slope that possibly makes it stay pink longer. The truth of it is that it doesn’t look this pink all of the time. The light has to be just right, same is true into December.
    Frances

  5. gail says:

    I love pink! I love Pink Muhly Grass. I love your posts about PInk Muhly! I am, after all, a member of the love generation! Seriously, your Pink Muhly is stunning. As an earlier commenter, I am sighing with pleasure. xoxogail

    Thanks Gail. We are full of love, aren’t we? HA The pink muhly is worthy of our love, especially when the light is just so.
    xoxoxo
    Frances

  6. kwgarden@gmail.com says:

    I love your blog and your photography. Thank you for all the time you dedicate to this!

    Thanks so much for those kind words. It does make me happy to be appreciated!

  7. Dee says:

    I love your pink. I planted it this year. Going to see if I can get it through winter. My gosh what a cotton-candy plant it is! Mine is just starting to bloom. I like the blue color of the leaves too.~~Dee

    Thanks Dee. Good luck with yours, good drainage will help it overwinter. The leaf stalk color helps in identifying the seedlings, the blue color, or they look like any other weedy grass. Enjoy!
    Frances

  8. Phillip says:

    It is so pretty! I love it.

    Thanks Phillip. I love it, too!
    Frances

  9. Alison says:

    Ahhhhhhh! So pretty, your river of pink Muhly is so inspirational. I just finished planting about 7 plugs of it in a bed I’m redoing. It won’t be anything like yours for a couple of years, but yours was the reason for mine. Of course, I want mine to look like yours RIGHT NOW! But I have to be patient…. Thanks for the beautiful photos, I look forward to your pink Muhly post every fall.

    Thanks Alison, I am honored to have provided inspiration. It took a few years for the driveway stand to look like much, I have divided two gallon plants into nearly one blade per plug, then kept on dividing it. Pack them close together, too, and good luck!
    Frances

  10. You are always looking for new ways to take advantage of that backlighting. Even if I can’t grow the pink muhly, I can imitate you in looking for ways to take advantage of my backlighting. I read recently of a northern substitute for pink muhly, I will have to track that down again. I think it had purple in the name of it. I should try one to see if it is indeed an acceptable substitute.

    Thanks for visiting, Kathy. The backlighting can turn the mundane into the magnificent, for sure. There are probably several grasses that might work for you, a mass planting with backlighting can do wonders for any grass.
    Frances

  11. Lola says:

    I love your Muhly. I am anxiously waiting for mine to get big enough to start blooming. I bought another so hope it will do good.

    Thanks Lola. I hope you pink muhly gives you a lovely show!
    Frances

  12. Sandy & Richard says:

    A truly stunning sight, wafts of a pink haze. Don’t think we can get it here in Tasmania…

    Thanks for visiting, Sandy and Richard. When the light is just so, the pinkness abounds.
    Frances

  13. sandy lawrence says:

    Always look forward to your ethereal sea of pink muhly, Frances. You photograph it so well. This is my favorite grass, along with pink ruby crystals, both of which I find to be much tidier than Mexican feather, which lies right down this time of year for me, unless I cut it back severely. Mad for pink!

    Thanks Sandy. I love the pink muhly too, and find that the Stipa tenuissima, aka Nasella, does best with a good hand combing to pull out the dead stuff. New growth will be more upright. Long live pink!
    Frances

  14. Cindy, MCOK says:

    It’s that time of year again … when I sigh in delight and envy at your photographs of the Pink Muhly and then wrack my brains trying to figure out where on my corner of Katy I could replicate such a display!

    Hi Cindy, you definitely should find a good, sunny spot where backlighting happens! It would look grand and do so well there.
    Frances

  15. That Muhly grass is absolutely gorgeous

    Thanks Garden IAC. It is a high point of the fall season here.
    Frances

  16. LOVE PINK! Yes, I do, too.

    Good to hear, Freda!

  17. nuttygnome says:

    I do so wish we had that grass over here, it’s just so delightfully easy on the eye! I planted a border with grasses this year, but nothing as beautiful as the Muhly – and it would look divine against the deep red of some of the grasses I did plant! *sigh* 🙂

    Hi Liz, thanks for stoppig by. I wish the pink muhly was available to you, too. I don’t understand why it is not. But deep red grasses sound divine!
    Frances

  18. Rose says:

    I love pink, too! The past week has been very busy with little time for blogging for me, but I am glad I didn’t miss the annual celebration of the Muhly–you know it’s one of my favorites.

    Thanks, Rose. There will be many more shots of the muhly, as there are every fall, until people are sick of looking at them!
    Frances

  19. Pingback: Love October Bloom Day « Fairegarden

  20. Pingback: Rejoice in the Changes | Fairegarden

  21. Pingback: Pink Muhly Grass-Muhlenbergia Capillaris | Fairegarden

Comments are closed.