Walking

November 30, 2012 015 (2)
Day one. Some way, some how there is nothing to do in the garden right now. It seems odd, doesn’t it? There will be tasks to do next month, cutting of the hellebores and the remains of perennials left standing for winter interest that should be gone once the bulb foliage arises. Since gardening has always been the prime source of activity for an aging carcass body it was decided that taking advantage of the new, city installed sidewalks in the neighborhood would be a way to get some fresh air into the lungs and to get those cells moving around more. Sharing the walk was inspired by this beautiful post written by my friend, Layanee of Ledge and Gardens.

November 30, 2012 002 (2)
It was a foggy, frosty morning and the camera jumped into the gloved hands to record some of what was seen along the way. While not the best way to elevate the heartbeat, with frequent stopping to click, it was a good beginning jaunt. We were greeted with the friendly barking of a pack of dogs just around the corner from the Fairegarden. Hello there! Haroooooo!

November 30, 2012 033 (2)
Squirrels were in abundance as this is an older part of town with lots of mature trees, many bearing acorns and nuts.

November 30, 2012 004 (2)
One tree was struck by lightning several years ago and still stands strong to tell the tale.

November 30, 2012 024 (2)
We pass by these pillars that are oddly placed with the driveway of the house. It looks like they predate the house and may have marked the entrance to something else at one time. The stone used is the native rock that is underground. I come upon it when digging in the garden. There are a few homes covered with it, much older houses than any still standing in this neighborhood.

November 30, 2012 023 (2)
Several other walkers were encountered, all going in the other direction. We exchanged good mornings, nods and smiles. The shapes and personalities of the trees called out to be noticed, some had large vines tagging along for the ride skyward through the years. This one looks like it contains a creature that is struggling to get out!

November 30, 2012 035 (2)
I am fascinated by all trees. They have stories to tell, I believe, and I like to look at them to see if their secrets can be deciphered. This tree wears its secrets on its sleeve, er bark. The circles of neat holes are the work of the yellow bellied sap sucker. He has been seen searching for insects on some of the trees in my yard, too.

November 30, 2012 038 (2)
Our gait had to be shortened somewhat to keep up a steady pace during the changes in elevation. We should have stretched beforehand, probably, but it was a good first day. Heading back home, we pass by the former home of my good gardening friends, Mae and Mickey. The house is for sale now, and empty. I miss them.

November 30, 2012 054 (2)
Day two. It was warmer and sunny and there was no camera to slow us down. We picked up the pace and were determined not to stop walking for any reason unless a car was coming when the sidewalk crossed the street to the other side. Luck was with us, there were no cars and no stopping. Good mornings were exchanged with several fellow walkers and one runner. I am liking this new form of exercise, but do sort of miss lingering longer with the trees. Gardening will start up again after the new year when the hustle and bustle of holiday family time has passed. The walking should continue then, as well.

Frances

This entry was posted in Musings, wildlife. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Walking

  1. pbmgarden says:

    Thanks for sharing your walk. It’s interesting to see a little of your surrounding area.

    Thanks for coming along, PB. The neighborhood is sort of dull, but the mature trees speak to me. The new, easy to walk on sidewalk makes for pleasant striding.
    Frances

  2. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Fun to see what you see on your walk Frances. I walk almost daily too, even during gardening days. It sort of gets in your blood.

    Thanks Lisa. That is good about your walking. It has not gotten in my blood just yet, and a couple of days off due to rain and scheduling make it hard to resume. I promise myself, today will be a walking day though, no matter the weather.
    Frances

  3. Mark and Gaz says:

    Thanks for sharing your walk with us. That tree looks so full of character!

    Thanks for going along with me, Mark and Gaz. The trees are wonderful, all of them, but I can’t get the right exercise if I stop and chat with each tree, sad to say. I do nod and smile at them.
    Frances

  4. It looks like a lovely neighborhood especially with the mature trees that have tales to tell. Did your town actually spring for the stretch of paver material to break up some of the concrete or was that the endeavor of a home owner using their own funds?
    I know what you mean about the break in gardening activities and the need to still feel purposeful. I’ve been putting myself to work making some very fanciful birdhouses. If I get my act together and put some pics of them on a pinterest board, I will share a link . Sometimes Pinterest doesn’t co-operate with my inept efforts to go public with stuff. Hmmm, maybe it is doing me a favor.

    Hi Michaele, I would love to see your birdhouses, hope pinterest cooperates! These sidewalks were part of a grant that our city, small town really, applied for to become a walking friendly place. The one street with the larger, mid century homes and mature trees got the fancy pavers, about three miles, with nice ramps at the intersections and new cement paving for the gravel driveways that the sidewalk crosses over. The rest of the streets that got sidewalks are concrete only. Still nice but not as pretty. My street has no sidewalks, like most of the rest of the back streets in town. I walk three blocks to get to the paved area, but it is not heavy traffic, just a very steep slope.
    Frances

  5. Those driveway pillars are wonderful. Great that they are still standing. Like a folly in England, eh?

    Hi Freda, thanks for stopping by. Those pillars fascinate me, I wonder if anyone knows what their original purpose was? I can imagine some stories about them, though, without any facts! HA
    Frances

    • I’m sure an investigation of the land records/transactions could reveal the origin.

      True, Freda. Perhaps the homeowners know, as well. I am glad they are still standing there.
      Frances

  6. Dee A. Nash says:

    I like your walk and new sidewalks . . . how nice! I bet you do miss your gardening friends. I know I do mine. Love and hugs Faire.~~Dee

    Hi Dee, thanks for visiting. I do miss them, they were the reason we bought this house, sort of out of the way. I wish that someone who loves gardening would buy the property. Love and hugs to you, my friend.
    Frances

  7. Alison says:

    Such handsome brick sidewalks! Thanks for taking us along on your walk. Walking is my favorite form of exercise, but I don’t do enough of it. My last walk included two encounters with big, loose dogs who ran up to me barking, and it put me off walking for the moment. I’d much rather encounter friendly people.

    Thanks for going along, Alison. Those pretty sidewalks make the walk more interesting, as do the trees. So far all of the dogs I have encountered are behind fences or on leashes, thank goodness.
    Frances

  8. mamaraby says:

    Awwww…now I want to go on a walk too! Sadly my walk doesn’t look quite as nice as yours. :0)

    Thanks for going along, Mamaraby. The neighborhood is pretty and the big trees are always interesting. It does make the steps go by more quickly.
    Frances

  9. I agree about the tree that seems to have a creature trying to get out! Makes me think of Lord of the Rings. I also love big old trees. We are lucky to live in an older neighborhood that has lots of enormous trees, including cottonwoods, maples, siberian elms, and weeping willows.

    Thanks for going along, Garden IAC. That is one of my favorite trees on the walking route, but there are many more of interest. Lots of mythology about the trees, perhaps inspired by ones like these. I am glad to hear you have these grand giants where you live, too.
    Frances

  10. Lola says:

    Thanks for taking us along on your stroll. It is always invigorating. I sure wish I could walk again like that. I too use to talk to the big trees as well as all the nice vegetation on my way. It did slow down my wanderings a bit. lol I too wonder what the pillars could say if they could talk. Love them.

    Thanks for going along, Lola. I wish that you could walk like that again, too. The trees probably miss you.
    Frances

  11. Cindy says:

    I didn’t make it out for a walk today but I have strolled round the garden several times. That will have to suffice. I see a baby bear struggling to emerge from that one tree!

    Hi Cindy, strolling the gardens is very good for us, mentally and physically. Baby bear, or perhaps a hedgehog! HA
    Frances

  12. Sandy & Richard says:

    I also love those big old trees, what stories they could tell, trees in a street scape, enhance an area and keep nature close by. I adore the pictures of the houses, so very like Australian houses. It is sad when old friends move away, I expect you will still stay in touch….good friends always do. Warm winter Hugs from sunny Tasmania. Sandy.

    Hi Sandy, thanks for visiting. These old trees are magnificent, some of the oldest in town. I had one that died and had to be taken down, we named it Ferngully. It was a heartbreaking loss and even though we planted a replacement, and many other trees, nothing can replace the majesty of a mature tree. Interesting that these houses look like those where you live. This is a street of very nice homes on very large lots in the oldest part of town. It is wonderful. Hugs to you!
    Frances

  13. Reads like good childrens’ lit–at least the kind I used to like!

    Thanks, Maurice, and welcome! These blog posts are written for audiences of all ages, rated G for general. I consider your comment a high compliment!
    Frances

  14. There are times I miss walking in a regular neighborhood. Ours is a long two lane road with 30 out of 200 lots built upon. Those red shutters are great!

    Hi Janet, thanks for walking along, you are welcome anytime! I would love to join you in your wilderness/neighborhood some time.
    Frances

  15. Thanks for taking us along on your walk. You have some fascinating plants and trees along the way! I need to get out and walk, too!

    Hi PP, thanks for walking along. It is good to have company of the human kind in addition to the trees who don’t really walk but we visit with them anyway.
    Frances

  16. c. moonflower says:

    I took a hike around Radnor Lake and stopped so many times to take photos that my time was slow. Lately I have been trying to increase my hiking pace. I might leave my camera home next time so I can achieve “Queen of the Mountain.”

    Hi Moonflower, thanks for joining in. Queen of the Mountain, a good goal! HA If I have the camera, it is nearly impossible to not stop for a shot or two at the least. That sort of defeats the purpose of the walking, sadly. I try to go a little faster each day, but find I slow down when it is below freezing temps. I think it is the cold nose!
    Frances

  17. Rose says:

    Thanks for taking us along on your walk, Frances. I would have to stop to admire all those lovely old trees, too, camera in hand or not. Love those stone pillars–they conjure up all kinds of images of what kind of home once stood nearby.

    Hi Rose, thanks for joining along. I love this older neighborhood and like to imagine the history here. Some areas may have even been age old trails, perhaps those pillars marked the way.
    Frances

  18. xericstyle says:

    How great to take the time out and notice all the beauty all around. That is also a pretty sidewalk the city installed – very unique.

    Hi Xeric Style, thanks for visiting. Those sidewalks are very well installed, nice and level. It took the workmen many months to measure, dig out, lay the base and finally place and pound those pavers. It is a work of art, especially around the existing driveways where there are curves.
    Frances

Comments are closed.