Glass in the Garden

February 13, 2013 003 (2)
Glass in the garden, there is nothing quite like it.


Let’s back up a bit. Last year, magnificent gifts were received of the wonderful garden glass made by Barbara Sanderson, whose shop can be viewed by clicking here. The pink curve of the fiddlestick was perfect with the Japanese maple Crimson Queen. But the dark teal mini icicle did not show up very well there.

Sierra Exif JPEG
It needed a little help from friends of a like shape and stature.

Sierra Exif JPEG
The color selections were made of light teal and lime green to coordinate with the dark teal. When the glass arrived, packed oh so well to avoid breakage, the three amigos were stuck in the middle container by the deck. These pots were planted for winter interest last December, click here to read the story. For some unknown reason there was no vertical interest in the center pot. Every time it was gazed upon, the same thought looped in my brain, why did I not get three of the kale plants? Now we know why, so the glass trio could provide the perfect vertical accent!

Sierra Exif JPEG
As Spring returns to the Daylily Hill garden with the earliest daffodils that have been spread to blanket the slope beginning to open, all is well. The pink glass stands alone, echoing the shape of the maple branch beautifully. Athena approves.

Sierra Exif JPEG
Elsewhere, in the Orange Butterfly Garden along the Azalea Walk, more of Ms. Sanderson’s glass provides year-round interst and delight. Read the story of this vignette by clicking here if you so desire.


We first learned about glass art in a garden setting during the 2011 Garden Blogger Fling held in Seattle, Washington, linkage here.

***

My name is Frances, and I am addicted to glass in the garden.

This entry was posted in Projects. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Glass in the Garden

  1. Mark and Gaz says:

    Coloured glass certainly does add pizzazz in a garden! Very nice!

    Thanks Mark and Gaz. The glass garden art is so colorful and cheering. It brings a smile every single time I see it.
    Frances

  2. I adore the glass in your garden. I think it is beautiful and is such a beautiful juxtaposition with the flowers and trees. I on the other hand cannot have glass in the garden. I am such a clutz.. It seems that every glass item I have had in the garden or in the house gets broken. Sigh~~ So no glass for me in the garden.

    Hi Lisa, thanks. This is not your ordinary glass commonly seen at big box stores, etc. This is very, very thick and strong, and can take below freezing temps along with the heat of summer. You should try some!
    Frances

  3. I am so glad you featured these beauties again, Frances. They add such sparkle and whimsy to your beautiful garden. I’m smiling too. 🙂

    Hi Georgie, thanks somuch. I am glad these bits of glass make you smile, as well. They are the perfect pick-me-up.
    Frances

  4. These glass artworks are not quite our style, but I see the appeal. We do have a sunflower made with iron and stained glass that is my favorite piece of garden art. Sadly it was partially broken by a falling tree branch.

    Hi Jason, thanks for sharing here. I am so sorry to hear about your favorite piece being partially broken, my condolences. Perhaps it can now be considered a *ruin*. I have broken things displayed here in that manner. Ms. Sanderson’s glass is extremely thick and while not totally unbreakable, is not like most of the glass art seen for sale, much, much tougher.
    Frances

  5. Layanee says:

    They are all so very pretty and well placed. They sure would give new meaning to ‘winter interest’ in my garden.

    Hi Layanee, thanks. Since I know you saw all of the beautiful glass at the fling in Seattle a couple of years ago used to perfection in many of those gardens, I hope to see some winter interest glass at Ledge and Gardens!
    Frances

  6. You have an enviable collection of Barbara’s work, Frances. Here is me envying.

    Hi Helen, thanks for envying. I know you saw the glass in Seattle, too, and how wonderfully it enhanced those already stupendous gardens. Since I am not able to attend the San Francisco fling this year, sniff, this glass is a gift from me to me since there are funds now available for such.
    Frances

  7. Ahh, the helping hand of serendipity (not getting the third kale plants for the vertical interest) which opened the door for the perfect placement of the 3 colorful glass exclamation points…all is now well ! I can certainly imagine that every time you gazed upon that center pot, you had a feeling of disquieting incompletion and it just wouldn’t let go. Whew, that itch is now scratched so you can pay attention to the next one that will pop up.

    Thank you, Michaele, for knowing and understand the situation here so well!!!! Yes, the itch is scratched now, and in a way that could not be foretold last December when those pots were put together. Don’t you love when that happens!
    Frances

  8. Christy says:

    Hi Frances! The glass in your garden is so beautiful!! I love the shapes and colors. The mushroom is really cute! Maybe she can make a little glass gnome to put under it. Your Daylily hill is wonderful with all the daffys starting to bloom! I just love your garden!

    Hi Christy, thanks so much. The daylily hill is the view from where I sit with the laptop, so has been tweaked and fiddled with for many years to make it pleasing. The glass, and daffodils!, really help.
    Frances

  9. Rose says:

    The glass pieces really do add a beautiful vertical interest in your garden, especially in the colors you’ve chosen. Love the long shot of your garden–I enjoy seeing what a garden looks like in every season. Daylily Hill looks full of the promise of spring with all the daffodils, a hint of what a gorgeous display this will be later on.

    Hi Rose, thanks for the kind words. This garden, or the daylily hill and steepest sloping parts are always attractive in every month. Spreading the daffodils has helped that become a reality.
    Frances

  10. Absolutely beautiful! I especially like the placement of your pink fiddle stick. I too have a slight obsession with Ms. Sanderson’s glass having ordered several of her artistic creations this past fall. Where did you get the copper tube extensions? Thanks for the lovely garden art tour….

    Hi Graceful Gardener, thanks for visiting. The copper pipe extensions came with the glass when mail ordered. When I told Barbara that I want more, more, more of her glass as soon as I unpack a box from her, she said it was like potato chips. You can’t eat just one. Or ten. HA
    Frances

  11. Lola says:

    Beautifully displayed. I love glass in the garden but am afraid of breakage.

    Thanks Lola. This is a special glass, very thick and strong.
    Frances

  12. Lynn Hunt says:

    Love the glass with the hostas, Frances!

    Hi Lynn, thanks for visiting. The pink fiddlestick is perfect under the Japanese maple with the hostas. It is perfect even when the hostas are asleep, too.
    Frances

  13. Charlie says:

    Living in Seattle I have found that at locations where they teach glass blowing you can rummange through what the students are discarding as they learn their craft. Sometimes you can find some pretty amazing finds for the garden that they see as imperfect. I to have come to really love good glass art.

    What a good idea, Charlie, thanks for sharing it. I am positive that I would love what they see as imperfect. I like imperfect.
    Frances

  14. Oooo, you do indeed have some beautiful glass sculptures in your garden! Thanks for the idea–I have a couple of spots in mind.

    Hi Beth, thanks. The glass really dresses up the garden, any style. It is addictive however, so watch out!
    Frances

  15. Frances,
    I’ve been reading, but unable to comment since I created a wordpress page for my husband and tried to delete it.
    So here goes – wonderful glass, just the punctuation point the garden needs. Do you know if the glass is tempered? Think they would look glorious in the snowy landscape too. And, above all, if you’re going to have a habit, this one is so much easier on the liver than those delightful bottle-trees.
    B.

    Hi Barbara, thanks for perservering with the comments. WordPress likes to throw up obstacles for comments, and also for loading photos and writing posts anymore! I don’t know that the glass is tempered, but it is very, very thick, not fragile like much of what is for sale out there. It can withstand the cold easily, but also lifts off the copper pipe to bring inside if so desired. The bottle trees and also the glass wine bottle edging does require consumption on our parts! HA
    Frances

    Frances

  16. Interesting but . . . a bit spooky too!

    Hi Esther, thanks for stopping by. Spooky? I guess spooky is the style I like best! HA
    Frances

  17. Donna B. says:

    Frances, they look great! I would never be able to pull off glass in my garden… I think they won’t really like my sometimes-below-freezing temperatures and the fact that I’m really ROUGH with my ornaments… hehehe.

    But that red one peeking out from the patch of hosta. So beautiful!

    Hi Donna, thanks for visiting. The glass by this artist can easily take the below freezing temps with no damage whatsoever. Now that rough treatment might be a problem…
    Frances

  18. gail says:

    They’re beautiful pieces and look perfect in your garden…They give your hostas zing! I like your bottle tree, too, but, then I am quite partial to cobalt blue bottles! xoxoxgail

    Hi Gail, thanks. The glass makes the garden prettier in all seasons. I am also partial to the cobalt blue bottles.
    xoxoxo
    Frances

  19. commonweeder says:

    You find the most beautiful things for your garden. Beautiful plants and beautiful art. You are such an artist yourself to put these things together.

    Pat, you are too sweet, thank you for those kind words. Serendipity makes me look good.
    Frances

  20. Your glass pieces are really cool looking — a great addition to the garden.

    Hi Janet, thanks. I do love that glass. After seeing it used in nearly every Seattle garden that we visited during that fling, I knew I had to have some.
    Frances

Comments are closed.