Spring Light

Sierra Exif JPEG
Although it is still dark, the birdsong has begun. Soon it will be light.

Sierra Exif JPEG
Excitement builds as the black outside the window gives way to shades of grey.

Sierra Exif JPEG
The street light in front blazes brightly for a while, then is extinguished.

Sierra Exif JPEG
It is time.

March 31, 2013 003 (2)
The out of doors is calling.

Sierra Exif JPEG
The light of spring is calling, the enchanting time of morning as illumination moves across the pathways.

Sierra Exif JPEG
It begins in the treetops, washing over the branches with watercolors.

Sierra Exif JPEG
Slowly the moistness lifts skyward, melding into the atmosphere.

Sierra Exif JPEG
Soon…

Sierra Exif JPEG
…and we have ignition!

*******

The photo elements:

1. Yoshino cherry tree blooming with loblolly pines in the background.
2. Spider web on a deciduous azalea.
3. Acer palmatum ‘Sango Kaku’ and Festuca glauca.
4. Helleborus orientalis fronted by Spiraea japonica ‘Magic Carpet’.
5. Grape hyacinths, Musacari ssp. with Fritillaria ‘Uva Vulpis’.
6. Hyacinths.
7. Mister Bluebird, waiting on his mate.
8. His mate, contemplating life, the universe and everything on the rusty clothesline pole.
9. Narcissus ‘Salome’.
10. Grape hyacinths and Spiraea japonica ‘Magic Carpet’.

Frances

This entry was posted in Photography, Seasonal Chores, wildlife. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Spring Light

  1. Valerie says:

    I love the early morning in spring for all those reasons. I just wish it would get here so that I can wander outside with my coffee and enjoy. Valerie

    I hear that! HA Spring seems to be engrossed in a good book and won’t come out of the bedroom this year.
    Frances

  2. I’m not sure which photo I like best, they are all so lovely! Thanks for the wake up call!

    Hi Marian, thanks for visiting. No need to choose a favorite, we love all the plants here, and all the birds, too.
    Frances

  3. What a fabulous finale to your beautiful dawn photos. Thanks for the smile this morning, Frances.

    Thanks Georgia. That last image seems to be one of those once in a lifetime occurances. I am glad the camera was at the ready.
    Frances

  4. Lights, camera, action….just your typical glorious day at Fairegarden! Your flaming pieces of glass are wondrous in that morning light. You captured everything perfectly.
    By the way, what is the somewhat spiral shaped trunk behind the ‘Salome’ narcissus? a contorted ‘Blue Atlas’ cedar?

    Hi Michaele, thanks so much. Sometimes we get lucky with the captures, but the garden is always amazingly beautiful, to me. That tree is indeed a weeping blue atlas cedar, wrapped around a ten foot piece of rebar as it grew.
    Frances

  5. commonweeder says:

    I wish the early morning light was warm enough for a stroll with coffee, but it is still shining on a snowy lawn. I did see a fox strolling across the hill, and marking his way along which I hope will discourage the bunnies. Unfortunaately I couldn’t get a photo. He seems to be a regulaar visitor though.

    Hi Pat, thanks for sharing. Seeing the fox sounds wonderful, if a little scary if it was in my more urban setting. Your snow will melt soon, I hope, and spring will commence.
    Frances

  6. Unfortunately with really tall trees to the east of me, I don’t get morning sun for hours after it rises. Plus, it seems like I’ve only had rainy, cold days this spring. My flowers are all behind schedule and just blah- not up to expectations this year. I’m hoping the azaleas and my Lady Banks will be ready in a week or so and brighten up the scene.

    Hi Jill, thanks for joining the conversation. Some gardens are morning folks, some are more late afternoon types. I am lucky with the siting here, since I am also such an early morning type person. Our flowers are at least two weeks or more behind schedule. I am hoping for a good show whenever they decide to show up!
    Frances

    • Norma Middleton says:

      The weather is the same in S. GA, Jill! Everything is behind its normal schedule. I get up each morning looking for some sun and some dry weather! The dogwoods and azaleas are at their peak right now – absolutely amazing! And the hummers are here enmasse! What a beautiful sight! Sure wish I could stroll through the gardens with a cup of coffee – -but the drizly rain is keeping me inside (for now).

      Hi Norma, same here with the weather and lateness of the bloom. That was some rain we have had this winter, but it does make the plants and trees happy, if not the humans who want to go play in the dirt.
      Frances

    • Unfortunately, I don’t have an afternoon garden either- more like a 10a-1p garden!

      Thanks Norma– I’ll get that hummer feeder up right away!

  7. Marguerite says:

    Oh that glassy ‘shroom and it’s attendant glowing minions ! oh the horizontal breaks in the path behind that cherry picking up the color of its vertical branches ! Oh that lucky blue bird having a gardener on call to plant bulbs to match hs coat when he so wishes! Oh those silver sage colored mop headed fescues looking like a ballet corps of baby cousin Its! Oh Frances, Thank You from my eyes and my heart. And I have two digits for Mrs. Blue Bird……42!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Hi Marguerite, thank you so much for those kind and glowing words! You really are good at describing the garden denizens, I too, feel they are like humans, or Its. I am not sure of the meaning of 42…?, but that was our high temperature yesterday!
    Frances

  8. Marguerite says:

    oops! sorry… n’cherry pas! (see above). Sorry for my Faux Pas…. still , lovely all. I have just begun this year to put out food for the birds and we are just beginning to learn who is who with our trusty bird guides. We have apprised the neighbors that should they see us with our binoculars , we are not Peeping Toms, we are merely studying the low tech twitterers and tweets. Happy Friday to all and to all a good light.

    Thank you, Marguerite. I should have known it was the Hitchiker reference, the answer to the question is 42. We use binoculars here, as well, a set in both rooms that face out to the garden. Having the bird guide is key to learning who is visiting. We still see new to us birds after all these years and have to check the book. I do the same with butterflies and caterpillars.
    Frances

  9. Marguerite says:

    42 being your temp, is merely further evidence that there are no accidents…;) as for 42, when you wrote Mrs Bluebird was contempating Life, the Universe and Everything, I had thought you were referring to this, a descripton of one of the elements of the wonderful book “Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy”, which I am sure you would enjoy

    Answer to the Ultimate Question of Life, the Universe, and Everything (42)

    The Answer to the Ultimate Question of Life, The Universe, and Everything.
    In the first novel and radio series, a group of hyper-intelligent pan-dimensional beings demand to learn the Answer to the Ultimate Question of Life, The Universe, and Everything from the supercomputer, Deep Thought, specially built for this purpose. It takes Deep Thought 7½ million years to compute and check the answer, which turns out to be 42. Deep Thought points out that the answer seems meaningless because the beings who instructed it never actually knew what the Question was.

    I was referring to the Hitchiker’s Guide, but totally forgot about 42 being the answer!!! Thanks for the reminder, Marguerite! HA
    Frances

  10. Carolyn says:

    We call it the “Magic Hour” in my gardens… and it’s truly a sight to behold. Your images almost capture it… one really has to be there to receive its full splendor. At least that’s what I tell my kids when I wake them up early on a Saturday morning to come work in the gardens. Beautiful post, Frances.

    Thanks Carolyn. Magic Hour, yes indeed it is. Someday your kids will come to appreciate the magic, too.
    Frances

  11. Lola says:

    Very nice as usual. I use to be a morning person, now just “when”.

    Thanks Lola. We shall see how or if our hours change after my husband retires.
    Frances

  12. Alison says:

    Your photos were so lovely to look at. Here in the PNW, a spring morning seldom has that much sun in it, the color just goes from black to gray.

    Thanks Alison. We are lucky with our siting of the garden here, so the early morning sun hits the flowers so beautifully.
    Frances

  13. Lovely pictures, as always. My favorites: the grape hyacinths, bluebird, and ‘Salome’.

    Thanks Jason. They are all my favorites, HA. That’s why they were included in this post, out of hundreds of images taken.
    Frances

  14. Beautiful pictures today. It has been awhile since I visited and you made my day. Simply lovely. Thanks

    Thanks Sandy, and welcome back! I am so glad you enjoyed the shots.
    Frances

  15. Christy says:

    Love this post!! The pictures are fabulous Frances!!! I really like the one with the Bluebird..what a cutie. I think spring is finally here to stay! HURRAY!

    Thanks Christy. The bluebirds, and all the birds here are much prized and beloved. I think you are right about spring finally getting here!
    Frances

  16. Gwen Ochoa says:

    Absolutely Beautiful!!!

    Thanks!

  17. Cindy says:

    Sigh. And sigh again.

    Thanks, Cindy.

  18. gail says:

    What Cindy said! So glad spring has finally arrived, I can capture a few of these morning shots now, but soon the trees will block the sun…Your spider web captures are always in my top ten fairegarden photos. xoxogail

    Thanks Gail. Things happen so fast once the weather warms up. I hope you can enjoy the sunshine on your garden!
    xoxoxo
    Frances

  19. Stunning, Frances, just stunning. Your words and photos really set the mood, and create a joyous virtual morning experience for your readers. Cheers!

    Thanks Beth, I am so glad you enjoyed the show!
    Frances

  20. I love your progression from early morning light to the heart of mid-day.

    Thanks Charlie. I do love the garden in the first light of a new day.
    Frances

  21. msrobin58 says:

    I’m a fan of the sunset light, and rarely see my garden in the dawn. I’m a night owl instead! I often swear I will get up and get out early, but it rarely happens. Your garden looks lovely no matter what time of day.

    Hi Robin, thanks for adding to the conversation here. I love sunset light, too, but am usually cooking dinner then. At the dawn of the day, I am already up and waiting for the sun to reveal the garden, then go out into it.
    Frances

Comments are closed.