April Bounty

Sierra Exif JPEG
The garden is surging with abundance after the cool spring gave it a long slow start.
Above: Hosta ‘White Feather’

Sierra Exif JPEG
Suddenly it seems like summer, with sparkling effervescence hanging from stems and branches.
Above: Acer palmatum ‘Peaches ‘N Cream’ at center bottom, borrowed view of neighbor’s mature dogwood in background.

Sierra Exif JPEG
Strolling the pathways, I bask in the essence of scents intermingled.
Above: Syringa vulgaris

Sierra Exif JPEG
The succession of glamour, be it from flower or foliage continues as later bulbs take the stage.
Above: Not considered glamourous by some, Star of Bethlehem, Ornithogalum umbellatum and Acorus gramineus ‘Ogon’. It looks like a star to me.

Sierra Exif JPEG
What was just a short time ago bare earth has exploded in floral and leafy bounty.
Above: The repurposed wheelbarrow planter.

Sierra Exif JPEG
Buzzings and birdsong are conducive to tranquility.
Above: Fothergilla gardenii

Sierra Exif JPEG
Translucent leaves enhanced by backlighting feature dramatic color.
Above: Heuchera ‘Citronelle’ and Heuchera ‘Faire Piecrust’, a chance seedling that was grown on in containers and divided for a couple of years before being planted in the ground this April. Bounteous, indeed.

Frances

This entry was posted in Musings, Seasonal Chores. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to April Bounty

  1. Can’t wait to see that native azalea in bloom–won’t be long! I love Fothergilla, smells like honey to me.

    Hi Marian, thanks for visiting. The native azaleas are opening now, it is my favorite time of year in the garden, but don’t tell the other months that! Fothergilla does indeed smell like honey. Everytime I pass by it, which is often, I get a heady sniff!
    Frances

  2. Barbara H. says:

    Beautiful, beautiful! Beware the Star of Bethlehem however, it is a highly invasive bulb forming dense stands that can take over the garden. At least that’s what happened in my Portland garden. It has started showing up all over my property here in Alabama. I love it in the grass but it’s now infiltrating the flower beds in single appearances here and there.

    Thanks Barbara, both for the kind words and the warning. The Star is planted in THE most difficult spot we have, the vole community behind the end of the long wall. It has not spread, but if it does, I am ready. The Acorus is helping keep it in check, I believe.
    Frances

  3. Carol says:

    Your garden is beautiful, Frances. Lots to see and enjoy as you stroll about.

    Ditto what Marian said about Star of Bethlehem. It is very invasive. I just returned from a wildflower garden that was overrun with it, and that’s putting it mildly. It chokes out the other native wildflowers, forming a dense mat that sweeps across the garden “before you know it”. Like most spring bulbs, the foliage dies back late in the spring, but those thick mats of bulbs are waiting just below the surface. I found Star of Bethlehem in my garden last spring… it must have hitchhiked in with some other bulbs, and I pulled it out and threw it in the trash.

    Thanks for the kind words and the warning, Carol. The garden is amazing at this time of year, or more amazing than the other times. As I told Marian, the Star is not in good soil or in the lawn, it is confined by Acorus behind the end of the wall where we filled in with rubble and hard clay. But I will be watching it.
    Frances

  4. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    It is still cold here. I can’t wait for this abundance to ooze out of the ground here. Happy Earth Day.

    I like that, Lisa, oozing out of the ground. Happy Earth Day to you!
    Frances

  5. Just looking at the picture, my nose experienced a little anticipatory tingle of taking in the heavenly fragrance of lilac. Hmmm, that just got me thinking….sometimes I wonder what can happen next in the world of technology to improve computers and the internet…maybe there should be a button to hit for fragrance. Let’s face it, we sure don’t want to smell everything that passes by on our screen (hence the button so the human stays in control) but who wouldn’t want to be transported by lilac and peony?

    Hi Michaele, thanks for visiting. The idea of smelling photos does not appeal to me at all, I am weird I guess. I want the whole enchilada when sniffing, to see, feel, touch, etc. Most especially when it come to flowers or foliage that have fragrance. The grape soda scented iris opened today, Iris pallida. I love April.
    Frances

  6. Dee says:

    You’re ahead of me so far, but I’ll catch up as soon as this cold front goes through again. Yes, another cold front. I love your ‘White Feathers.’ Wish it would grow in my hot climate. Have a beautiful day Faire!

    Hi Dee, thanks for visiting. White Feathers is much whiter when we have had a colder winter. All will catch up with us, soon I hope. We are later than usual, I dare not use the word normal. It has no meaning anymore.
    Frances

  7. Christy says:

    Hi Frances…Love these pictures of your blooms. I planted my first Fothergilla last fall and it’s blooming now. It’s so pretty! You have such a nice variety of colors and blooms. It’s always a pleasure to visit your blog!

    Hi Christy, thanks for those kind words. The garden is wonderful all of the time, but especially in April. Good job on the Fothergilla!
    Frances

  8. Carolyn says:

    Beautiful! Beautiful! Beautiful! We’re still waiting for warm to wake up the earth and shout Spring! The redbuds have been in a holding pattern for several weeks… tight purple buds, at times covered with snow. This week’s forecast calls for above freezing low temps… finally! The slowest Spring I can ever remember.

    Hi Carolyn, thanks. Good on your finally getting out of the freezing weather. Winter lasted longer and spring has been slow here, too.
    Frances

  9. Warms my heart and wakes up my eyeballs! Happy Earth Day!

    Hi Stacy, thanks. Happy Earth Day to you, but it is my belief that every day is Earth Day.
    Frances

  10. Alison says:

    That Hosta White Feather is glowing, and the Heucheras too. I know Hostas and Heucheras are considered common by some, but I love them!

    Common usually means things that are easy to grow, Alison. Why struggle with things that aren’t happy where one gardens? I like that you love them, too!
    Frances

  11. Makes me hungry for spring to get here. My lilacs are barely swelling their buds!

    Hi Kathy, thanks for visiting. The wait for the lilacs to finally open seemed like a long one this year. Now I am hoping they last!
    Frances

  12. Norma says:

    Ahhhhhhhhhhh! Whenever I need a lift, Fairegarden provides it! We had a late spring here as well, but in strolling the gardens yesterday, I was reminded as to why I garden! Spring is my favorite time of the year, as it says to me, “All things have another opportunity to show beauty.”

    Hi Norma, thanks for those kind words. Gardening does lift us up, I agree. I also agree that all things have a certain beauty to offer, if we will be open to it.
    Frances

  13. Elizabeth McLeod says:

    The garden looks great. I love the combination of the dark and lime leaved heuchera….very pretty. I have had no luck with growing that plant? Any ideas as I love them. Cheers and may spring in the east be a delight. Thanks for sharing your garden photos.

    Hi Elizabeth, thanks. The Heucheras are a diverse group, we have found the ones that like it best here have H. villosa or H. americana in their genetics. Other types need alkaline or more moisture, or more something that my garden does not offer. I have bought and lost many before finding these that like it here.
    Frances

  14. Lola says:

    Lovely, just lovely. I really enjoy reading your blogs. Everything is always so pretty.

    Thanks Lola. I appreciate your readership!
    Frances

  15. Love the picture of the Japanese maple with the big flowering dogwood in the background.

    Thanks Jason. My photo does not do the scene justice. That little maple seems impossible to get an image of that shows how pretty it is to my eyes.
    Frances

  16. Sandy & Richard says:

    A true garden artist, your colours sing together, the song is bright and fresh, well thought out, and laced with perfume…..lilac has such an evocative scent….remembering childhood, and the summer garden.
    We step into autumn, the leaves are begining to fall, speading coloured patch work over the gardens, and streets.
    Thank you for sharing your gorgeous garden Frances.

    Hi Sandy and Richard, thanks for those poetic words, they make me smile. Lilacs speak of my childhood too, my parents had a large shrub that was loaded with blooms every spring. I would cut branches for bouquets inside to inhale the scent. Happy fall to you, another wonderful time of year.
    Frances

  17. Julie says:

    I really enjoy your pictures of your garden, thanks for the inspiration! As I type this I’m celebrating Earth Day watching a heavy snowfall “oozing” from the sky here in Minneapolis. Is it spring yet? 🙂

    Hi Julie, thanks so much. Snowfall oozing in April would seem very wrong to me, but we did see if when we lived in northeast PA. It is spring here, and soon for you, I hope.
    Frances

  18. Cindy says:

    So much loveliness, it takes my breath away!

    Thanks Cindy. It is a wonderful time of year here.
    Frances

  19. This blog post really resonates…except I would say, “Suddenly it’s spring!” Ours is delayed this year, but now it’s coming on strong. Your garden is breathtaking as always, Frances!

    Hi Beth, thanks for stopping by. Our spring has been slow in coming, too, but does seem to have arrived now. The nights are still below normal in temps, but that makes for delicious and not too hot days.
    Frances

  20. Janet Waldschmidt says:

    where is this place???? southeastern Tenn on a slope????? bhp

    This is my garden, Janet, in southeast Tennessee. The whole property, less than an acre, sits on a north facing slope, some parts quite steep, but all sloping towards the house and down to street level in a small, southern US town.
    Frances

  21. gail says:

    My dear, your garden is bountiful and beautiful. I feel so fortunate to have seen it in all its spring beauty. Must see it again! Love the White Feathers hosta~it’s so wonderful. xoxogail

    Thanks Gail. I am so glad you have been here in various seasons to visit the garden and me! Do come again, soon!
    xoxoxo
    Frances

Comments are closed.