For All You Mothers Out There

May 8, 2013 old 045 (2)
For all the mothers out there….

May 8, 2013 old 023 (2)
….You know who you are.

May 8, 2013 old 004 (2)
Mother’s Day is not my favorite holiday, for many reasons.

May 8, 2013 old 041 (2)
My own dear mother and dear mother in law are both gone now, and they are sorely missed.

May 8, 2013 old 033 (2)
So it is a sad day for me, even though I am the mother of four wonderful offspring, two of whom are mothers themselves, and a new mother daughter in law that I love dearly.

May 8, 2013 old 031 (2)
While it is a good idea, I suppose, to honor our mothers on a special day, why not honor them every single day, as they so deserve?

May 8, 2013 old 026 (2)
Sometimes, one does not know what they’ve got until it’s gone.

May 8, 2013 old 043 (2)
Let us never forget our mothers.

*****

Please forgive the self indulgent pity party tone of this post. Sometimes a person needs to wallow in sadness for just a little tiny bit to better enjoy the happy times of life, of which there are so many.

Frances

This entry was posted in holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to For All You Mothers Out There

  1. Norma says:

    Thanks for sharing such beautiful flowers and honoring our mothers!

    Both my mom and much loved mother-in-law have entered the gorgeous garden in the sky! No apology necessary for the pity party tone. In fact, I didn’t even pickup a ‘pity party tone’. ..I picked up a real love!

    I do the same thing when I’m in my gardens and remembering both my parents and parents-in-law – particularly when I’m admiring/grooming a plant/tree/shrub one of them had given me prior to their demise! Makes me feel close to them!!!

    Your gardens are absolutely fabulous!

    To all mothers out there, Happy Mother’s Day!

    Thanks Norma, I admire your sharing of the feelings of love the garden can inspire. That is just what I needed to hear to have an attitude adjustment! Happy Mother’s Day to all the mothers.
    Frances

  2. Carol says:

    That’s beautiful, Frances. We should always honor our mothers. I remember my mom every day, in and out of the garden.

  3. Layanee says:

    I am lucky to still have Mom with me. She is tiring easily now at 89 but she keeps on moving forward. Happy Mother’s Day to you.

  4. linda says:

    I too no longer have my mom and MIL here. I also miss them dreadfully.

  5. Lovely post and I know that poignant pang that Mother’s Day can evoke. My own (now gone) mother especially loved a dark pink peony in my garden that always seemed to be open on Mother’s Day so, her health permitting, we always tried to make sure that is when she flew in for a visit. When she could no longer leave her area, I would cut a giant bouquet of them and make the 12 hour drive so she could enjoy her beloved Mother Day’s peonies. I miss that ritual of cutting the flowers and seeing her face light up as she buried her nose in the aromatic offering.

  6. gail says:

    My mother who absolutely hated being hot, uncomfortable and out of doors would have loved your garden and the beautiful flowers you’ve shared today. Happy Mother’s Day my dear friend. xoxogail PS That Forget-me-not is precious.

  7. This is my first Mother’s day without my mom. She loved spring, planting her garden, and flowers. Miss her very much but am reminded daily of her when I look at my own flowers.

  8. L says:

    Happy Mother’s Day to you too Frances. We that don’t have our mothers do miss them so.

  9. Christy says:

    Hi Frances…my mom has been gone for 18 years now. She would have loved my garden and would be so proud of me! I don’t have human children, but my four-legged children give me so much love every day!!

  10. Anne Boykin says:

    Hi Frances, I miss my mother too. Thanks for sharing your lovely garden with us!

  11. Dee says:

    I don’t read any pity party here. I read genuine love. Love to you dear Faire. Happy Mother’s Day, everyday.~~Dee

  12. Lola says:

    Well said my friend. I too am alone in this field. Happy Mothers Day to you.

  13. Leslie says:

    You spoke the words that I feel as well this time of year. A thoughtful tribute and reminder. My mom had a steep garden that she loved…she would have so loved yours!

  14. Alison says:

    Hugs, Frances! Hope you have a wonderful Mother’s Day, surrounded by loving family members.

  15. Oh I have strange feelings towards what I call “Halmark holidays”. give me flowers any other day of the year I say, not on a day when they are forced to flower on schedule and will not last!

Comments are closed.