Spilling Blooms of Mid-June 2013

Sierra Exif JPEG
When June Bloom Day, the invention of my friend Carol of May Dreams Gardens rolls around, the brilliantly sunny days are greeted by lilies and lots of them. Years of adding and spreading, click here for a how to on bulblets, have made for some spilling swaths in the Lawn/Meadow. I chuckle at the Verbena bonariensis photo bombing the shot of scented Asiatics Lilium ‘Royal Fantasy’, front, and L. ‘Royal Sunset’, behind. HA

Sierra Exif JPEG
The row of L. ‘Royal Fantasy’ that edges the Daylily Hill grows larger each year, spilling down the slope. Beginning as ten bulbs planted singly in holes a couple of feet apart, they have increased to hundreds. The scent seems to surge in the morning or as the sun sets.

Sierra Exif JPEG
In the Shed Bed, Lilium ‘Regale’ stands tall in front of the waving matrix spill of Stipa tenuissima. Echinacea tennesseensis has cross pollinated to produce tall stems of various petal curving. Red Salvia greggii splashes color and attracts hummingbirds.

Sierra Exif JPEG
More lilies are added each year along the Azalea Walk to continue the interest there into summer’s spill of sunshine. Orangey hues stand up best to this strong light and attract pollinators with the energetic colors.

Sierra Exif JPEG
One of the newer bulbs, ordered from B&D Lilies is the scented Asiatic Lilium ‘First Crown’. This was recently moved from the Black Garden to the other oranges for more of a dynamic spill. Don’t be afraid to move lilies for better siting. I do it a lot, in fact, along with moving most every other plant here. Dig deeply to try to get under the mother bulb, easier if the bulb has only been in the ground a year or so.

Sierra Exif JPEG
Lilies are spectacular by themselves, but can also be successfully integrated into larger mixed plantings, as illustrated in the Yellow/White Bed. Bits of blue set off the pale spills well.

Sierra Exif JPEG
June is brimming with Dahlias, beginning with the shorter in stature red Dahlia ‘Gallery Singer’.

Sierra Exif JPEG
Dahlia ‘Mystic Spirit’ was purchased during the Fling in Asheville, North Carolina last year when we visited the very fine nursery B.B. Barns. It is bigger and better and covered in buds after wintering over in the raised box dedicated to Dahlias. Year after year the Dahlias return, so more keep getting added. Can there be too many? Well, um no, there can’t, there is always room for more.

June 7, 2013 old 008 (2)
Another large collection that begins spilling color in June are the daylilies. Hemerocallis ‘Pardon Me’ was the first daylily planted here, brought in the Noah’s Ark of plants when we moved to this Tennessee house from Texas in 2000. It has been spread and shared far and wide and remains one of my favorites. It is always one of the first to open and continues to bloom all summer long.

Sierra Exif JPEG
A newer cultivar is Hemerocallis ‘Buddy’s Black Jack’. It is planted with several others of darker shades in the Black Garden. In an aside, I don’t always deadhead the daylilies, but when I do, I always cut off buds accidentally. HA

June 9, 2013 old 031 (2)
2013 has been one of the best years for seed sowing. A nice patch of Borago officinalis has reached blooming size. Seeds will be saved, it is hoped, to continue this success. I do love the sky blue petals of these edible flowers.

Sierra Exif JPEG
Seeds of various Digitalis were planted along the lower wall that was redone to defeat the vole population living and vandalizing the plantings there. Click here to read about that. Tags were duly stuck into each section to identify the seedlings, if any were to grow and flower. Several of these germinated but they all look the same pale yellow with tiny flowers to me, possibly Digitalis micrantha? Now the goal is to see how perennial they might be.

Sierra Exif JPEG
Several containers were planted with a fan favorite, the bat faced Cuphea llavea. There are several types of Cupheas planted here for the hummers and butterflies. They are tough and sturdy plants, withstanding drought and heat. Always purchased from dear Ruth at Mouse Creek Nursery, we will be on our own trying to propagate them since that wonderful establishment is closing its business doors on July 13 of this year. A well earned retirement for Ruth and her husband will allow them free time to travel and pursue their other interests. We wish them well!

Sierra Exif JPEG
After the daily garden chores are tackled in the coolth of earliest morn, garden viewing and wildlife watching occur. Seating is strategically located to best observe the goings on and sometimes photos are snapped of supping Great Spangled Fritillary butterflies on butterfly weed, Asclepias tuberosa. My heart spilleth over when that happens.

Frances

This entry was posted in Garden Bloggers Bloom Days, wildlife. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Spilling Blooms of Mid-June 2013

  1. Anne Boykin says:

    Hi Frances, Your blooms are glorious! Love your lilies. I’m growing Borage from seed this year too. My mother used to grow it so it has fond memories. It blends well with it’s neighbors too.

    Hi Anne, thanks for stopping by. Borage is a sweet herb, full of lore and memories, and pretty much only grown by seed. There will be seed saving done here to continue its place in the garden, it is hoped.
    Frances

  2. Your garden always looks stunning! I love the yellow milkweed. I only have the orange butterfly weed. Your lilies are magnificent…daylilies really command attention, especially since they are only here for the day.

    Hi Karin, thanks. The lilies are having a very good year, as are the daylilies, and everything else, so far. There has been ample rainfall, for which we are so grateful.
    Frances

  3. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Your lilies are magnificent in those great drifts. It makes me want to plant more and more when I see them. Do you have to dig your dahlias in the fall? They don’t over winter here unless I do. Your place is a zone warmer than my zone. Your June Blooms are glorious. Happy GBBD.

    Hi Lisa, thanks for visiting and a late Happy GBBD to you. The Dahlias stay in the ground here. The Gallery series seems very hardy, the issue with wintering over is one of drainage more than temperature, I believe. Most are in a raised box that gets winter sun but there are three in the ground that also come back, just not as quick to reach blooming size as the boxed ones.
    Frances

  4. Frances I love the look of all those lilies and I adore the glass sculpture and how it pokes out of the garden as a flower itself.

    Hi Donna, thanks so much. The glass art makes a wonderful statement in the garden. I admit to being addicted to collecting it, sort of.
    Frances

  5. Um, um um, today’s post is almost an embarrassment of riches but, ha, since it is flowers , there are never too many. Your lilies are glorious and I love your commitment to masses of them. I have a tendency to be afraid of tall stemmed perennial plant material but your garden pictures show me to “get over it”.

    Hi Michaele, thanks so much. We are not rich by any means, but the garden is a wealth of flowers, especially this year with the cooler spring and abundant rainfall. The lilies are tall, there is no denying it, the better to stick one’s nose into them for a whiff is wonderful.
    Frances

  6. Julie says:

    Beautiful flowers, thank you for sharing them! You are always weeks ahead of our Minnesota gardens (our lilac just finished). I planted the beautiful borage herb in my herb garden years ago and it returns every year on it’s own. The flowers make a beautiful garnish. They taste like cucumbers.
    Julie

    Hi Julie, thanks for visiting. We are in a warmer zone but still cool enough to grow things like lilacs and tulips. The best of all gardening worlds. HA I love the borage and hope mine reseeds like yours!
    Frances

  7. Rose says:

    A fantastic display of lilies! I love the photo of your yellow/white bed with the blue glass pieces accenting it; that area just invites exploring. I planted some borage seed this year for the first time and am still waiting to see if it will germinate. Yours looks great!

    Hi Rose, thanks. Good luck with your borage. I planted these seeds outdoors in situ on March 17 of this year, earlier than seems right, but they germinated nicely. I will try to keep that same date in the future.
    Frances

  8. Lea says:

    Beautiful blooms, especially the Lilies!
    Have a wonderful week!
    Lea
    Lea’s Menagerie

    Hi Lea, thanks and Happy GBBD to you. The lilies are having a fine year.
    Frances

  9. Leslie says:

    What a lovely array! I love borage too…it is a prolific self seeder but take care and don’t try to control all those babies…I weeded out so many I am carefully tending the 2 I have this year.

    Hi Leslie, thanks so much for that advice! I wouldn’t want to thin that many, and usually err on the side of not thinning enough.
    Frances

  10. Alberto says:

    Hi Frances, your garden looks great and bursting with colours! You have quite a collection of lilies in there, although the best picture to me is the one with Liliuokalani regale, echinacea and stipa. I also liked those small pale yellow digitalis, very subtle.

    Hi Alberto, thanks for stopping by and the kind words. I am glad you liked the more subtle bed of the regales and grasses. It is one of my favorite spots here.
    Frances

  11. Dee says:

    That was a breath of fresh air my friend. Love it all.

    Hi sweet Dee, thanks for taking a breath over here!
    Frances

  12. Maria says:

    When is the best time to be moving the lilies around? I planted about 8 this year, and are in full bloom right now. I would like to move to another part of the garden.

    Hi Maria, thanks for visiting. I would move your lilies as soon as the blooms start to fade, that way they have plenty of time to grow roots for next year’s flowers.
    Frances

  13. gail says:

    Gorgeousness abounds at Fairegarden! I so love your lilies. Borage has the best blue I’ve seen in a garden~Must give that herb a try sometime. I see you seeded it in the garden early~Going on the calendar as a reminder! Happiest of GBBD. xoxogail

    Hi Gail, thanks so much. The borage success is a first, it must be the time of sowing and keeping the snails, slugs and squirrels off of them, tricky!
    xoxoxo
    Frances

  14. Oh, those lilies are breathtaking. God, I need more lilies. You know I lost all my ‘Casa Blanca’ Oriental Lilies over the winter. I still have lots of Asiatics but I miss the fragrance. Trying to decide if I should try ‘Casa Blanca’ again or something else. Love the shot of the Fritillary butterfly.

    Hi Jason, thanks so much. I am so sorry about your Casa Blancas. If it is white you prefer, Navarosse is a good fragrant oriental that has grown well for me. I can’t grow Casa Blanca at all, and have tried several times. The Chinese Trumpet class has the most fragrant lilies of all, and Golden Splendor the sweeting smelling of that class. It grows here and I can vouch for the fragrance, head twisting!
    Frances

  15. Elizabeth McLeod says:

    I’d do anything to meet you and walk through this garden. That butterfly was amazing. Thanks for the lily post…very pretty and a delight to read.

    Hi Elizabeth, thanks, you are very sweet. Better than being here in person and seeing all the non-lovely bits, it is free and online 24/7 with 929 posts showing my garden in all seasons. You don’t even have to leave home!
    Frances

  16. I started out thinking this post was all about Lilies, which would be wonderful enough! But then you included so much more! It all flows together so nicely! Love the Digitalis, the Borago, and the Asclepias. I added Butterfly Weed to my garden this year, but the taproots seem to be struggling a bit to get going. The plants are still alive, though, and I hope they’ll attract Monarchs this summer. Lovely post!

    Hi Beth, thanks for visiting. While the lilies are the most showy blooms in the garden due to their height and numbers, there are many more blooms, too numerous to share or even list in flower right now. The butterfly weeds growing here came from seeds and were VERY slow to establish, it takes years to get to a good size. I hope you get many butterflies soon on yours.
    Frances

  17. I never thought Dahlia could be left in the ground! I live in zone 7A, but it would be worth trying out because of the recent string of mild winters. Thanks for thinking out of the box!

    Hi Shenendoah, thanks for reading. I am also zone 7A, but with very well drained soil due to the steep slope. Most of my dahlias are in a raised box that was filled with chopped leaves and is topped up with compost yearly that is in a protected siting, but several are also in the ground and return faithfully each year. Do give them a try, digging and trying to store them is just too much trouble for me.
    Frances

  18. Borage is a favorite for bees and we have a large patch growing for our apiary. Tends to self seed itself every year. Your pollinators will thank you:)

    Hi Sensible Gardening, thanks for visiting. The pollinators are quite happy here, we are awash in pollinator friendly flowers nearly twelve months a year.
    Frances

  19. nuttygnome says:

    Stunning Frances, just stunning! You inspire me to plant more (and different) colours in my own garden. Thank you so much 🙂

    Hi Liz, thanks so much. The brilliant colors please the humans and the pollinators. Smile inducing.
    Frances

  20. mrmuddyg says:

    Those are some beautifull flowers, thanks for sharing them.

    Thanks!

  21. spurge says:

    Rivers of lilies… just amazing! I must plant more of them too…

    Hi Spurge, thanks for stopping by. Lilies=more! HA
    Frances

  22. What a stunning site this is. So glad to have found it. Your photos and your gardening are beautiful.

    Hi Valorie, thanks and welcome!

  23. Cindy says:

    I remember the lilies of Fairegarden fondly and well … shoot, maybe I need to run back down to Bacliff and take a few more pots of Triumphator off my pal Mark’s hands!

    More, more and more! HA

  24. I’ve never seen such lovely lilies as yours. Great blooms!

    Hi Sophia, thanks so much.

Comments are closed.