What Is This Plant?

Does anyone recogize this plant? (As with all photos posted on Faire Garden, click on the photo to see a larger image. ) It blooms once a year, mid spring for us.
Here is a better shot of the foliage. It is evergreen. It was purchased in Houston at a native plant nursery, the name is gone from memory. I thought the tag said it was a salvia, but the flower form does not look like a salvia.

It grows to about ten inches tall in bloom. Shown here with salvia ‘May Night’ and an unknown geranium. I have guessed that it is a veronica of some sort, but don’t know. It spreads nicely and is a great, drought tolerant plant. It has been divided several times and makes a great filler in a sunny well drained spot. Does anyone know it?

Frances

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to What Is This Plant?

  1. Christopher C. NC says:

    It looks like it is a Campanula. The color and shape of the flower is right, but the petal numbers and opposite leaves are wrong.

    I’ll see if I can find out what it is.

    Bulbarella/Marjorie

  2. Frances, says:

    Welcome Bulbarella/Marjorie! I never thought of campanula. Any help you can give is much appreciated. Looking forward to this weekend. ;->

  3. Cinj says:

    I’m not good with plant names, but they are gorgeous. I’ve had quite a few mislabelled plants. Never fear, I’m sure someone will be able to name it for you.

  4. Frances, says:

    Hi Cinj, thanks, I hope so. It already looks promising. Sometimes I know when a label is wrong, but this one has me stumped. It is a wonderful plant though.

  5. walk2write says:

    Like Christopher, I think it is a Campanula. Wayside Gardens might be able to help with identification. They have a blog: http://www.waysidegardensvoices.com/ I have been ordering perennials from them for years and trust their advice and expertise.

  6. A Softer Side says:

    My mom (in Tn) just gave me two clumps of that. She says it is a member of the salvia family but couldnt remember the name. I will ask again. Hers are just now coming up well; stop by http://momnaturerules.blogspot.com/ and you can see some of her goodies…

  7. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    It is a beautiful blue. I don’t know what it is but will be curious to know what it is. It probably wouldn’t grow here in zone 6.

  8. Frances, says:

    walk2write, thanks. That is an option that is new to me. I have ordered from Wayside for many years also, but didn’t know they had a blog.

    Lisa, It is a clear sky blue and being evergreen makes it attractive even not in bloom. It might work for you. Hopefully we will find out more about it.

  9. Frances, says:

    A Softer Side, sorry your reply is out of order, my email put your comment in junk mail, I don’t know why it does that sometimes, but it is fixed now. I am very excited to find out someone else grows this plant. I left a comment on This Is How We Do It asking more questions. You are the only ones that have ever seen it before. Hooray. Thanks for any more info.

  10. A Softer Side says:

    You are quite welcome!

    The salvia / sage family is huge; it is odd coincidental that I just got a few clumps from my mom (Nashville) that- as best I can remember = she got from the botanical society or from someone connected with Cheekwood. Be patient with me; Mother is in her late 70’s and sometimes takes a day or two to remember things…

    I am in Alabama and we (mother and I) sometimes have difficulty swapping things out with one another, although the weather / heat differences seem to be diminishing as the years pass.

    Have a great day and I will get back to you when I have an answer.
    ~Mellissa

  11. Frances, says:

    Thanks Melissa, I am trying to do searches on google and all the salvias have a different flower form. The veronicas have a similar flower but so far no matches. I really appreciate any help.

  12. GardenJoy4Me says:

    Frances .. at first I thought the flower looked like it was in the lobelia family .. then I thought maybe a prostrate veronica .. I have an amazing light sky blue one.
    But has some one identified it in the campanula family now then ?
    That blue is beautiful !
    Everything in your garden is gorgeous girl !
    Joy

  13. Gail says:

    My first thought was campanula, Tall Bellflower, Francis…its flower form looks like it, as do the leaves. It is pretty…

    Gail

  14. Kathryn/plantwhateverbringsyoujoy.com says:

    It is a campanula. 🙂 I have one similar in my garden.

  15. Frances, says:

    Hi Joy, the jury is still out, but another campanula comment adds to that ID. Thanks for the sweet words, I love all blue flowering plants, just would like to know what it is. It’s been in the garden for nearly ten years, first in Texas, then here in TN.

    Hi Gail, thanks for your input. Maybe the cultivar name will surface here.

    Hi Kathryn, thanks. Do you know any more about it?

  16. Brenda Kula says:

    I’m not sure either. But it is reminiscent of Veronica…
    Brenda

  17. Frances, says:

    Hi Brenda, It does have some similarities to the several veronicas we grow here. Two people say they have it, one says salvia, one says campanula. I am still working on trying to find out. Thanks for your input.

  18. tina says:

    No idea, but it is a lovely blue.

  19. Frances, says:

    Hi Tina, yes, it is the most beautiful sky blue. Thanks for visiting.

  20. kate smudges says:

    I would have guessed Veronica (from the leaves), although looking at the flowers, I can see how it has a Bellflower look to it as well.

  21. Frances, says:

    Hi Kate, thanks for visiting. You are right, I was looking at my veronicas today, the foliage is similar. I am learning all kinds of new things about the campanulas, not all are bell shaped. So far I can find no varieties that match what is growing here.

  22. Layanee says:

    What a beautiful delft blue! Don’t know what that is but I want some! The stems look square…mint family. I hope you get an id on this one.

  23. Melanie says:

    Well shoot, I thought for sure by the time I got to the bottom here I’d find out what it was!

    It’s a very pretty flower, I would love to get some if it’s hardy here. The rest of that bed looks similar to mine, my hardy Geraniums are just starting to bloom today.

  24. Ewa says:

    no idea, but it is beautiful 🙂

  25. Magic Cochin says:

    Hi Frances
    I think Kate’s spot on – it’s Veronica Officinalis, we know it as Speedwell. Lots of wild forms over here, all have pretty blue flowers.

    Celia
    🙂

  26. Frances, says:

    Hi Layanee, thanks for visiting. The color is a pure sky blue. We are still not sure about it.

    Hi Melanie, sorry for no definitive answer yet. Such a great plant, where are those proven winner people? They need to offer it!

    Hi Ewa, thanks for stopping by.

    Hi Celia, I will fix your name on my sidebar. It does have lots of veronica look to it. Thanks for your two cents worth.

  27. Cindy says:

    Frances, if you bought it here in Houston, I’d be surprised to hear it’s a Campanula. I’ve been told they won’t grow here … of course that doesn’t mean they won’t be sold here! The foliage and stems remind me of Salvia, but the flowers don’t. I’ll ask Joshua at Joshua’s Native Plants about it.

  28. Frances, says:

    Cindy, thanks for that input. I did buy it in Houston, in the Heights, at a native plant nursery on the main street there, It was close to another cool nursery called Another Place In Time. I am sure the tag said salvia, but didn’t write it down. Hope you can ID it!

  29. Cindy says:

    OK, that would have been Buchanan’s, I’ll try e-mailing them and see if they recognize it. Joshua did not.

    I know Another Place in Time well. Wonderful little nursery with friendly and knowledgeable owner & staff. I need to pay them a visit, it’s been too long.

  30. Frances, says:

    Oh good, glad you’re back, Cindy. It was Buchanan’s, I did a search for native plant nurseries in Houston and it all came back to me, 11th street was it. I wish I could visit both of those fine places, what wonderful plants and merchandise they carried. I went there often. Thanks for working on this, Cindy.

Comments are closed.