Worth The Wait

Finally the garden is coming to life after a not very harsh winter, so far. Hellebores are at the forefront, standing tall despite high winds and torrential rains.
Hens and chicks in a hypertufa pot remain steadfast through the cold and wet.
Miniature hostas are peeking through the marbles and stones in another hypertufa planter.
One lily, Royal Sunset, brought from the old house has become many! It’s a miracle what time does to a garden.
Fall planted violas gather strength and stamina over the cold months to shine when the weather begins to turn. Grape hyacinths are stalwarts, these were also brought from the old garden. I hope both last long enough to enhance the daffodil blooms coming soon.
Tommies, Crocus tommasinianus have multiplied well after being in the ground five years. They suffered casualties from munching chipmunks the first year, but have rebounded nicely.
Helleborus orientalis ‘Blue Lady’ and forty-five of her surrounding seedlings were potted and brought in the move from the old garden. A few were also dark, the rest were a mix of pinks. All are loved.
White hellebores with a carpet of Veronica ‘Georgia Blue’ would make one believe that spring is right around the corner.

It’s about time.

Frances

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Worth The Wait

  1. Eliz. says:

    I agree! Worth the wait, indeed. can’t get over that last image. I would not have thought veronicas bloomed at the same time.

    • fairegarden says:

      Hi Elizabeth, thanks for visiting! Georgia Blue must be related to the wild non-native ground cover Veronicas blooming in every nook and cranny along roadsides here, also in full and glorious bloom. It makes a good foil for daffodils, too.

  2. EM says:

    Thank you for the glimpse of spring!

  3. It is really truly lovely.

  4. Layanee says:

    I know if spring is happening down there, it is sure to be up here soon! Love the photos!

  5. Kathryn says:

    Thank you for sharing your garden.

  6. Gail says:

    You do have a great eye for color/plant combinations. This is a lovely post. xoxogail

  7. Barbara H. says:

    Yes, it is about time – I was getting worried about you! But I’m glad you and your garden are back. It’s lovely. We’ve had a terribly mild winter, too, and now are suffering from an overabundance of rain. Wish it would space itself out so more would fall in July and August.

    So happy to see your lovely spring flowers.

    • fairegarden says:

      Hi Barbara, you are sweet to think of me, but don’t worry, I am fine, just doing other stuff rather than blogging. We have had way more rain than normal, too. I hope we get some during the summer when we need it the most.

  8. michaele anderson says:

    Without a doubt, your posts are as welcome as early blooming daffodils…always a happy surprise. Love that combo of the white hellebores with the pond of ‘Georgia Blue’ lapping at their feet…definitely a visual delight. I am such a fan of ‘Georgia Blue’…it is one of the best ground covers ever.

    • fairegarden says:

      Thank you for your lovely comment, Michaele! Georgia Blue is such a good doer, it spreads nicely, will grow in sun or shade, is evergreen and long blooming. We are lucky it is so happy here.

  9. Thanks for sharing your spring blooms! I can hardly wait until we actually have blooms here in the north. There are so many emerging plants, and I think a few winter blooms in some gardens…but I’m so excited to see my first bloom in my own garden…under the melting snow.

    • fairegarden says:

      Hi Beth, thanks for stopping by! Your blooms will be coming soon, too, I hope. Spring is stretching her arms and legs after a little nap. It’s so exciting!

  10. Jean diemer says:

    So good to hear from you after a long time. I too was concerned but glad you are well and the gardens are beautiful as usual.

  11. tonytomeo says:

    Those who get spring later than we do are getting it at about the same time this year. What is stranger is that the weather has been very spring like for more than a month, without rain.

    • fairegarden says:

      Hi Tony, thanks for dropping by. I have noticed that my northern friends are seeing spring like happenings in the garden now, too. We have been inundated with rain, though, which I will never complain about knowing how dry it can be in summer here.

  12. Thank you for taking the time to write a post. I felt like I learned a lot when I visited your garden, and I treasure the grape hyacinths you shared with me.

  13. fairegarden says:

    Hi Kathy, I so enjoyed having you visit the old garden! I am unsure exactly what species those grape hyacinths are, they were carpeting the property when we moved in there and I spread them far and wide and gave away to anyone who would take them.

  14. Marie says:

    So happy to see your post!!! The Tommie crocuses are a wonder!

  15. lunalyon says:

    Getting a notification that a new Fairegarden post is available is always a treat! I’m in East Tennessee, so I get inspired by your gorgeous garden. Thank you.

    • fairegarden says:

      Hi Luna, what a sweet thing to say! We are lucky where we live, spring comes early for us although as you know, summers can be too dry sometimes. Thanks for visiting.

  16. Eva Johnson says:

    The red Helleborus ( blue Lady ) is gorgeous. I brought all the helleborus I had in my garden when we moved and only a couple have thrived in their new home. I have a white one and one with reddish flowers. I love seeing a blooming plant in February. You certainly have a beautiful garden. Mine is just starting to slowly wake up. Still a bit cool here and lots of rain. Do you have trouble with your plants heaving during the winter ? I have lost some because of that. Look forward to more pictures of your garden.

  17. fairegarden says:

    Hi Eva, thanks for stopping by and the kind words. Moving is hard on plants and people both. It has taken five years for the moved hellebores to bulk up. But there are tiny baby seedlings around them now, so that is a good sign for a prosperous future. The worst plants for heaving here are heucheras and it sometimes causes their death. A thick leaf cover or hardwood mulch helps. I do hope to blog more often.

  18. judihansen says:

    Wonderful to see the promise of Spring in the Northern Hemisphere, as we in New Zealand go into a very dry autumn.

    • fairegarden says:

      Hi Judi, thanks for stopping by. I am sorry about your drought, we have been having the same here in summer the last couple of years. May it rain for you, and for us at the needed time!

Comments are closed.