Beefing Up The Fairy Gazebo

march-6-2009-055-2In a fit of warm weather madness, the trusty felcos were grabbed for some random acts of pruning. There are always stray branches growing where they oughtn’t that need a snipping. Many of those are growing on the out of control Chamaecyparis pisifera ‘Gold Mops’. (Gratuitous flower shot above of Iris reticulata ‘Harmony’ backed by Calluna vulgaris ‘Firefly’ just opening in the knot garden). march-6-2009-006-2Five feet high by five feet wide the tag read. Okay, that means allow two and one half feet from center for spacing from the beloved deciduous azaleas and Hamamelis ‘Diane’ in front of the evergreen hedge. Diane is nearly finished with her bloom period. We’ll see you next year, my dear.march-6-2009-010-2And two and one half feet to the path edge of the veggie bed behind. Now it’s true that the privet hedge was still in place behind the Gold Mops when they were planted as tiny one gallon sized shrubs, and the veggie garden was not even a twinkle in the gardener’s eye. Last year, the first for the veggie bed, the back side of the golden hedge had to be pruned severely just to be able to walk along the landscape fabric that keeps delicate tootsies dry. It will be maintained with regular clipping. Question: what to do with all those trimmings? march-6-2009-001-2While perusing one of the catalogs that come uninvited into our mailbox last year, we noticed some attractive shower furniture, stools and the like, made out of hinoki wood which was water resistant. The light bulb went off for we recognized hinoki as a type of Chamaecyparis. A wide variety of these are grown here, for they love our soil and climate, and we love the colorful evergreen foliage and interesting forms. It was decided that we would use the prunings from these shrubs to build a nice hang out for the fairies that live here. Many stories have been written about the fairies. Click on these links if you are interested in more background about the gazebo. Fairy Gazebo and/or Furniture Building. march-6-2009-003-2Checking the sturdiness of the gazebo this year, we discovered some design flaws that needed to be rectified. Most important was that the non hinoki materials used, honeysuckle vine in particular, had rotted, leaving holes that threatened the integrity of the gazebo. In addition, the leaving on of some of the ferny foliage, while attractive for about ten minutes, made the structure look more substantial than it actual was. Straight away, we took some long prunings, cut from the trunk or a thicker branch to use as repair weavers and stakes. You can sort of see the different color of the fresh cuttings in the previous photo, they are a little more red rather than the weathered gray of last year’s branches. Also glaringly apparent are the holes in the roof. In the original building the roof was all fluffy with the foliage still attached to the stems. This time we stripped off the foliage to better fill the gaps in the walls and domed top. Squirrels and rabbits have been entering this gazebo and digging holes inside and eating the crocus blooms from the tiny pots at the doorway. More weavers and stakes will help to keep them out, but still let our little folk in.march-6-2009-020-2Project completed. Large rocks were used to pave the entryway. The smaller river stones that originally lined the entrance path kept being dislodged by the critters and covered with dirt when it rained hard. Now little slippered fairy feet will stay clean and dry as they enter for the various festivities this year. The blue swimming pool made from the leaf casting mix is clean and partially filled with water. The garden has been redesigned to the left of the entrance and planted with Primula veris, Heuchera ‘Tiny Marbles’ and English bluebells, Hyacinthoides non-scripta to join the small sedums there. A post was written about what to plant for a fairy garden.
Here is the link.march-6-2009-021-2Here is the gazebo and fairy area in situ. The arbor is along the path to the right out of the shot. This is the far southeast corner of our property and was the extra lot purchased along with the house next door that got torn down to build the garage. You can see the ramp to the deck and the taller building that houses the cars with a loft space above. The main house is the farther away one story building. The property that came with the house next door did not have as steep a slope as the yard behind the main house. The soil is good in this area, which used to be home to the very large maple tree, Ferngully. Click here to read its story. The blue tall shrubs are Chamaecyparis pisifera ‘Boulevard’.march-6-2009-022-2There are still some issues to be dealt with to make this a better hang out for our wee folk. A set of swinging doors to keep out the squirrel riff raff needs to be woven from the hinoki or other suitable material. That will take some cogitation. Also the moss needs refurbished and smoothed. Mad critter digging has made a mess of it even though I have tried to pat it down repeatedly. The twig bench that was made last year disintegrated and a nice flat stone has been placed for seating. More furnishings will be added after the moss regrows.
~~~
This has been a fun project to work on. Basket weaving techniques came in handy for the construction, but anyone could make something similar in their own gardens. Cedar could be used, or redwood if you have access to it. Push the stout stems into the ground in a circle and weave the tops together for the roof. They could also be tied with wire or twine for more of a teepee affair. Weave the sides with a basic over under pattern, overlapping the ends when new pieces are added. It would be easier to do this before tying the top together. Freshly cut branches will bend enough to weave if you do it very carefully and slowly. You will see how far they can be bent before breaking, try to avoid that, for it weakens the finished project. This is very similar to basic basket weaving, using stakes that are stationary and weavers that hold the stakes in place. Long supple branches that are not too thick make the best weavers while thicker ones should be the stakes. I made a covered entryway, sort of like an igloo, but it would not be necessary. You are limited only by your imagination for there is no right or wrong. If you build one, you might get some surprise visitors!
Frances
~~~
Other stories about the fairies at Fairegarden can be seen by clicking on these links. Fairies Part One, Fairies Part Two, Fairies Part Three, Check That, A Fairy Preview, Faire Garden’s Midsummers’ Night.
F

This entry was posted in fairies, Projects. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Beefing Up The Fairy Gazebo

  1. What a pleasant way to while away time in the garden. Any time with Fairies or about Fairies is time well spent. I love the image that “slippered fairy feet” conjurs up in my mind.

    I don’t have much luck getting moss to grow anyplace in my garden. My soil must not be good for it. I suspect too much sand. Hmmmm

    Hi Lisa, thanks. It was fun except I had to lay down on the ground to weave. Very relaxing though. No moss might mean your soil is alkaline?
    Frances

  2. janet says:

    Frances- I was surprised to see how large the Gold Mop gets. My friend has a few and they are really a lot larger than anticipated.
    Your fairy-dom is cleverly cute. Good for you.

    Hi Janet, thanks. I am glad to hear it was not just me about the Gold Mop. I was afraid maybe it was not labeled correctly. It’s pretty, but larger than it should be for that spot and has to be pruned. Glad you liked the fairy area, it is a fun place to fiddle around and think about improvements.
    Frances

  3. Gail says:

    Good Morning Frances, Fairy House won’t be empty of wee folk for long… The fairies that live in your magical garden will be moving in quickly…It’s a charming design, completed garden and a pool! Fairy House aside for minute…You are incredibly talented and have awe inspiring energies for projects! Now I have to have a cup of coffee! This time change is going to take some getting used to! Btw, your gratuitous iris photo is delightfully colorful. gail

    Hi Gail, thanks for stopping by. The time change means I have to wait soooo long for the sun to come up, but more time at night, so many can enjoy that. Your kind words are heart warming. I do look forward to seeing your back garden assume shape. I am not awake yet either, even with coffee, at the mo! 🙂
    Frances

  4. Those are lucky fairies to have a place like that to stay. I’m not going to show my garden fairies this post as I don’t want them to leave May Dreams for Faire Garden!

    Hi Carol, thanks so much. I think your fairies stopped by here on midsummers night last year. They only visit for a short time, for they are loyal to your garden. 🙂
    Frances

  5. gittNan says:

    Oh, how cute! I really liked that. Do you think we have those little people here in Sweden to? Maby I’ll have to make something like that for them =)

    Hi Gittan, thanks. I feel sure you have wee folk there. Many of the references had fairy myths from your part of the world. Really they have been written about in all parts of the globe! Making a little place for them, with or without a house is so fun. You have to imagine yourself very small, always a fun thing to do. 🙂
    Frances

  6. Daphne Gould says:

    What a fabulous creation. I used to have grape vines and I would think those would be perfect. Now you make me regret ditching my grapes for blueberries.

    Hi Daphne, thanks so much. Grape vine would have been perfect, so easy to bend. I often make baskets from it for the nice long pieces. You probably have something else that would work as well. Any Black Locust? Isn’t that said to last one day longer than the end of time? HA Wish we had some here to use for rustic trellis.
    Frances

  7. fairegarden says:

    Hello all, I will be out and about on this daylight filled day. All comments will be read, digested and answered, as always, upon the return to the lazyboy. 🙂 Thank you all for visiting, and do come again!
    Frances

  8. tina says:

    The little people are very grateful for their ‘handyman’ and ‘builder’ to take such good care of their home. They are very happy indeed!

    Guess what? For the first time I saw waxwings. I was walking in the garden and something was dropping all over me. I looked up and there was a whole flock in the silver maple eating the buds. They never made a sound. I had no idea they were quiet. My camera is not good enough to take a picture they were so far up. I might need to add in a big pond to get them close up:)

    Hi Tina, thanks so much. And hooray for your waxwings! Isn’t that a thrill, to see so many? Ours are gone, they only were here a couple of days. Guess they have a long trip ahead of them. No time to dally long in any one spot.
    Frances

  9. Jan says:

    The gazebo turned out so well, and is adorable. You did a fantastic job. I am sure the fairies will be cavorting there soon, having a grand time.

    Jan
    Always Growing

    Hi Jan, thanks. Fairies in, squirrels out! That is our goal. 🙂
    Frances

  10. Joy says:

    Frances we have been bitten by the renovation bug haven’t we ? LOL .. I am reminded of a lot of the British garden shows that have weaved amazing fences with living willow branches .. if only I had the room I would love to see something like this in my own garden ! .. But .. in connection .. it looks like a summer igloo to me !! it is great : )
    What are the amazing RED plants next to the iris ? the consistency is almost like a chenille plant .. fuzzy and deep red ..got my curiosity !

    Hi Joy, thanks. That reno bug is a bad one, isn’t it? Very costly but always good when it is completed. I do love those willow fences too. I thought I bought a gold stemmed willow for the front to use for weaving and it turned out to be a yellow twigged dogwood! What a maroon, Bugs Bunny would say! HA The gazebo definitely has an igloo vibe! The red plant is the beloved Calluna vulgaris ‘Firefly’. The very best Calluna in my opinion. 🙂
    Frances

  11. Monica says:

    Oooh, I just love the firefly heather–so vibrant. And the hinoki fairy huts are so sweet (around here we use willow for bendy wood–it can even grow in shapes). P.S. I want my hour back!

    Hi Monica, thanks. Me too, the day is going by way too fast when it starts so late. I am not a good adjuster. I thought I bought some pretty yellow stem willow to use for weaving projects and it turned out to be yellow twigged dogwood! Banana bites!
    Frances

  12. Sunita says:

    I know one surprise visitor you would definitely get if the distance werent so much … my daughter! good thing she doesnt read “mama’s garden stuff” as she calls our blogs 😉
    What fun you obviously had with this project, Frances:)

    Hi Sunita, HA, I would love to have both you and your daughter visit my garden! This project was very fun to think about and do. Everything about the fairy garden is fantastical. 🙂
    Frances

  13. teza says:

    Frances:
    What a wonderful and inspiring article…. had to go back and read the archive articles as well. I too have an affinity for fairy-folk and this inspired to create the shade garden…. after reading this post I need to work on creating a gathering place -similar to your gazebo- for them. The belief in such things seems to bind and hold me closer to Mother Nature and all her bounteous beauties! Simply a mesmerizing and hypnotic series of posts my friend!

    Hi sweet Teza, thanks so much. I am glad you went back to the archives. I had forgotten that so many had been written myself. I see the fairy folk liking shady spots, but playing in the dew of early mornings in summer also. I am sure you have many in your garden as well. 🙂
    Frances

  14. Oooh, that is so cool. Wish I were a squirrel.

    Um, no I don’t, really…

    Hey, thanks for stopping by and telling me about the hardening off and the need for a wire for the snap peas. It turns out that the peas didn’t die after all, but the tops sure took a hit. I think the hardening off process would have helped that. I got suckered by the 80 degree days…

    Hi Susan, my pleasure to help out. Wow, 80 degree days must have been a shock to those babies! So glad they survived to grow again! I am very glad you are not a squirrel, especially around here. They are persona non grata! 🙂
    Frances

  15. Brenda Kula says:

    The shape reminds me of homes/buildings I’ve seen in the past. Sort of a “dome” appearance. There are all sorts of places to find magic in the gardens. I’m so glad you share yours with all of us, Frances.
    Brenda

    Hi Brenda, yes, sort of 70s vibe going on there. The easiest structure to weave, that is for sure. Gardens are full of the magic of growing things, I agree.
    Frances

  16. Hi Frances, how very pretty, I’m sure the Faire Garden’s fairies will love the new gazebo. Very well done, beautiful and creative. Tyra

    Hi Tyra, thanks. So glad you enjoyed it, hope the fairies do as well. 🙂
    Frances

  17. blossom says:

    Somehow I couldn’t view your pictures. I’ll try to surf your blog outside Blotanical and see if I’ll be able to look at the gazebo. I wish I have gazebo in my garden but I don’t have enough space for it.

    Hi Blossom, so sorry you could not view the photos. I know blotanical has been having some growing pains again. Thanks for visiting anyway.
    Frances

  18. janet says:

    Frances —
    While I was looking for something else on the internet I came across this and thought how appropriate it was for your post today…

    The Fairy Gardeners
    Words and Music by Cuthbert Harris
    Publicshed MCMXXV by The Artur P. Schmidt Co.

    [Through composed]
    When winter time is passing,
    Look out before the dawn,
    Across the moonlit valley,
    And o’er the misty lawn.

    A lot of tiny people,
    So busy you will see,
    And then you’ll say
    “I wonder Whoever can they be?

    Oh! the little fairy gard’ners,
    the busy fairy gard’ners,
    They plant and sow and dig
    and hoe when dews of April fall,

    The flowers rise and greet them,
    The Spring awakes to meet them,
    Oh! little fairy gard’ners,
    how we love you all.

    When winter snows have melted,
    And dreary days are done,
    Oh! greet the thousand blossoms,
    That glisten in the sun!

    Within your heart be hiding,
    This beauty fair and new;
    The happy fairy gard’ners
    Have fashioned it for you!

    Oh! the little fairy gard’ners,
    the busy fairy gard’ners,
    They plant and sow and dig
    and hoe, when dews of April fall,

    The flowers rise and greet them,
    The Spring awakes to meet them,
    Oh! little fairy gard’ners
    how we love you all.

    weblink- http://parlorsongs.com/content/f/fairygardnrs-lyr.php

    Oh Janet, how sweet! Thanks so much for showing us that. It really depicts the actions of our little gardener friends come spring. We have them to thank for these sprouts of green! 🙂
    Frances

  19. Catherine says:

    That is so sweet. We have fairies in our garden too 🙂 My daughter has built little houses for them. I think she would have fun making something like your little gazebo. I love all the landscaping you did for them.

    Hi Catherine, thanks. I think your daughter would love to do something like this. It is quite simple and she is definitely old enough to have some ideas of her own for furnishings too. How lucky you both are! 🙂
    Frances

  20. Racquel says:

    Oh what a clever woman you are Frances. Those fairies are going to love their shelter from the sun this summer. 😉

    Hi Racquel, thanks. Maybe not so much clever as thrifty! I hate to see things go to waste and like trying to think of ways to use stuff. The gazebo is much better now than last year. I have learned some lessons and now know it is better to do it right than do it quickly! 🙂
    Frances

  21. lynn says:

    Frances, your heather/iris photo is drop dead gorgeous..of course, most of your photos have that effect on me! I’ll be curious to see if your fairygloo will start sprouting green shoots from those cut stems..thanks for the smile today 🙂
    Lynn

    Hi Lynn, thanks. That would be so cool if they did sprout. The ones used last year were from a dead Chamae. These are freshly cut. I like the name you gave it too, fairygloo! 🙂
    Frances

  22. Rose says:

    The wee ones are going to love their new hangout, Frances! You are one creative person:) I can’t wait till Midsummer’s Eve–maybe this year they will even stick around for a photo.

    Cheers to Janet for finding that clever poem–I love it!

    Hi Rose, thanks. I think maybe last year I overdid it with the fairy postings before Midsummer’s Eve. This year will be more restrained. But no guarantee of fairy photos, they are very shy. 🙂
    And Janet was a sweetie for sharing that poem, thanks again, Janet!
    Frances

  23. Pam/Digging says:

    The fairy house is cute, but I’m really admiring the sparkly blue-fescue pathway next door. And I always love seeing your wide shots, Frances, to get a better sense of what strolling through your garden would actually be like.

    Hi Pam, thanks. The blue fescue grows too quickly here and gets unsightly after just a year or two. I need to pull and redo that path, and it was just done last year. Wish I could give all the leftovers to you! I am using it to build up the low ground under the arbor. Glad you liked the long view. I will be tryiing to include more of them for those who want to visualize the whole of it.
    Frances

  24. skeeter says:

    Love it and has me thinking about that vine I keep eying in the woods. Hum, what can I create with it? Only time will tell.

    Hi Skeeter, thanks. I am sure you will think of something fun and creative with that vine. I miss having a woods full of cool stuff like we had at our first TN house.
    Frances

  25. nancybond says:

    I’m sure your wee ones will love their revamped gazebo. 😉 You did a great job with the construction AND the embellishments!

    Hi Nancy, thanks so much. This year’s improvements should hold up much better and keep those devil squirrels out. I never guessed they would go in there and dig the place up! It will be fun to decorate for the coming midsummer festivites.
    Frances

  26. eliz says:

    The gazebo is a beautifully-built, elegant structure. Love it.

    Hi Elizabeth, what a lovely comment, thanks so much, I do appreciate you. 🙂
    Frances

  27. chuck b. says:

    It’s fun to read about all the garden bloggers waking up for spring!

    Hi Chuck, thanks for stopping by.
    Frances

  28. Those squirrels are riff raff. They come uninvited, eat too much, and leave a mess.
    They little gazebo is absolutely charming. Too bad I haven’t tried to weave a basket since 6th grade.

    Hi MMD, thanks for visiting. They are awful, I agree. The weaving is a simple over and under then the next row reverses, if it was over the last time, it is under the next. You could do it! I did finish the gate to keep out the unwanteds too. I was so upset with the damage they did in there last year with the digging. It is harder now for me to get my hand in to fix the moss and tidy up, but at least the moss will not be disturbed and the furniture ruined.
    Frances

  29. gisele schoene says:

    The gazebo is cute!

    Hi Gisele, thanks so much. Glad you liked it. 🙂
    Frances

  30. linda says:

    What fun Frances! It’s no wonder the fairies love your garden so much with all you do to welcome them and provide for their needs.

    Hi Linda, thanks. There are lots of nooks and crannies here for the fairies. It is fun to research the plants and other things that are supposed to attract them. Tons of lore and myths on the good ole world wide web! 🙂
    Frances

  31. Pingback: Snoeihout - Workshop - Loppings | AnneTannes Kruidenklets

  32. Phillip says:

    I love it – you are so creative!

    Hi Phillip, thanks so much, you are too sweet! 🙂
    Frances

  33. Jean says:

    Oh my Frances, I don’t think I could make such a sweet dwelling like that, ha! You must figure out the squirrel dilemna. Those pesky creatures have all the fun at the expense of comfort for the fairies. Perhaps you need to engage the fairies at coming up with something magical that will bar the squirrels at the door?

    Hi Jean, thanks. I bet you could too make one, it’s easy peasy. I have made a gate that swings open but stays shut with a little loop. If the squirrels figure out how to open that, I’m calling the authorities! And the media! Maybe a spell on the gate would do the trick, any suggestions? HA 🙂
    Frances

  34. Frances,
    Your wee folk shall have a dandy time on Saint Patty’s day for sure.

    I have been playing blog hooky – it’s been so sunny and warm (85 degrees) that I’ve not been on my computer much at all during the day!
    Cheers,
    Cameron

    Hi Cameron, good for you being outside all day! Tomorrow is the day for me. The fairy gazebo does seem like a good spot for some green beer and pots o’ gold! Thanks for the idea. 🙂
    Frances

  35. patsi says:

    Love the basket weave igloo !
    Your gardening ambition is amazing.
    Maybe it will rub off on me soon 🙂

    Hi Patsi, thanks. It does look like an igloo, I agree. All you need for some ambition is warm temps and flowers beginning to come back to life. You will be energized and ready to tackle the largest jobs! 🙂
    Frances

  36. Weeping Sore says:

    I love it – although I’d be inclined to call it an igloo rather than a gazebo. You put yourself to a lot of work for your fairies, and I hope they appreciate it half as much as the squirrels appreciate your crocus bulbs.

    Hi WS, thanks. The vote does seem to be leaning towards igloo, but gazebo will remain its official title. I should have set the little pots of crocus inside the secured building before the flowers disappeared, just like they did last year. Will I never learn?
    Frances

  37. Adam says:

    what a neat idea, i tried beefing up my garden before but unfortunately work took too much of my time and i was unable to keep on top of it.

    This year i will be attempting lunar planting which i am very much looking forward to.

    best of luck with your gazebo, looking forward to seeing more pictures of it when you finish the last work needed

    Hi Adam, thanks and welcome. Lunar plantings sounds fascinating, I will have to check it out. Good luck with your plantings!
    Frances

  38. Melanthia says:

    How cute. I need to find something to make one for my little guy. He’s only 19 months so I have a bit of time.

    Hi Meliantha, thanks. HA, you do have a lot of time before your little guy gets big, but beware! The time goes so fast you won’t believe it. 🙂
    Frances

  39. I’d like one of them big enough for me to sit in!

    Lucy

    Hi Lucy, you and me both! I have tried building human size stuff before, with the help of offspring Gardoctor who knows about building. But it is very difficult and those curly branches are hard to fasten together in a way that has stability and strength against the elements. Maybe one day. For us both. 🙂
    Frances

  40. What a neat idea! You’re very crafty! (That’s a compliment from someone who has trouble making construction paper garlands for Christmas trees.)

    My experience with deciding on how to space shrubs is that in the South — areas with heat as well as ample water — to always take the label measurements with a grain of salt. Shrubs especially — and some trees and perennials — are gonna get bigger than the lebel (or books) say. I generally give them an extra foot on each side unless they’re miniatures bred to be small. Saves lotsa pruning in the future.

    Hi Judy, thanks. I wish I had followed your advice when planting the row of Gold Mops, but what’s done is done. The whole point of them was to have a hedge that did not need pruning like the privet did. I liked the look and privacy the privet offered, but it was one hundred feet of overgrown hedge and I could see that down the line my aging body was not going to be up to the task. At least these prunings don’t require a ladder!
    Frances

  41. Rose says:

    Hi, Frances, I tried to leave a comment Sunday, but my computer wouldn’t let me…The wee folk are going to love this! I can’t wait till Midsummers’ Even to see how they like their new ballroom–maybe they will even let you take a photo of them this year:)

    Hi Rose, you did leave a comment on Sunday, and I replied. I will leave this one up too, so you might see it and look back for the other one too. The correction has been taken care of. 🙂 I appreciate your effort to leave a message for me! You are a sweetie. 🙂
    Frances

  42. Hi, Frances. Once again your photography skills are outstanding. I have a little story to tell you: While I was going to school, I met a lady in Psych class that had a faery garden in her yard. She had plantings of rosemary and sage and other herbs that they like. Her boyfriend and she used to sit out in the yard at night and take photos. In these photos could be seen tiny lights surrounding the faery garden site. Every evening they would go out and take pictures of these lights. Then one night they went out to take pictures, and all of the tiny lights were gone. There was not a one there. The night was September 10, 2001. When we discussed this in class we all felt that the faeries knew what was going to happen the next morning, and they went to help. After several weeks the lights/faeries returned to the garden. Just something to make you think. Have a wonderful day and take care. K

    Hi Kathryn, thanks so much, both for the kind words and that fantastic story. It boggles the mind, and yet seems to make sense too.
    Frances

  43. Thank you, Frances, and thanks for visiting my blog. Yeah, I think I just went too soon to the gardens, but I will go again. As an addendum to the story above, I can tell you that I saw the pictures and indeed there were tiny orbs of light in them. The one that really got me though was a closeup of one of the orbs, and, swear to the heavens above, you could actually see a face and arms and tiny wings!! She had had the picture authenticated for tampering and such so there wasn’t much room for disagreement! K

    It is always my pleasure to visit your lovely blog, Kathryn. 🙂 Those photos sound sensational. I wonder if I can have some little orbs or light around the fairy garden. I did quite a bit of investigating for midsummer night’s eve, it was a night full of magic, even without seeing the little lights.
    Frances

  44. Marnie says:

    Hi Frances, the color on those pansies is absolutely breathtaking.

    I can let you borrow Toby for a few days. He will absolutely keep the squirrels in line;) (Disclaimer: I am not responsible for any damage done by Toby while visiting)

    Hi Marnie, thanks for that offer, but it does sound like there are strings attached! HA Kitty should be on guard duty, but he has been quite lazy lately. I like to let him out when the squirrel is swinging on the bird feeder for a good chase, but Kitty has been sleeping more during the day and is worthless when I try to wake him up. Aren’t pansies just the most beautiful things? I love every one of them in every color.
    Frances

  45. I’m sure the fairies would love it. You did an awesome job with the gazebo! I love your creativity.

    Hi Chandramouli, thanks so much. I am so glad you liked it, hope the fairies do too!
    Frances

  46. CurtissAnn says:

    The gazebo reminds me of the frames for Indian huts. “Random acts of pruning.” You are clever! I shall think of that when I go out with my felcos.

    Hi Curtissann, thanks. It is very Indian, maybe it is that Okie blood showing itself! 🙂 My pruning is erratic and random, a snip here, a cut there. HA
    Frances

  47. Pingback: How To Make A Fairy Broom When The Need Arises « Fairegarden

Comments are closed.