OOTS-Corn Maze-ing

October 5, 2009 094 (2)
We like to support our local businesses.

October 5, 2009 082 (2)
Newly opened this year is a farmer’s market just down the road featuring produce grown locally, supported by one of our largest employers, Mayfield Dairy. (Note the large yellow columns of corn at the entrance made from Mayfield yellow quart milk jugs). During the summer the littlest farmers would help weigh the produce, ring us up, and count out the change with Mom at the cash register. The pickin’s are slim in the veggie department about now, so this farm and several others in our area cut mazes into the spent corn fields with tractors. Hayrides, pumpkin patches and games for young and old involving hay bales are offered to stretch the season and earn a little extra folding money for the farmers and their families. These are popular venues for school field trips and tourists alike. The day we decided to check it out with camera in tow, the gates were open but there were few folks there. We have had excessive rains lately and the maze was too muddy to allow for corny fun. It was closed, but they had opened for a group of young mothers with babies that had called ahead and driven up from Chattanooga, an hours drive.

October 5, 2009 088 (2)October 5, 2009 086 (2)October 5, 2009 085 (2)
A fenced field held a few llamas and some goats and donkeys. There was feed that could be purchased to bring them closer. I had no food and when this handsome fellow/lovely lady saw that I was empty handed, they turned and walked away, looking back as I zoomed for the above portrait shot. Sorry, my dear, next time.

October 5, 2009 093 (2)
Sauntering around in the squishy grass while trying to keep the Uggs somewhat clean was a maze unto itself. The entrance looked inviting and the sound of joyous squeals of young voices could be conjured, with thoughts of them running through the paths, finding dead ends and circling back again and again.

October 5, 2009 095 (2)
Encircling the corn maze were fields of sunflowers of various types grown for cut flowers. They were tall and eye catching.

October 5, 2009 096 (2)
Besides the capturing of beautification for Veg Plotting’s Out On The Street series, OOTS, there was a secondary mission for this excursion. Pumpkins were needed for a seasonal display. The search is on. The little white ones are quite cute, and the claw shaped gourds are a big favorite as well.

October 5, 2009 097 (2)
Looking looking looking for the one that spoke to me. Aha, here it is. Can you guess which one came home in the gas guzzler?

October 7, 2009 020 (2)
You are such smart readers, of course you knew which one joined the pumpkin line up on the deck bench. All that is needed now are the two growing under the arbor to ripen. But that vine will be getting a story of its own soon. In the meantime, ….

October 7, 2009 017 (2)
The search is on for the perfect costume. Mr. Kitty is so appealing in the headgear…

October 7, 2009 019 (2)
But the star of Hallowe’en, Miss Witch Hazel is not so sure this is the right get up for her highness’ self. Stay tuned for more.

Frances

This entry was posted in cats, holidays, memes, OOTS, Road Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to OOTS-Corn Maze-ing

  1. I do not know why they put as rules #1, no running. When you are a kid in a maze, that is half the fun.
    Miss Witch Hazel looks a trifle disgusted by her costume.

    Hi Deborah, probably for those school field trips where there is a big group of kids going through at once. They should let them enter only a couple at a time, and might actually do it that way. Fear of lawsuits makes the posting of those rules a necessity. I cannot imagine that children don’t run in there. I might even run in there. Poor Hazel, she doesn’t realize that I have a plan to take her photo wearing a tiny witch hat, if I can find one. Don’t know how that will happen, she is not relaxed like Kitty, a bit skittish to say the least. HA 🙂
    Frances

  2. Darla says:

    What a festive looking place! Love the maze. I guess I am the only gardener that does not buy pumpkins for fall display…..mmmm. I wish the squirrels would stop cutting my sunflowers as soon as they begin to bloom!! Your kitties are not quite sure what to think of you are they?

    It was Darla, even though it was a cloudy, muddy day. I love buying the pumpkins, they are so cheap and cheer me up out there on the deck. I love to roast the seeds too, yummy! I can’t grow sunflowers worth a darn, but these large fields of them were incredible. Poor kitties, there is more in store for them too. HA 🙂
    Frances

  3. Looks like a wonderful place for a fall OOTS! I love the fall colors on the sunflowers and all the pumpkins.

    Hi Carol, thanks. It just shouts out FALL doesn’t it? Now all we need is for the leaves to turn. 🙂
    Frances

  4. Gail says:

    Frances, Confession time! I’ve never been in a corn maze…I totally get the appeal to little kids and teens! Thanks for pointing out the milk jug corn construction~~someone in their ad department had fun! Clever, too. Miss Hazel looks like Coal’s mom~She is a skittish cat and passed those genes along to him. I knew you would choose the most interesting of the pumpkins! Have a good weekend. gail

    Hi Gail. I didn’t actually go in either, maybe we can go together when you visit! Aren’t the milk jugs fun, very creative use of them, then they can be recycled afterwards. Poor Hazel, not the greatest personality or temperament, but I love her dearly anyway. 🙂
    Frances

  5. Joy says:

    This is a great post girl !! I only have one wee white pumpkin so far but I intend to hunt others down with my divining rod aka witches broom ? haha .. Love the kitties especially Ms. Witch Hazel (Mr. Kitty don’t be jealous now : ) .. I’m going to hunt down my decorations .. this could be a dangerous mission but I will prevail !! haha

    Hi Joy, thanks. We share that love of Hallowe’en. Pumpkins are just cool. Hazel is the perfect Hallowe’en cat, she even arches her back like the classic pose seen in decorations. But could I get a photo of that? Of course not. Do be careful on your decoration hunt! 🙂
    Frances

  6. Kanak says:

    Frances, this is such an amazing post! And I love the title, the sunflowers, and the pumpkins! What shapes and colours! The photo of your garden with the famous grass—loved it. I hope her highness is happy with her final costume:)

    Thanks Kanak. Fall is full of fun here in Tennessee! The garden looks wonderful with this angled light and there is still lots blooming as the trees are beginning their showy leaf colors. Poor Hazel. She is not going to like what is coming! Maybe some extra treats will make her happier. I have never been above bribery. HA 🙂
    Frances

  7. What fun! I’ve not been in a corn maze, but I know there are a few around here somewhere.

    Your kitties are so cute (and such good sports about costumes). Charm does wear a coat in cold weather as greyhounds have no body fat.

    Cameron

    Thanks Cameron, I do hope Charm is on the mend. I have been visiting the mazes around here on the search for pumpkins and just to check things out for when company comes. The kitties were cooperative, surprisingly so, with a little scratching behind the ears while the shot was taken. 🙂
    Frances

  8. It looks like fun! We have a farm down the road from us that has a corn maze each year. I meant to visit it last year but maybe this will be the year! My girls would love to see a llama like that!

    Hi Dave, thanks. Your girls are just the right age for these things. Most of them seem to have a petting zoo set up as well. 🙂
    Frances

  9. tina says:

    What fun! Poor Miss Hazel, she looks most distressed or should I say scared?

    Thanks Tina. Hazel is not into playing dress up it would seem. Distressed is the better word, but she is the most curious cat, sniffing without fear and going into places in the house she should not go. HA 🙂
    Frances

  10. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Road trips are such fun. I see you have lots of inspiration for halloween/fall decor. Your kitties are handsome without any dressing up. I can see that mz witch hazel isn’t inclined to having her fur disturbed with any human decor.

    Thanks Lisa. I don’t usually, ever dress up the kitties, but decided a photo of Hazel with a hat would be cute for Hallowe’en. I tested it on Kitty first and he didn’t mind at all. Hazel of course did mind, but we understand how to go about it now, just for the picture. Now to find that little witch’s hat. 🙂
    Frances

  11. Liz says:

    Hi Frances – what a lovely, happy post. It looks like it was great fun!

    Autumn is only just begining to happen round here – although the temperature has dropped noticeably these last couple of days, so I expect the leaves will start to turn soon. so, having spent some time looking at everyone else’s garden, I’m off out for a wander round my own now ……..:)

    Hi Liz, thanks. It is so nice right now, hard to stay inside at the computer! Do enjoy your garden! 🙂
    Frances

  12. rosey pollen says:

    Frances,
    Corn always reminds me of Field of Dreams… just a random comment.
    Anyways… love those kitties and their adorable costumes. Fun! I haven’t ever been in a corn maze, but it sounds delightful!
    Rosey

    Good one, Rosey! Love random references. The farmers started doing the corn mazes a few years ago, and more seem to be doing it. Low cost to them and good money maker. Makes a good field trip for the schools as well, cheap and close by and the kids can pick out pumpkins to take home. Nothing but good. 🙂
    Frances

  13. Lola says:

    That’s a most inviting Farmers Market. I really liked the corn post. My all those pumpkins. I could have a field day there.
    Poor kitties, they don’t seem to care what it’s all about.
    I’ve never been to a corn maze. It sure would be fun. Never been on a hayride either.

    Hi Lola,thanks for visiting. It is fun to see so many pumpkins, they must have spent quite a bit of time setting up the hay bales with them. They lined the whole area with little pumpkins and gourds scattered on top. Kitty didn’t mind at all, he was happy for a neck rub, Hazel was suspicious from the start. Hayrides are great fun. 🙂
    Frances

  14. Urban Green says:

    Interesting post. Looks like it’s a fun place and you enjoyed quite a bit. The Llama expression is cool. Looking forward to more
    *Urban Green says hello to Mr Kitty and Ms. Witch hazel*

    Kitty and Hazel say meow back at ya! Thanks, Urban Green, glad you liked it. I thought the Llama was giving me the cold shoulder since there was no food involved with the photo shoot. Next time I’ll know better. 🙂
    Frances

  15. ourfriendben says:

    Those corn pillars are just amazing, Frances! What a brilliant idea! And now of course I want to head out to Meadow View Farm (which also has llamas) and stock up on some of their amazing pumpkins and winter squash to enhance our autmn display. The kitties and their outfits are such a scream!

    Aren’t they cool, OFB? A great use of milk jugs! I remember your posting last year about the colorful fall display at your place. Just the pumpkins on the bench here makes me happy. We may need some more. 🙂
    Frances

  16. gittan says:

    It looks like a fun place to visit. I’ve been searchin for pumpkins myself today without any luck. There’s a huge nursery I’ve heard of but never visited (yeat) in Malmoe on monday I’ll go there. I’ve never had to search for pumpkins before… every store use to have them, even the grosery. Not this year! Maby I should try to grow my own next year. It’s easy isn’t it? Tonight it’s my lonely, cosy friday again. The rest of the family is of to see Hockey and I refuser to do that a fridaynight. Fridays are holy and ment to be cosy not cold at the stadium =) Hope you’ll have a wonderful weekend / kram gittan

    by the way, there’s nothing spotted in those pots yeat 😉

    Thanks Gittan. Nothing in the pots, hmm, it seems there should be something by now, but maybe not. I did bring mine into the greenhouse to grow under the lights to get faster maturation and sooner blooming I hope. Surprising about your not being able to find pumpkins this year, they are very easy to grow but need a lot of space. Have fun being warm and cozy by yourself while your family goes to the Hockey game. I agree with you, warm is a much better way to spend the evening. 🙂
    Kram,
    Frances

  17. Charlotte says:

    More lovely pics Frances – and if you want to take a look at big cats, do check out my latest post – I fell in love yesterday!

    Thanks Charlotte. I will dash over to see your big cats too. 🙂
    Frances

  18. Catherine says:

    Those corn mazes and pumpkin patches are a lot of fun, in fact that’s what we’re heading out to do today. Very brave of you to wear Ugg’s. Luckily it’s been dry here so we shouldn’t need the rain boots this year. Great choices in pumpkins.

    Thanks Catherine, hope your trip to the corn maze was terrific. About the footwear, I wasn’t thinking at all, didn’t realize it would be muddy, duh! I love pumpkins of every stripe, so hard to choose! I like to spread the wealth, buying some here and some there. 🙂
    Frances

  19. VP says:

    Oh what fun and so much colour! Not only is this a perfect OOTS post, it also ties in very nicely with my appreciation of Autumn today 🙂

    Thanks for coming back for a third helping of OOTS – it’s been wonderful how everyone has joined in so much this month!

    Have a great weekend.

    PS we have maize (corn) mazes around here too, but they tend to be more of an attraction during the summer holidays.

    Thanks VP, I completely forgot to come let you know about this post. Your OOTS is such a fun meme and gets me looking around for posting ideas while buzzing around town. Lots of material here as it turns out, which is a surprise. Happy weekend yourself. 🙂
    Frances

    • VP says:

      No problem – I just popped back to pick up your post’s URL because I forgot to earlier. I’ve been out to play with James today (he was giving a talk at a design show and we met up for a quick chat) and I’m not quite all there after a long drive home!

      How fun for you to meet up with James. Your life sounds quite exciting. Next time I promise to come over and leave the link myself. 🙂

  20. Joanne says:

    What a great harvest show.

    Thanks Joanne, and thanks for the recommendations of the roses for my trellis. Felicia is a most beautiful one and will likely come to live here. 🙂
    Frances

  21. Beckie says:

    Frances, I love the ears of corn! What a brilliant idea by some very creative person. Thses kinds of places are such fun for kids and adults alike. Just seeing nature’s fall beauty in all the glorious colors is worth the trip. But finding that ‘special’ pumpkin is a good excuse as well.

    Aren’t those fun, Beckie? I laughed out loud when realizing what they were made of. The search for pumpkins continues. 🙂
    Frances

  22. Sweet Bay says:

    Those corn cobs are great! I can’t believe how well the milk jugs mimic corn kernels. I love Halloween and pumpkins but we’re so far out of the way we never get trick or treaters.

    I think those pumpkin collars would last on my cats about 2 seconds. lol

    Thanks Sweet Bay. We actually don’t get any trick or treaters either, being on a street with only a couple of houses and no one with their porch lights on. I buy candy that we like, but don’t need!, in case we were to get a knock at the door. It took close inspection to realize what the corn cobs were made of, very clever. Two seconds was the elapsed time of the headbands on the cats here too. 🙂
    Frances

  23. oh how fun! They scare me though–I’m a big chicken and won’t go through a maze. I have no idea why. It does look fun and the entrance is pretty. I like the rules–no smoking or open flame–well duh.

    Now that sunflower at the get go of your blog is the grandest thing and I must grow those next season. Happy Autumn to you and your aggravated cat.

    Thanks for visiting Anna. It would be scary in the dark, don’t know if they even are open then here, to go through the maze. Maybe if you were with a bunch of youngsters it would be more fun than scary. Do you fear enclosed places? Claustrophobia? Aren’t those sunflowers something? I bet that farmland is well manured from all the dairy cows around. Happy fall to you and yours as well. 🙂
    Frances

  24. marmee says:

    corn mazes, pumpkins, sunflowers, and gourds…all speak of the fall. your bench of pumpkins looks great. love that you are supporting your local farmers.
    happy autumn.

    Thanks Marmee, fall in Tennessee is amazing, isn’t it? The pumpkins make me so happy, I love everything about them, especially the toasted seeds after they have been cut. Our small town is not wealthy and the local businesses need to be remembered in this day of internet shopping. The farmers are hurting with the price of milk so low, good for consumers, bad for producers. Growing food in the way of veggies for the public is such a win win situation, hope this aspect of farming catches on.
    Frances

  25. lotusleaf says:

    Sorry for being late with my comment- blame it on school exams. How I wish I could take my class to that maze!

    Hi Lotusleaf, no need to apologize my friend. I get comments on posts that are over a year old and am still thrilled to get every single one! The corn mazes and pumpking patches are perfect for school aged children, I wish you had some where you live, or something similar for that kind of healthy outdoor fun. 🙂
    Frances

  26. Teresa says:

    What a fun place. Your photos make it even more inviting. October is such a fun and pretty time of year. That looks like a great place to get in the halloween and fall spirit. thanks for the tour.

    Hi Teresa, thanks. It was a good place for wholesome family fun. Not too scary and who doesn’t love pumpkins? And corn cobs made from milk jugs! HA 🙂
    Frances

  27. lynnsgarden says:

    Frances, those corn columns are wonderful! How creative! I adore pumpkin patches and corn mazes-can’t help but appreciate the work that go into these set-ups…I’ve volunteered at many. I’m searching for a costume for Bandit too! Love your sunflowers 😉

    Hi Lynn, aren’t they something? A great use for plastic milk jugs that can then be recycled Thanks for your kind words, I wish I could grow sunflowers like that, am sure it has something to do with the abundant amount of cow manure available on a dairy farm. 🙂
    Frances

  28. Tyra says:

    How wonderful Frances, what a day. so many wonderful pumkins. Beautiful autumn picture so positive and colorful. Really great stuff.xoxo Tyra

    Thanks Tyra. Masses of pumpkins makes for a fabulous display, same goes for masses of sunflowers. 🙂
    Frances

  29. joey says:

    Your post shouts AUTUMN, Frances! Love our Farmer’s Markets … blessed to have 2 near 🙂

    Thanks Joey. We have a couple too, but this one is very near to my house and so well done and open every day except Sunday. The other one is only open certain days and you never know who will show up to sell right out of their truck. This is in a barn, with straw on the floor even, too cool. 🙂
    Frances

  30. Jen says:

    I think I would have picked that one too, Frances. A great addition to your collection. I can’t get over those giant milk carton corns – too cool!

    Hi Jen, thanks. I am a sucker for the odd or different. I also hope to grow some of these with saved or composted seeds. The milk carton corn cobs were brilliant. 🙂
    Frances

  31. RobinL says:

    I just love pumpkin patches in the fall, and yours looks particularly charming with those sunflowers included.

    Hi Robin, thanks. The sunflowers were a nice touch and provided lots of color and interest that some of the other corn maze pumpkin patch places lack. Those sunflowers were really tall too. 🙂
    Frances

  32. Special Ed. Extended Resource Class says:

    The virtual trip to the local farmer’s market was so entertaining. We loved all the funny looking pumpkins/squash. Our favorite pictures were of the llama!

    I forgot to mention the cats in their costumes was also a big hit with many laughs from the students.

    Dear Class, I am so glad you liked the field trip and wish you could have been with me for real. But it was muddy and the maze was closed that day, so better to look at the photos online where you are warm and dry. The llamas were very cute, all three were the dark brown color. There were small donkeys and goats too, but they were far in the distance. Kitty and Miss Hazel now have home made Hallowe’en hats. The tricky part will be getting them to wear them for an official portrait.
    Frances

  33. Ashley says:

    This looked a great event. I go to our local farmers market in the UK called Jimmys Farm (in Ipswich) – its a great day out. Great set of photos pumpkins!!

    Thanks Ashley and welcome. Glad to hear you have similar things in the UK. 🙂
    Frances

  34. chuck b. says:

    Are you dressing up your cats?! Poor kitties!

    Hi Chuck, no, I am not dressing up the cats. They would mutiny! I just wanted a shot of Hazel with a Hallowe’en hat on, having tried before other years because she is the model of the back raised hissing feline so often seen on decorations. Kitty was a passive model, we tried him first to see if the headband would fit. It looked more like a collar. Hazel wanted none of it. Little cone hats have been made for each now, we just need to hold them over the heads for just a second while the camera clicks. No kitty will be harmed, rest assured. 🙂
    Frances

  35. Love that first photo, Frances! Sunflowers photograph so beautifully. There is a corn maze here that we do every year. Soooo much fun! The guys vs. girls is what we do and right now we’re tied. This year will be a tie-breaker!

    Thanks Kylee. How fun to visit the maze with your family, that would have been a hot spot when my gang was younger. I think they would even like it now, maybe even more so! Too bad they are too far away. Go girls team! 🙂
    Frances

Comments are closed.