Plants And Pals From Buffa10


Back home again in Tennessee, exhausted and exhilarated…


…After another garden blogger meetup. (Meems from Hoe And Shovel joining me on the steps as we enjoy shooting part of the group at the hotel.)


Many gardens were visited.


Many new friendships were forged. (Sister blogging team Helen and Sarah of Toronto Gardens.)


There are details to study in the many photos taken.


But there is one thing that has been learned by attending these meets, both in the states, Austin, Chicago, Buffalo, and abroad, Malvern, England. It is that our fellow garden bloggers are the most lovely of people, both inside and out. (Layanee of Hedge And Gardens, one of several who took advantage of the offer to have a professional photo session at the Buffalo Botanical Garden.)


So many astounding plantings were seen, holding ideas and inspiration for years to come.


But it keeps coming back to the people. (Mister McGregor’s Daughter kneeling to capture the beauty whilst Kylee of Our Little Acre on the left and Jim of Compost In My Shoe on the right capture her and I have captured the whole scene. That is the way it was, the sound of constant camera clicking filled the air.)


In fact, it was a little lesson from Kylee that has led to a new discovery of the capabilites of the Canon SX1 IS, color accenting. Still in the embryo stage of mastery, we only can do green/yellow with the black and white so far. Practice and reading the users manual is is our future.


Beaucoup hugs to you for being so generous by sharing, dear Kylee, and the same to fellow Oklahoma gal, Dee of Red Dirt Ramblings. The smiles tell the story of how this trip went down.


The city of Buffalo treated us like royalty. What a fabulous place to visit with plenty for the non gardening as well.


Elizabeth and Jim, you created a memorable event that has and will continue to cement the bond of friendship between us all. Thank you.

Frances

There will be more written about Buffa10 at Fairegarden soon.

The Page:
Garden Blogger’s Meetups

More Plants And Pals From Buffa10

Final Plants And Pals From Buffa10

For a listing of posts by the other attendees, click here.

This entry was posted in Road Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Plants And Pals From Buffa10

  1. gardeningasylum says:

    Good morning! What a lovely event, the best part being the people, with the gardens a close second. It was great meeting everyone and catching the Buffalo garden spirit:)

    Hi Cyndy my dear, thanks for visiting. I slept in a little this morning, so good to be in one’s own bed. Buffalo was fantastic and it is about the people as you say. The gardens plus the people make it the best possible combo. 🙂
    Frances

  2. Sylvia (England) says:

    Frances, I am glad that you had a lovely time – though I knew you would. I have followed Jim’s blog for a few years now and love the houses and gardens. I look forward to all your posts and the posts of everyone that went (not sure I will get to them all but will try). I should think you are exhausted!

    Best wishes Sylvia (England)

    Hi Sylvia, thanks, it was great. Jim is such a good ambassador for Buffalo, as is Elizabeth, we were extremely impressed by the city, its gardens and architecture. It was a lively and vibrant spot, excellent for visiting. 🙂
    Frances

  3. Sunita says:

    Frances, you seem to have had such a lovely time. I’m so happy for all of you who were able to meet up with other bloggers with gardens on their minds 🙂
    Of course I’m a little (very!) envious , still, I’m getting to enjoy through your eyes. Thank you so much 🙂

    Hi Sunita, thanks for stopping by. It was great, more people came to this one so the conversation was a dull roar at all times. We love to talk! The gardens were incredible, so many of them and the owners so welcoming. Speaking with the gardeners was such a treat.
    Frances

  4. Carol says:

    It was a great time. Happy to see you again!

    It certainly was, my friend. These meets just get better and better. How fun. 🙂
    Frances

  5. gittan says:

    Hi Frances, it seems to me that you’ve had another great blog meeting there! So you’ve found the setting for making funny looking pictures. I do that sometimes just for fun. I’d love to see more from Buffa10 / kram gittan

    Hi Gittan, thanks, it was great! That setting is something I had been hoping to find, admiring similar type photos on the blogs of others. I just need to be able to get other colors, but these were fun, if funny! Wish you could come sometime. 🙂
    Frances

  6. Looking forward to many more posts on this trip, looks like you had a great time.

    Hi Deborah, thanks. There are already a whole bunch of posts up on the Buffa10 site. I will try not to show the same shots that have been done so well by other more accomplished photographers. It was too fun and the Canada contingent did their nation proud! 🙂
    Frances

  7. Darla says:

    Nice. I have been waiting on reports from this adventure. Surfing around reading the others…

    Thanks Darla. You need to come to one of these meetings, maybe there will be one in the south one of these years. 🙂
    Frances

  8. Valerie says:

    I wanted to attend this year but could not. Maybe next year. It looks like fun and you meet all these people from blogs that you follow or read. Thanks for taking us along.

    Hi Valerie, thanks. Do try and come next year, you won’t be sorry! Meeting these people is like meeting long lost relatives, no one is a stranger and there is so much to discuss, gardening, blogging, etc! 🙂
    Frances

  9. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    I can’t wait to read more. These gatherings are so special.

    Thanks Lisa, wish you had been there. 🙂
    Frances

  10. Rose says:

    What a wonderful time you must have had, Frances! It’s good to see some familiar faces and names, and I’m looking forward to reading all the posts about this special trip. The garden you photographed in black/white/green looks awesome!

    Thanks Rose, we did and you were missed! There were blocks and blocks of gardens, all close together for easy perusing, each one prettier than the next. Too much fun! 🙂
    Frances

  11. Sounds like everyone had a good time! Helen and Sarah are awesome, though I know them mostly through Twitter. A professional photag session? Layanee is smart–I’d’ve done that too.

    We did, Monica, missed seeing you there! Several partook of the discounted photo session for business and other reasons. The setting inside the fern house of the Botanical garden was perfect, as you can see from my amatuer shot. Doesn’t Layanee look glamourous? 🙂
    Frances

  12. Dave says:

    I bet those events are very fun! Maybe one day when the kids aren’t so young or the event is somewhat closer I’ll get to go. Besides we had our own event to attend!

    More fun than you can begin to imagine, Dave. Being with other passionate gardeners who also blog equals endless conversational topics!!! Someday we hope to see you there. Am I led to believe your own event was what we think it was? Congratulations to all, if it was!!!! 🙂
    Frances

  13. steve says:

    As you have probably realized, we get to sit and look over your shoulder at the personalities whose writings and blogs we read, wondering what they’re like and if they are as normal as we are, lol. Actually, this is truly fun. You provide a marvelous service to those who can’t be there, Frances. By all means, keep it up!

    Thanks Steve. I will let the others who attended fill you in on the places we visited. I know from the past events that you guys want to see the other bloggers as much as the purty flower pics! I took shots with that in mind this time. More to come. 🙂
    Frances

  14. gail says:

    My dear, It was truly a wonderful time! I am still there in my heart and spirit…I came home exhausted and slept in till 7AM~My eyes see my garden differently this morning~those brilliant native and friendly exotics we saw are being imagined and planned for C&L! xxgail ps I so loved getting more travel time with you!

    Dear Gail, another fabulous trip together under our belts. We could go for frequent blogger miles status soon, if not already. I dream of those Mondardas! It is raining!!! 🙂
    xxxooo
    Frances

  15. lotusleaf says:

    Hi Fraces! You seem to have had a wonderful time in Buffalo. Your pictures give us gardeners plenty of ideas.Looking forward to your coming posts.

    Hi Lotusleaf, thanks. This was the best of times, these get togethers just keep growing and blossoming into wonderful friendships and learning experiences. 🙂
    Frances

  16. commonweeder says:

    Having gone to one blogger’s meet up, I don’t know how I can bear to miss another one – I haven’t finished talking to everyone and I don’t care if Mike Shadrack of hosta fame did say we were the noisiest group ever to visit his gorgeous garden. It was wonderful to meet you!

    Likewise, Pat! It is true that many of us have been to every meet, knowing how much fun they are and how much we would regret missing a single minute of these unique situations. We are certainly noisy, there is no denying it. HA I promise we will chat at length next trip. 🙂
    Frances

  17. Jennifer says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog. looks like a great time was had in Buffalo.

    It was my pleasure, Jennifer. Your photos are fabulous! As was Buffalo. 🙂
    Frances

  18. noel says:

    aloha frances,

    loved all the pictures and mostly the faces that go with the blogs, i can see that this was a special gathering of old and new friends…how wonderful, i feel like i was also there at least cyber wise, thanks for sharing this.

    Aloha back to you, Noel. I know that readers like to see the bloggers as well as the gardens on these meets and have tried to oblige. I am glad you have gotten a taste of what it really felt like to be amongst all those talented people. It was non stop talking from start to finish! 🙂
    Frances

  19. What fun you had – and in great company. Thanks for not only sharing your post but providing the list for the rest of us to peruse! 🙂 Happy Gardening!

    Thanks for visiting, Shady, glad you liked seeing everyone. It was great company to go with a great city and great gardens. And food. 🙂
    Frances

  20. It does just get better and better doesn’t it, although I don’t understand why Kylee looked so fresh and cool that day. It was unbelievably hot on Thursday.

    Loved seeing you my dear Oklahoma girlfriend.~~Dee

    I agree, dear Dee. It does sound as though you are suffering from what my daughter Semi and I call brain malfunction. Your brain sees something quite different in photos and in the mirror than the rest of us see. To me, you and Kylee both look nothing but happy. 🙂
    Frances

  21. You know, I was so entranced by the gardens I never noticed anyone was snapping me while I was at it. Thank goodness my gluts are in good shape from weeding!
    It was so much fun to get to talk with you in person again. The people really are the best part of the trip.
    BTW – you should be kicking yourself. That little fairy gate made it home in my suitcase in perfect condition. The girl loves it and is insisting that we start a fairy garden immediately.

    It was a fun time, and that moment was quite special. I wondered if you were aware of the cameras behind you. As for the fairy gate, I am so happy you bought it and that the girl loves it. I did end up with the tall astilbe, did not cut the flower stalk off and made it through two flights, security and the drive home still intact. The little bench, trug and watering can fit into my sneakers, safe and sound in the checked bag.
    Frances

  22. Frances, It was so wonderful to meet you, too, as I’ve long been a fan. The gardens were fantastic, Jim & Elizabeth’s hospitality was overwhelming, the city was a big and very pleasant surprise, but the people were really the highlight of the event. Now I’m seriously considering scrounging the $$ for the GWA Symposium in Dallas. And, of course, saving my pennies for the next Fling.

    This morning, I had to pry myself from my bed at 6 to do a very long walk in the very hot city. But I’m looking forward to writing more about our Buffa10 experience.

    Thanks for the link love… or, as I like to think of it in said a Michael Caine voice, thanks for the link, love. Was I eating when you snapped that picture? As it was Buffa10, the chances are very good.

    Same here, Helen. We discovered the importance of the people at these events when in Austin, it was unexpected but makes sense. Saving pennies beginning now is the way for some of us to be able to afford it for 2011, wherever it ends up being held. I do hope to see you and Sarah there as well. You are a machine to be able to do the walk today. I am worthless, if happy. I look forward to reading your future posts. 🙂
    Frances

  23. debsgarden says:

    When I started my blog nine months ago, I had no idea what I was getting into! I would love to go on a trip like this and meet fellow garden bloggers. It looks like tremendous fun and inspiration!

    Hi Deb, it was the best! Do save pennies now to be able to come wherever the next meet will be held, I would love to meet you in person. 🙂
    Frances

  24. Jim Groble says:

    It was a pleasure meeting you in Buffalo. We had
    a wonderful time.

    Thanks Jim. It was great to meet you and your wife. We will be thinking of you and your family in the coming days.
    Frances

  25. Frances – you describe a delightful group of folks, which I totally expected. I would have loved to have gone to meet the gardeners, more than to see the gardens. But, how do you tell a hubby (of only 8 years, you see) to stay home! 🙂 It’s great to see the tour through the camera lenses of fellow gardeners. It sounds as though you learned a bit from Kylee and since I have the same camera, it would have been a fun lesson for me, too.

    Hi Cameron, wish you had been able to come. The solution to the hubby coming is to bring him once, to show him how bored he will be and then you will be free to come alone from then on! HA
    Frances

  26. Barbara says:

    Hey neighbor! Such fun having lunch with you and Gail that first day. I’ll give you a holler when I’m headed to Knoxville- can’t wait to see your place in real life! Great blog post.

    Hi Barbara, we were thrilled to meet you and get the chance for in depth conversation. As you could tell, it is difficult to have such time once everyone is together. Do stop by next time you are in the area. 🙂
    Frances

  27. Pam/Digging says:

    I missed that sweet bird cut-out gate! There was much to see; no wonder I missed a few things. But as always, people were the main attraction, and I’m glad I was able to visit with you again, Frances.

    Today is my day to go through pics. Hope to have a post up later today.

    Hi Pam, thanks, seeing you again was a joy. The bird cut out was on a skirting around a front porch. I don’t know what made me notice it with all the plants to look at, but isn’t it so sweet? Looking forward to seeing the meet through your perspective. 🙂
    Frances

  28. Jenny B says:

    What a wonderful experience. I bet you are fairly bursting with inspirational ideas both from the gardens you saw, and the wonderful gardener friendships forged. Coming on the heels of Malvern, Buffalo must seem like icing on the cake!

    It was, Jenny. Taking lots of shots to help the old memory be able to conjure the plantings, let alone for the blog is the best way to go about these things. Seeing the people we have met before and meeting new friends is the high point. This was a fabulous time had by all! 🙂
    Frances

  29. That looks like it was so much fun, and truly inspirational. I’m going to have to make an effort to make it to the next meet. I’ve missed too many already.

    Thanks for sharing your friends and inspirations with us, I’m looking forward to future posts.

    Hi Hands, do try and make the next one, it is so fun and I would love to meet you. 🙂
    Frances

  30. Layanee says:

    Frances if there is one regret it is not having had time for intimate conversations with all bloggers and plant lovers. Many thanks for the link love. I am still sorting pictures but will reciprocate as I have a beautiful picture of a Faire garden gardener.

    Hi Layanee, I couldn’t agree more. I thought you looked so pretty in my amatuer shot, surely the professional one will be a knockout! There are so many pictures to go through, so fun to remember all we saw and did and the people. This time I took lots of people shots, remembering the comments from the Chicago posts last year…the readers want to see the bloggers as well as the gardens. 🙂
    Frances

  31. jen says:

    It sounds like so much fun. And it’s great to see faces and names.

    Jen

    It was Jen, so much fun. I remembered from Chicago that readers wanted to see the people as much, if not more than the gardens and tried to get plenty of photos to oblige. Glad you liked them. 🙂
    Frances

  32. Robin Ripley says:

    It was a fabulous time and you got great photos. Really, I should stop reading and start writing!

    Great to see you.

    Robin

    Hi Robin, thanks. It was like a family reunion, only better! I enjoyed seeing you again and look forward to next year. 🙂
    Frances

  33. Town Mouse says:

    Ahh, when I grow up I also want to take trips to meet other gardeners. Unfortunately, just being back in school makes me feel like that might be a little while away… All the better to enjoy the fun posts everyone has about the Buffalo event.

    Hi Town Mouse, thanks, we would love to see you in person! Possible in Seattle next year? Grown up or not quite there. 🙂
    Frances

  34. Jean says:

    Like Robin, I need to stop reading and keep sorting through my photos. You have some lovely ones as usual Frances. It was great to see you again!

    Hi Jean, thanks. It was a pleasure to get to spend time with you. Wasn’t Buffalo amazing!!!! 🙂
    Frances

  35. Oh dear Francis, what a joy to see you again! And though we got some girlfriend time in this trip (more than the last time), it still wasn’t enough. I think we’d all need a couple of weeks or more to do that! As usual, your photos are top notch. Makes me want to go back and have y’all back there with me.

    Word is that next year’s get-together will be in Seattle. That will be a costly one, but I wouldn’t miss it for the world. You guys are “my people!”

    *love and hugs*
    Kylee

    Hi Kylee, thanks for saving me a spot on your dance card this time! It was too brief, I agree. Seattle is a place I have always wanted to visit, lots of great gardens there. Pennies being saved starting now! 🙂
    Frances

  36. Victoria says:

    How lovely to be able to put faces to names, such as Helen, who often comments on my blog. I’m in the middle of a kitchen makeover (you can imagine how much fun that is…) so haven’t had time to keep pace with all your posts. But they are wonderful therapy when I do get time to sit down with a cup of tea! Lots of love, Victoria xx

    Dear Victoria, thank you for taking the time from that hectic schedule to visit. We missed seeing you and the other UK bloggers with us in Buffalo. It would have been so fun for everyone to meet you all. I remember your kitchen well, and wish you the smoothest of transitions with it. Hi to the kids and dear Pushkin! BTW, I found a hair clippie like yours online! 🙂
    xxxooo
    Frances

  37. Pingback: More Plants And Pals From Buffa10 « Fairegarden

Comments are closed.