Zoom

August 3, 2009 new 005 (2)
Zoom in.
Sitting outside in the blue chair on the garage deck ramp with the new camera, the Canon Powershot SX1 IS, playing with the settings to see if any adjustments might give more pleasing images. Pointing to the right at the revamped heather bed with Phlox paniculata ‘David’ blooming whipped cream white with the lavender blooms of gold phase Calluna vulgaris ‘Firefly’.

August 3, 2009 new 015 (2)
Zoom out.
Now in view the Rudbeckia fulgida ‘Goldsturm’ on the other side of the path. Phlox paniculata ‘Nora Leigh’ from Clay And Limestone’s Gail look sad because they were just divided. Wrong time to be doing that, but it happens here like that, a lot. They will be fine next year.

August 3, 2009 new 009 (2)
Zoom out.
Looking to the left from the same chair shows the volunteer Cosmos ‘Cosmic Orange’ seedling growing to the proper height. Last year the parents of this one were eight feet tall growing in the bed rather than the gravel path. On the right side of the path the orange reblooming Asclepias tuberosa picks up the hue. White shasta daisy Leucanthemum x superbum ‘Becky’ blooms in the yellow/white bed on the left side of the path.

August 3, 2009 new 020 (2)
Zoom in.
Standing at the corner of the veggie bed looking toward the shed zeroing in on a fading Eryngium ssp. Dying seed heads are being left on the stalk to follow the new low to no maintenance policy and also allow the seeds to plant themselves for more free plants.

August 3, 2009 new 021 (2)
Zoom in.
Still looking at the same bed, this time at the Belamcanda ssp. Same deal as the Eryngiums with seeds allowed to form, stand over the winter and drop to grow more free plants.

August 3, 2009 new 023 (2)
Zoom zoom in.
I love these flowers and their twisted sister spent petals. Cool.

August 3, 2009 new 026 (2)
Zoom in.
Standing in the knot garden looking at the lone Zebra grass, Miscanthus sinensis ‘Zebrinus’ along the chain link fence. There originally was a row of these to hide the unsightly silver metal property boundary. The movement of the tassel flower heads fall into winter was delightful but the form was floppy and the spot bare from the March cut down during the spring bulb bloom time. Not acceptable. All but this one were replaced with evergreen Osmanthus fragrans seen in the foreground.

August 3, 2009 new 012 (2)
Zoom in.
Back to the blue chair, it is too hot to stand in the sun anymore. Back to the heather bed, looking at the seed grown marigold. Two types of marigold seeds have been sown here in the Fairegarden, Tagetes patula ‘Queen Sophia’ and T. ‘Tiger Eyes’. Seeds have been saved of the prettiest combination of these two resulting in the mahogany petals and yellow to orange *eye*.

August 3, 2009 new 017 (2)
Zoom out.
What are we taking a picture of here? Just pointing the camera up into the air, are we? Oh yes, the Sourwood tree, Oxydendrum arboreum is blooming. It is too bright to see the LCD screen so we point, shoot and hope for the best.

August 3, 2009 new 018 (2)
Zoom in.
This is what we are trying to capture. Looks like the flowers are spent and the little white berry things are hanging down. The Sourwood is a fantastic fall specimen, whose leaves turn a bright burgundy highlighted with white panicles.

August 3, 2009 new 019 (2)
Zoom in.
A second shot is taken. Upon loading onto the laptop, something appears to have been added to the image.

August 3, 2009 new 019 (3)
Zoom zoom in.
While not the Holy Grail, certainly a bit of serendipity as this Hummingbird happened to land on the Sourwood in between shots. Cool.

Frances

This entry was posted in Photography, wildlife. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Zoom

  1. You are having way too much fun with that camera!

    HA Carol, thanks. I am getting more familiar with it even though I still have no idea about those manual settings. 🙂
    Frances

  2. Dave says:

    I’m getting dizzy with all that zooming! Nice shot with the hummingbird!

    Sorry to make you dizzy Dave. HA I squealed in the lazyboy when I saw the hummer in the shot and made The Financier come over to look. What luck! 🙂
    Frances

  3. Brooke says:

    Your garden facinates me, I think I could just wander around for hours. I really enjoy the photos and your new camera is really doing well. I have a Cannon too and love mine. It is about a year old now.

    Thanks Brooke, what a nice thing to say. I am sold on the Canons, easy to use even for those non photogs among us, like me.
    Frances

  4. Janet says:

    Wonderful zooming Frances!! If you don’t mind I will do a link to the Sourwood blooms to my post last week of the Sourwood tree. How kind of the hummingbird to land just as you were taking photos!

    Thanks and of course you may link, Janet. It was your post that inspired me to try and get a photo of the sourwood blooms way up high in the first place! The hummer was quite polite to get into the second shot. 🙂
    Frances

  5. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    I love all the zooming. I like seeing the overall pictures sometimes Frances. I gives more of a sense of being with you in your garden. Isn’t she sweet to pose for your last shot??

    Thanks Lisa. The efforts to feed the hummers and make them happy finally paid off. HA I wish you could see the overall garden for yourself. If you ever come down this way, do drop in! (A short hop of three and one half hours will take you to Christopher’s too and you might as well go into Asheville for ice cream at The Hop! 🙂
    Frances

  6. Katarina says:

    Please continue to zoom! Great shots!
    Katarina

    Thanks Katarina. Until I can figure out the other settings, zooming is something I CAN do! HA
    Frances

  7. chuck b. says:

    With so much material to work with, you and your camera should be very busy–to the benefit of your readers.

    You are too sweet Chuck, thanks. There is a lot going on here, like your own interesting space. Wish you could see it in person and give me some pointers! 🙂
    Frances

  8. Darla says:

    So glad I am not the only one that divides plants when they feel like it and hopes for the best. I love the shot of the zebra grass with the fence post. You could not of captured that hummer that well if you would have been trying…LOL Lovely!!

    HA Darla, we are bad, aren’t we? If it has rained, or they are calling for rain, that gives me permission to divide and move stuff. For some reason things are always needing spreading or moving around here. It was a pleasant surprise to see that hummer in the shot, I would never have been able to even see it, let alone try and capture the image. Thanks. 🙂
    Frances

  9. Tatyana says:

    Sourwood tips look so elegant…

    Thanks, Tatyana, it is a wonderful tree.
    Frances

  10. tina says:

    I love that sourwood. Thanks for featuring it as I’ve never seen the bloom. The first year I grew cosmos it too was 8 feet tall, but all the of the resulting babies from the seeds have been 3-4 feet tall. Wonder why? Thanks for the info on the spike moss. I hope mine will winter over-that may be why I lost it the last time. Too wet. We shall see with crossed fingers.

    Hi Tina, thanks. The blooms are terrific on the sourwood, lasting until the new shoots push them off in spring. Funny about those cosmos, but I really wanted the shorter stature anyway and they make so many seeds it is easy to save them. Good luck with your selaginellas too.
    Frances

  11. I love the orange cosmos; they are my favorite flower this year! Speaking or Eryngium, how are the rattlesnake master seedlings coming along?

    Hi Monica, thanks. The Eryngium seedlings are looking good. I have them planted in two places, the flat bed that used to be a gravel driveway and up by the shed where the other Eryns are. They are about three to four inches tall. I have high hopes for them. Thanks for the seeds. 🙂
    Frances

  12. Rose says:

    Wonderful photos, Frances–without your zoom, you never would have captured the fleeting sight of the cherished Holy Grail:) My next camera is definitely going to have a good zoom!
    I love the twisted petals on the lily, too; thanks for pointing that out. And thanks for identifying the cosmos–Tina gave me some seed which must be the “Cosmic Orange.” I had no idea they would get so tall!

    Thanks, Rose. The zoom was the reason that camera was purchased, the only reason. Glad to hear you have those orange cosmos too. Last year they were ridiculous, this year the saved seed grown plants are just right. 🙂
    Frances

  13. Randy says:

    Frances, How long does it take for Belamcanda to grow large enough to flower from seed? Your’s are beautiful BTW.

    Hi Randy, thanks. I think it took a couple of years, maybe three before there were blooms. I plant them in a row about now or whenever the seeds appear black berryish about an inch deep. They will germinate come spring. I let them grow a year in the row then transplant them the following spring. Plant them good and deep for they sometimes want to fall over when in flower.
    Frances

  14. Carol says:

    What fun it must be to have a new toy that brings you such images! Love the garden view with the orange cosmos… and the sourwood with your lucky jewel crown! That is a young hummer I think… and the dark marking? Maybe an early mark that will become red… it is a ruby throat right… I guess it could be a female too. Great Shot!

    Hi Carol, thanks. I was wondering about the spot in the hummer’s neck. Sometimes we see the males with the red throat, but usually they are moving too fast to see that clearly like the photo shows. The new camera is becoming more fun to play with. I still grab the old camera for those quick shots though. 🙂
    Frances

  15. Jenny B says:

    What fun you are having with your new camera! So many beautiful blooms you were able to capture–and the hummer! What luck! Did you trim your Cosmos back when it got so tall? Mine has done that this year, and is now flopping. I have been wondering if I would get a nice new flush of blooms if I trimmed mine back for the Fall.

    Hi Jen, thanks. It was a lucky day. I have never trimmed the cosmos. Last year I cut them to the ground when the blooming slowed down in October. I had to use the lopper, the stem was so thick. Sounds like a good idea that is worth a try, pruning them down some now though. 🙂
    Frances

  16. Catherine says:

    What a great surprise to find the hummingbird in the picture!
    I’m always dividing and moving plants during the summer, I just do it when I have the time. Luckily most plants seem to bounce back pretty well. I love the Cosmos in the middle of the path. Did it reseed there?

    Thanks, Catherine, it was a happy coincidence. Dividing and moving plants is one of the most enjoyable things about gardening. I can’t not do it, even when it is not the best time for it. The cosmos in the path is a volunteer. The gravel paths are home to many such volunteers, seeds love it there. 🙂
    Frances

  17. I’m due for a garden post. I need to catalog what has survived the heat and lack of tending. I will take notes for next year.

    Hi Jill. Posting is certainly a great way to keep track of bloom times, successes and failures. You don’t have to worry about finding the paper if you wrote it down the old fashioned way. I still do both however. 🙂
    Frances

  18. Lola says:

    I love your pics, Frances. It is nice to see at a distance then up close. That cosmos is gorgeous. Sure wish it would grow like that in my garden.
    The sour wood tree is great. Have you ever ate sour wood honey? It’s out of this world. I use to get it when I was in N.C. Lots of sour wood trees there. We had several on our property.

    Hi Lola, thanks. I had given up trying to grow cosmos until last year, nothing but failures. When they grew so tall, we saved seed but were afraid to try them in the garden. There are two volunteers, the one in the gravel path is doing the best but the one in the nearby bed is starting to bloom now. It is a lot more crowded in the bed. I have seen Sourwood honey at the farrmer’s markets but never tried it, now I will have to since it got your strong recommendation. North Carolina is the only place we have ever seen Sourwoods growing in nature. What a great state! 🙂
    Frances

  19. Robin says:

    I have a lot of the Cosmic orange cosmos this year. I’ve never been a fan of orange, but that one makes me happy! How cool to have the hummingbird stop by for a picture!

    Hi Robin, thanks for visiting. We hope to have lots more Cosmic Orange in the future from saved seeds. We are new to loving the orange, just coming to realize its beauty and what it brings to the garden in the last couple of years. The Asclepias helped change our minds about it. 🙂
    Frances

  20. Steve says:

    As always, a trip over here is an experience in good and amazingly colorful pictures – and of course text! My but your pictures are sure gorgeous, Frances. I loved the Zebra grass and that stunning little solo Marigold. Really neat.

    Hi Steve,thanks for those kind words. The volunteer marigold is the hit of this post it seems. Rarely seen as a single specimen standing along in all its glory. The gravel path offers that showcase. HA
    Frances

  21. Sweet Bay says:

    I especially like the shots of the garden path with the cosmos and the Candy Lily. Lovely!

    Thanks Sweet Bay, glad you liked them. 🙂
    Frances

  22. Balisha says:

    Twisted Sister Spent Petals….love the description.
    Balisha

    Thanks Balisha. Glad you enjoyed the little joke. 🙂
    Frances

  23. You are just having too much fun with that camera! I now have an even worse case of camera envy.

    HA MMD, thanks. I have a good camera, just not the knowledge to know how to use it properly. 🙂
    Frances

  24. Frances, I’m getting joy from your joy in playing with that camera. Congratulations on your new toy. It gives you new eyes, doesn’t it?

    Hi Helen, you are so sweet to say those kind things, thanks so much. Lots to learn with the new camera, but giving it a try is the only way to get better with the settings. 🙂
    Frances

  25. Sue says:

    Awesome photos! I love that sourwood!

    Thanks, Sue. Sourwood is a great all around tree, even for a smallish garden, it grows upward narrowly nicely. 🙂
    Frances

  26. You are already Queen of the Close-up, so it’s going to be fun to watch you play with this camera.

    Gosh, Linda thanks! I don’t consider my camera skills as much, since I only know how to use the auto focus button. I got lucky with the Canon Powershot AS 720, it does all the work, I just point and shoot. The new expensive sx1 cannot take a macro anywhere near as clear, even on supermacro, or at least I don’t know how to do it. Yet. I’ll bet Mark could give me some pointers. 🙂
    Frances

  27. Pingback: As The Sourwood Turns « Fairegarden

  28. Nan Jorgensen says:

    I missed it if you said but what model of Cannon do you have? Do you have any extra lens? What ever it is I want one. NAN

    Hi Nan, thanks. I might have mentioned that I was using the Canon Powershot SX1 IS, always shooting on auto. That camera has a 20x zoom which I love to play with.
    Frances

Comments are closed.