One, Two, Three,…


One. One female cardinal.


One, two. Two female cardinals.


One, two, three. One male cardinal plus two white throated sparrows.


One, two, three, four. One female red bellied woodpecker plus one male cardinal plus two female cardinals, see the tail feathers at the top of the image.


One, two, three, four, five. One male house finch plus one female house finch, plus three goldfinches.


One, two, three, four, five, six, seven, eight, nine, ten, eleven, twelve…. wait a minute, did I count that one already? Hold still, will ya? Uncountable Cedar Waxwings from February 2009. Click to read about their visit that unforgettable day here-Thirsty Throngs.

The counting begins today. It is as easy as one, two, three. Click here to visit the website of The Great Backyard Bird Count that will be taking place from today through Monday, February 12-15, 2010. This is our third year to participate and we would like for everyone that can to join in. Keeping track of the backyard birds is important business and they need our help to do it. Set aside an hour that is convenient for you to count the birds you see, either at home or in a public space. It helps to print out the bird list for your zip code so you know what to look for. There are guidelines and suggestions on the site. Make it a family adventure, the more eyes counting the better. You keep track of the most of any type of bird that you can see at one time so you don’t count the same one over and over. Having a reference book of birds helps. The Petersen Field Guide to Eastern Birds is what we use, although we rarely see any new birds at the feeders in our back gardens. We do like to count from inside the house, for it is often, well, every single time! quite cold on these days. Fill the feeders and scatter seed on the ground before you begin timing for the maximum number of visitors during your count. Then get those pens and pencils ready! Having it over four days time allows you to pick the best time for viewing according to your schedule. We have plans for the weekend, so will be counting today. Our numbers will be posted here once they have been tabulated and submitted online.


Since we mentioned that we rarely see any new birds, a new to us bird showed up. We think it might be a yellow warbler, but any ideas from the more experienced birders are welcome. Lisa? Added: A very big thank you to Randy for giving the ID of Pine Warbler to our little guest. We do have a stand of mature pines so it makes sense!
It is easy peasy and fun to count the birds and it will give you a warm fuzzy feeling knowing that you are helping with a very important task. So do it, for the birds. Before they are…


…Going, going, gone!

UPDATE
The count has been done. We decided to go ahead and begin the count because it started snowing. The snow covers the seed on the ground quickly and makes it more difficult for the birds to find it. We did scatter some under the table on the deck, but some birds are too shy and will not come that close to the house. As you can see from the above photo, Hazel helped me count. We did have a new to us bird too, a yellow rumped warbler, two of them. The little yellow pine warbler showed up at the suet feeder as well. This year’s count was a roaring success! Do try to find the time to participate. You can do four fifteen minute intervals over four days. Surely anyone can find that amount of time for a good cause. Here is the tally at the Fairegarden on February 12 from 12:30 PM to 1:10 PM:

2 Mourning Doves
2 Red-bellied Woodpeckers
2 Downy Woodpeckers
3 Blue Jays
2 Carolina Chickadees
1 Tufted Titmouse
1 White-breasted Nuthatch
2 Carolina Wrens
1 Northern Mockingbird
2 Yellow-rumped Warblers
1 Pine Warbler
9 White-throated Sparrows
10 Northern Cardinals
4 House Finches
5 American Goldfinches
Added: 22 Wild Turkeys

Frances

This entry was posted in cats, wildlife. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to One, Two, Three,…

  1. gittan says:

    Your garden seems to host a lot of birds. They all look so beautiful and exotic to me / kram gittan

    When we are regularly filling the feeders, there are several, we are swamped with birds. We have to refill a couple of them daily in fact, but so love watching them eat. These are all common here, but I know your common birds are quite different. Thanks for stopping by.
    Kram,
    Frances

  2. tyziana says:

    Fabulous birds!!!
    Your garden is a beautiful haven for all the little birds in the area.
    What a sight! Thank you for these wonderful pictures! 🙂

    Thanks Tyziana. It is gratifying to see so many birds enjoying the table we have set for them. Now to see if we can count them. The red cardinals are easy, they show up so well against the grey and brown background of the winter garden. It is the brownish ones that hide with their coloration. 🙂
    Frances

  3. Edith Hope says:

    Dear Frances, I really do applaud this idea and must say that you have presented it in such an imaginative and endearing way. I shall be most interested to read of the results. Happy bird watching!

    Hi Edith, thanks so much. It is a good thing to count the birds and it was my entry into blogging that brought it to my attention, another good result from entering the blogging world. I am thinking of counting around 4 this afternoon, when my husband will be here to help keep track. Four eyes are better than two! 🙂
    Frances

  4. Randy says:

    Frances,
    Your small bird is a Pine Warbler. Pine Warblers do eat seed especially if you have peanuts and suet. We get them every so often at our feeders, we hear them calling from the tops of the pine trees here in the spring. Enjoyed your photos and commentary.

    Oh thank you so much, Randy! I have added that to the post with a link to you. Much appreciated. We have pines so will look for those spots of yellow in the tops, which are the tallest trees in our garden, fifty feet at least. I need to learn the bird calls, I say that every year, maybe this year it will happen. 🙂
    Frances

  5. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    What fun to have so many cedar waxwings at your water feature. Not many waxwings around here. They must all be at your house. I will be counting this weekend. Thanks for the link love. ((hugs))

    Thanks Lisa. I think we are a connecting hub for the waxwings as they travel in the spring and fall. They only stay a day or two then are gone. It happens every year, but blogging has added another element to the excitement, trying to get photos to share. Happy counting! 🙂
    Frances

  6. Darla says:

    We have that cold rain today~~~still waiting to see some snow…I was up in the middle of the night flipping on the outside lights…wonder what my neighbors thought, not that I care much,lol. I am so excited to participate in the bird count this year for the first time!!!

    Hi Darla, we have been watching the weather, they seem unsure of who will get snow and who will get rain. At first they said the snow would be to the south of us, this morning they said it is creeping northward. They are just guessing! Hope you and your flowers are spared the cold stuff. Good deal on your bird counting, it is so fun! 🙂
    Frances

  7. I’ve never done the backyard bird count, mostly because I don’t know enough bird species. How about I come count them in your yard instead? (what a delight that would be!) I hope it’s a great weekend for doing so, and happy Valentine’s Day, Frances!

    Hi Jodi, come on down! Or maybe just get a little bird book that shows the birds in your area. You too have a happy V-day. 🙂
    Frances

  8. So lovely to see such a wide variety of birds so close. I have a couple of feeders but my cats keep most of the birds away. However the trees are full of noisy bluejays. They are so much fun.

    Hi Heather, thanks. The cats do keep the birds away. We only let Kitty out when the birds are not eating. It seems the birds come at regular times in the morning and afternoon, or anytime we have just refilled an empty feeder. I like seeing and hearing the bluejays, such an interesting vocal repertoire they have. Our feeders are designed to keep out the large birds and squirrels, so the jays have to eat the scatterings on the ground, I never get a photo of them. Need to work on that. 🙂
    Frances

  9. Randy says:

    Frances,
    Try this link for the Pine Warbler call
    http://www.junglewalk.com/popup.asp?type=a&AnimalAudioID=8889
    http://www.junglewalk.com/popup.asp?type=a&AnimalAudioID=489 then look for Pine Warbler it is a little quieter than what we usually here but very distinct.

    Thanks, Randy. I added another link for the calls too. The photo of the yellow warbler looks more like the bird we saw, so now we will listen to the call. I did hear the difference between the two. Cool!!! The more I look, the more confusing it seems. The bird here had a totally bright yellow head and body, with a grey wing with bars, no steaking on the chest. It could be an immature or female yellow. It was more yellow than the photos of the pine warbler. Does that make a difference? I will listen to the call if possible, ears now trained! 🙂
    Frances

  10. Frances, This is such a beautiful and clever way to mark the beginning day of counting! Those cedar waxwings LOL … I will have to go an revisit that day… I have always admired your header photo! I imagine that to be the same day or are you so lucky to have that sort of marvel happen more often? ;>) I would guess you just might be that lucky! Carol

    … Wait… Submit! I forgot to say … it is not just a matter of luck… you have created an environment or habitat that attracts! Kudus for that! ;>)

    Hi Carol, thanks so much. While we do consider ourselves very lucky about some things, the waxwing visits only last a couple of days in late winter and fall, but do happen every year. My header photo was one of many taken that magical day and I may never change it, for the memories it stirs are the best of the best when I see it. Do go read that post, although I could not describe adequately the excitement of it all. I will never forget it, but am glad to have gotten some photos to help the memory stay bright and sharp! 🙂
    Frances

  11. threadspider says:

    What a wonderful collection of species new to me. The huge variety of bird shapes, sizes and colours is just amazing, isn’t it?

    Hi Threadspider, thanks and welcome. Our birds seem to be totally different than the UK and other European ones. But the people are the same. 🙂
    Frances

  12. Great pictures! I wish we could see a group of Cedar waxwings like that here.

    Thanks Dave. Water and holly berries will do the trick! 🙂
    Frances

  13. Gail says:

    Just need to find what I did with my bird list to get started…thanks for the wonderful pictorial reminder. Your birds are wonderful…How exciting that you’ve had a Pine Warbler…I keep hoping a Nashville Warbler will visit my garden. Keep warm. gail

    Hi Gail, thanks. Have fun counting your birds too, from inside a warm house! Thanks to Randy I now know the song of the warblers and look forward to bending an ear to help confirm the ID. I saw the Nashville had their very own warbler, along with Tennessee, how cool! 🙂
    Frances

  14. The parks around here are organizing bird counts. More winter weather coming…

    Stay warm… hope you can count the birds while staying indoors!

    Cameron

    Hi Cameron, thanks. Oh this weather, don’t get me started! You too stay warm. We will be counting from inside. Luckily there are two rooms with glass sliders facing the back gardens where we can count from, and will. 🙂
    Frances

  15. I love cedar waxwings, though have never seen them at my feeders. I see you are in shape for the bird count! I’m going to do mine either (or both) this afternoon, Sunday, or Monday. I just need to find my bird ID book, which I have no idea where it might have gotten to. I’ve been seeing something that I think is a flicker, but I don’t know what kind. Wait! I just looked at the GBBC’s Checklist for my area and the only flicker listed is northern. Score!

    Good for you, Monica! Those flickers are beautiful birds. We sometimes see them up near the fence, but never at the feeder. I will be using the binoculars to get the hightest count possible. Those checklists really help! 🙂
    Frances

  16. Rose says:

    Thanks for the reminder, Frances. Sophie and I have been doing quite a bit of bird-watching these days from the front window, and she’s really excited about participating in this.
    By the way, this post would make a great children’s book!

    Hi Rose, thanks. Sophie will be a good helper, I know! I was thinking of the Count, on Sesame Street when writing this. (Ha ha ha ha ha, evil laugh). 🙂
    Frances

  17. rosey says:

    Your feeders are very popular. I miss Cardinals, we used to live in Michigan and would see them a bit there. These are great shots and you are lucky to have so much variety.

    Hi Rosey, thanks. I set the tripod up inside and opened the glass sliders hoping for some clear shots. The blowing snow didn’t help and it was still so cold. We have several different types of feeders to feed a broad range of birds. Many still will only feed on the ground so we scatter some for them too. They eat a lot! 🙂
    Frances

  18. Teresa O says:

    I have always loved your header photo and wondered about the story behind it. Now I know..

    What fun counting birds would be. This is something to look in to.

    Hi Teresa, thanks so much. The waxwings have always been my favorite bird, even before I ever saw one in real life, just from looking at pictures in a book I had as a child about birds. To see so many and get photos of them was the thrill of a lifetime. Do join in the count, you can do it! 🙂
    Frances

  19. Frances, You have Wonderful photos of your birds… take-my-breath-away type. 😉 I wish I could participate in this year’s Backyard Bird Count, but we’ll be in and out most of the weekend… Enjoy your time though, and “keep us posted!”

    Hi Shady, thanks. I just finished the count, doing it earlier than planned because it is snowing hard here. Four fifteen minute intervals over four days are all that is required. It was quite fun with new to us birds this year, very exciting! 🙂
    Frances

  20. goodtogrow says:

    First, I’m jealous – we don’t get cardinals in Albuquerque. Secondly, you remind me of why I love birders so much. Birding is one of the few things left in our society that’s based on the honor system. So if a birder says she saw a particular bird, she did! I love it! Thanks for your post!

    Hi Liza, thanks. You are right, birders, and gardeners are still honest folk. I have been to nurseries that were on the honor system as well. You slipped your cash into a mail slot for the plants you took. It makes one proud to be part of such a group. 🙂
    Frances

  21. I love how beautiful the markings of the Cedar Waxwings are. We have had some gold finches visit lately. I need to start taking photos….

    Thanks Noelle. The Waxwings are just striking, like no other bird. The first time they stopped here, I ran to the bird book to see what they were, there were several, drinking from the pond and I was beside myself with joy. This was well before blogging or even the first digital camera. The markings are so unique, easy to ID. With the quality of photos you take, your bird shots would be fabulous. I look forward to seeing some. 🙂
    Frances

  22. joey says:

    Delightful post/photos, Frances. I’m in love with your red-bellied woodpecker!

    Thanks Joey. That is the largest visitor to the feeders. Both the male and female are strikingly beautiful. 🙂
    Frances

  23. CE Webster says:

    What a cute way to show the Great Backyard Bird Count. Great photos.

    Thanks

  24. Catherine says:

    Our count today was from inside too, pouring rain, but luckily birds still showed up.
    I look forward to seeing what types of birds you see there, I know many will be birds that we don’t see here.

    Hi Catherine, thanks. Good deal on being able to count inside too. I know we can see more birds outdoors, but we have to be comfortable enough to relax and just count. I always feel so sorry for the birds in the rain too, but they have to keep eating, I guess. We had the usuals show up, but the warblers were a highlight, never before seen here. 🙂
    Frances

  25. Good luck with the count.

    Can I point out that Chickadees is one of the best names ever invented.

    Thanks Rob. And yes, that name is brilliant, one of the first birds we learned to identfy by its song.
    Frances

  26. This sounds like fun…and I am enjoying your photos of many different birds than we see in the Pacific Northwest. I am going to quickly write a post and link to you so my readers can get in on it too. Thanks, Frances!

    Thanks so much for helping get the word out, Ricki! I do appreciate that. This is such an easy way to do a good deed for our feathered friends. 🙂
    Frances

  27. Nicole says:

    Wow, you really have managed to attract quite a lot of lovely birds. We also have increased our bird count since we moved in a few years ago and planted lots of trees, flowering plants and provide water. Hopefully in th new gardenwe are starting this year we will have such luck.

    Hi Nicole, thanks. It sounds like you have done all the right things to help the birds find your lovely garden. Water is so important, sometimes people forget about that. Good luck with the new garden, I am sure the birds will find you. 🙂
    Frances

  28. Lona says:

    Hi Frances. The great bird count begins. You have a variety around in your garden. I wish those Cedar Waxwings would come up here. They are so pretty. Wonderful shots.
    Have a great weekend!
    Lona

    Hi Lona, thanks. Our count went well, in spite of snow falling. The waxwings never show up until after the count is over, but we are still quite thrilled to see them pass through here. You too have a great weekend. 🙂
    Frances

  29. Robin says:

    I still remember the thrill of seeing your post on the Cedar Waxwings! What a spectacular sight!

    I would have an easy time counting the birds were it not for the hundreds of starlings and house sparrows. That is why I dislike them so much, never just a few, but greedy hoards.

    Hi Robin, thanks. That was a special day, I appreciate that you remember the story. I remember seeing your starlings at the feeders. They count too, and are on the print out for our area. They are in the neighborhood but don’t come to our feeders. We do have all squirrel proof feeders, the big birds only get what falls or is scattered on the ground. The squirrels would empty them in an hour before. They cost more but the savings on the seed and suet makes up for it.
    Frances

  30. Anna says:

    Hazel looks like a willing volunteer 🙂 We had our equivalent event a couple of weekend ago but sadly no cardinals on this side of the pond – what beautiful birds they are Frances.

    Thanks Anna. Hazel is very interested but would not go out even if the door was left open. She has only ever been outside a couple of times in her whole life, and was terrified and wanted right back in. Workmen had left the door open and scared her outside. Poor baby. The cardinals are the easiest birds to count here, especially in the snow! 🙂
    Frances

  31. Lola says:

    Oh my, what a view. I see Hazel is not to be left out. Love all your birds. Wish I had some of those here. Not much going on in town.
    Loads of rain here. Cold too. They are warning of icy roads tonight & tomorrow. Where did this strange weather come from?
    I have a very small brownish bird that flits around. I think it’s some kind of wren. Will keep my eyes open.

    Hi Lola, thanks. Hazel does not go out, ever. It is Kitty, the grey male who sometimes ventures outside with me. Not during bird feeding hours however. The birds come because of the assorted feed we offer them. It takes a day or two when a new feeder is set out, then a scout will come and the word will get passed and the birds come and enjoy. Black oiled sunflower seed is the number one food, it’s all you need to have a good variety of birds. We use special feeders that keep the squirrels and larger birds out, it makes the seed last longer. Your little bird might be a wren, they are quite bold. Do be careful and stay warm and safe. We have about an inch of snow here.
    Frances

  32. Sweet Bay says:

    Those cardinals don’t look very happy about the snow! I love Pine Warblers. I remember when you posted about the entire flock of Cedar Waxwings — that was amazing!

    Hi Sweet Bay, thanks. The poor birds when it snows or rains, they still keep eating. I guess they have to to stay alive. The Cedar Waxwing event was the thrill of a lifetime. 🙂
    Frances

  33. I might could do that. But. The birds stoppped getting fed here last summer when the building contractor could not handle the occasional loss of a bird to one of three sneaky cats lurking on the deck. He is waiting for them to move out I think. Now they are just out and about in a snow covered forest, harder to see and count.

    Now am I supposed to believe from that last window shot looking out in the garden that you did not do a fair amount of cleanup in the garden? It looks pretty tidy to me and there isn’t enough snow yet to hide things.

    Hi Christopher, you might could. I would imagine you have an amazing array of birds there on the mountainside. We don’t feed our birds in the warm months, we want them to eat insects, more protein! I know about the cats too, we have a couple of neighborhood cats that hang around the feeders. I throw gravel at them and make loud noises to chase them away, but they always come back. Maybe if you scattered some seed on the deck railing? As for the clean up, or lack of, do you not see the blood grass still standing along the wall? Everything else was stomped, the tall asters cut, it is a mess to my eyes. Good thing I am concentrating on the birds instead. 🙂
    Frances

  34. Janet says:

    I am doing my count tomorrow, maybe a couple times. I enjoyed seeing your birds as you counted. Lots of fun to seeing just how many feathered friends you have. Kudos to Randy for that bird ID. I know I have some Song Sparrows and some Whitethroated Sparrows and will need to get the book out to refresh my memory. Stay warm!!!

    Hi Janet, thanks. Hooray for your counting, hope you get lots of visitors! We had another type of warber too, the yellow-rump, he came right up to the glass and looked inside. I have never noticed him or the Pine warbler before, but they might have been coming all along and I wasn’t paying close enough attention. The cardinals are the easiest to watch with the brighter colors. Now I look for the warblers and maybe other new ones. Too exciting. 🙂
    Frances

  35. Beckie says:

    Oh Frances, I would love to sit with Hazel and watch the birds in your back yard. Going to try to count on Sunday here and hopefully will see more than just sparrows. 🙂

    Hi Beckie, thanks. I wish you would sit with Hazel and me to watch the birds. It is a most enjoyable activity. When we have guests, they watch too. It is like a movie out there. I hope you have loads of fun birds, but sparrows are sweet too. Just as important as the colorful ones. 🙂
    Frances

  36. Teresa says:

    They are all so pretty, but there is nothing like those cedar waxwings! I have only seen them once and it was so exciting. Our birds here are quite as varied as you get. I just want to see a robin. Then there is light at the end of the tunne. Great pics!

    Hi Teresa, thanks. The waxwings are my favorite, although I love them all to be honest. We saw a robin earlier in the week, but since they don’t come to the feeders, and it was snowing, there were none on the counting day. But there are out there, waiting for this cold to move on! Me too! 🙂
    Frances

  37. Kathleen says:

    I’m ready Frances!!! I’m so excited too ~ it’s my first year to participate! Every year in the past, I’ve forgotten but this year the list was printed and I’m ready. Let the birds show up!
    I hope I have half the wonderful species you did. I usually see about the same ones every day (much like you stated) but you never know when that one surprise will happen, do you? Congrats on the little Pine Warbler. I’ve never seen him before but any warbler would be a welcome sight. Highly unlikely this time of year but welcome! Have a great weekend.

    PS That congregation of waxwings is phenomenal. Wonderful you were able to get a photo.

    Thanks, Kathleen. I am so glad you are counting too, it is fun and a worthwhile use of our time. The list helps so much, our little warblers were right there on the list for our zip code, we saw two of the three kinds listed, a first for us. I look forward to being outside to listen for the warbler songs too, thanks to Randy’s link I should be able to hear them. We usually get a group of waxwings, but never that many at one time. We have mature American hollies all over this older neighborhood, lots of them, for food, but not many water features besides ours, if any. I will be looking for them toward the end of the month, but with the colder than normal winter, they may not come through until March. I will be on the lookout for sure. With the camera. 🙂
    Frances

  38. Randy says:

    Francis,

    I can’t believe you didn’t get an Juncos? We have at least 50 of them at our feeders, same with White-throated Sparrows.

    We don’t usually get many juncos anymore, although we did when we first moved to this house. Sometimes we will see a couple, but none that day. Many white throats, always, feeding on the ground.
    Frances

  39. Jean says:

    Pine Warbler – nice!! This year I thought I wouldn’t have any goldfinches to count but lo and behold, I’ve got at least 30 now! They were certainly latecomers. I too, have a new bird to the feeders. Or so I thought. Turns out it was a female Purple Finch. Very tricky little girl! Yesterday was a free-for-all at the feeders with snow everywhere. I’m hoping for calmer counting today.

    Thanks Jean. We were so excited about the warblers, the yellow rumps come right up to the glass doors and look in! Great news with the goldfinches! We are trying to imagine that they are turning more gold now, a sure sign of spring, but it is hard to think that way when it is snowing. Good luck with your counting! So Fun! 🙂
    Frances

  40. We love birds & keep our feeders filled, always watching for new birds that might show up also. Saw a group of white birds last week that I cannot identify! They must be heading north or south from somewhere exotic. Thanks for the info, I’m going to join in the count too!!

    Hi Linda, thanks for joining in! The birds at the feeders are better than TV, but they are big eaters, as you know trying to keep the feeders filled is a task, if an enjoyable one. Hope your white birds show up for an ID too. Having the printout helped with our warbler ID, showing which ones are common in our zip code. Hope your count went well. 🙂
    Frances

  41. Lola says:

    Frances, I just looked at the post again & saw the feeders. I have both the same ones but the squirrels have demolished them. I need to see if I can get replacement parts. {If I could remember who I got them from. LOL} The squirrels chewed off the plastic ports. The only feeder that I have that the squirrels can’t mess up is the ones I made from Terra Cota Pots.

    Hi Lola, you have some aggressive squirrels! Dirty thieves! The double caged suet feeder has proven to be impossible for the squirrels to get into, although they tried to take the lid off. I wired it on tightly. It is a battle of wits with those rodents, for sure.
    Frances

  42. Liisa says:

    Frances,
    What a lovely variety of birds. The Cedar Waxwings are among my favorites, and I so enjoy your header photo. It looks as though Hazel enjoyed the bird count just as much as you! 🙂 I hope you enjoy a wonderful Valentine’s Day, and if you would be so kind as to stop by my blog, I have something for you!!

    Dear Liisa, thank you so very much! I am thrilled to have won the Lives Of The Trees book! I can’t wait to dig into it! 🙂
    Frances

  43. linda says:

    Fairegarden is such a hospitable sanctuary for overwintering birds, it’s no wonder you have a plethora of them Frances!

    Happy Valentine’s Day!

    Hi Linda, thank you so much for those kind words. We do love feeding and watching the birds and get very excited when there are new visitors to the feeders. I hope your Valentine’s Day was full of sweet things. 🙂
    Frances

  44. TC Conner says:

    Those cardinals are gettin like weed trees! But my they sure are pretty! And they’re the Kentucky State Bird.

    Hi TC, thanks. We do have a lot of cardinals, and they are the ones that show up to these old eyes the best as well. Kentucky chose their state bird well. Tennessee chose the Mockingbird, whose song is like no other, or should we say whose song is like every other! 🙂
    Frances

  45. Hi Frances, great photos! Kitty has fun watching the show! I’m also doing this…as well as one that goes from Nov. to April. You count for 2 days, every 5 days or further apart than that, if you want. So far I’ve only contributed 2 wks. worth…but every bit counts, they say. When I enter my ‘bluebird’ count, it always comes up to about 17 at any given moment. I get these ‘warnings’ before they let me click ‘send’ that say ‘this is an unusually large amount for your area’! What can I say? Those bluebirds just love hangin’ out here. And I DO remember when those cedar waxwings all showed up at your place. I had just posted about some that I saw for the very first time, in my yard. Then I came over here and was in awe of the number you had. It’s funny but I haven’t had any more since then. Another thing is that I’ve seen just 2 blue jays so far all year! Very strange.

    Thanks Jan. Hazel and Kitty both spend quality hours watching the birds along with me. How wonderful about your bluebirds! We have some, but they are over in the pine trees at the edge of the property, not in view of the room where I sit most of the time. How funny that you get that warning! The waxwings are only here a couple of days, just passing through, but last year was the most we ever had at one time. I believe it was because we had the only unfrozen water available for them. Hope they come by in 2010! 🙂
    Frances

  46. Lynne says:

    The birds in your garden are beautiful. It is, as you say, that they are different to me. Mainly I get sparrows, mynah, starlings, thrush, blackbirds, wax-eye, swallows, seagulls (i live 2 blocks from the sea) and (if I’m very, very lucky) fantails which are my favourites. The mynas I have come to loathe. They are bullies to the other birds, and they divebomb me and the dog and cats when we go outside. Fortunately, as soon as their babies leave the nests, they all disappear until next year.

    Hi Lynne, thanks. Your birds sound exotic, where do you live? Do you have a blog? Some birds are bullies here as well, and don’t get along well with the other birds. Even the beloved hummingbirds are so territorial, they spend more time chasing each other than enjoying life and the feeders and flowers.
    Frances

    • Lynne says:

      I live in Napier, New Zealand, Frances. Here is a link for the NZ fantail, or Piwakawaka as it is called in Maori. I’m not sure the pictures really do them justice. They are very small and very quick, also friendly (although not trusting) and curious.

      Sorry, meant to add that no, I don’t have a blog.

      I think I should go back to bed lol. Here is that link http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_Zealand_Fantail#Gallery

      Thanks Lynne, I have combined your comments into this one. I will check out that link! 🙂
      Frances

  47. Pingback: Some Birds* « Fairegarden

Comments are closed.