Daylilies 2009-Grand Finale

June 27, 2009 001 Chamonix from neighbors Mae and Mickey. June 28, 2009 003 Radiant Greeting from Mae and Mickey June 27, 2009 003 Chicago Brave from Mae and Mickey. June 27, 2009 010 Ida’s Magic from Sunshine Hollow. June 27, 2009 014 Black Prince from daughter Semi. June 27, 2009 031 Princess from Mae and Mickey June 27, 2009 032 Red Cadet from daughter Semi. June 28, 2009 013 Stand up Double from Sunshine Hollow. June 28, 2009 045 Lusty Leland from Mae and Mickey. June 28, 2009 053 Trahlyta from Sunshine Hollow. June 28, 2009 037 Swan Pond from Sunshine Hollow. June 28, 2009 068 Gay Cravet from Mae and Mickey. June 28, 2009 073 Elrod Peach (made up name) came with the property. July 5, 2009 001 Planet Max from Champions. July 4, 2009 009 Ahoya from Mae and Mickey. July 7, 2009 001 Moon Dazzle, not Moon Dancer from Champions. I have no excuse.
~~~
This ends the daylily season for 2009. It was a good one. Cultivars listed on the daylily page but not pictured either did not bloom, the bloom was broken off by a clumsy photographer, or it bloomed while we were out of town. There is one left with the buds still quite small that will be added later. Some are beginning to rebloom and a list of those will be put together and added to the page for future reference. All of the photos and posts for 2009 can be found on the sidebar on a page titled : Plants We Grow-Daylilies. You can find it at any time on the right column of the blog or click here. Thank you for your interest.
Frances

This entry was posted in Plant Portrait. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Daylilies 2009-Grand Finale

  1. gittan says:

    Hi Frances, oh how beutiful they all are. That Lusty Leland looks really different from the others. And the colour of it is amazing. Thanks for charing them all with us, I really enjoyed every daylily post / kram gittan

    Hi Gittan, thanks so much. Lusty is a very tall fellow and strong grower and bloomer. He is similar to the wild species with a double flower. He sets seeds easily too. There are several nice seed pods this year, hooray! 🙂
    Frances

  2. gail says:

    Frances, ~they are ruffled, diamond dusted, recurved, doubled lovelies that will certainly be missed. Standup and Lusty L ‘s are two of my favorites. Both are nice sherbet colors. Enjoy your day gardening. gail

    Hi Gail, thanks. All the buzzwords, you are good!!! Standup only has a scattering of doubles, it is the color and later bloom time that endears it to our hearts. Lusty is a hearty soul, Semi has spread him on her steep hill and he is regal there. Rain this morning, but so much to be done before the beach trip we will just have to get wet.
    Frances

  3. Janet says:

    I still marvel at having all the names of the different cultivars! Many of mine are from friends and come without introductions. Your doubles are really grand.

    Hi Janet, thanks. It certainly helped that the gifts from Mae and Mickey were labeled, got us off to a good start. Whether the names are known or not, they are the stars of summer. Those are the only doubles, and Stand Up is only double every third flower or so, but the color and later bloom time make it a favorite.
    Frances

  4. Lola says:

    What lovely lilies. Princess sure is an eye catcher. I think it’s great that you have the names to all the lilies you have. I’m beginning to dislike not having names for all my plants.

    Hi Lola, thanks. Princess is the color of a ripe canteloupe, just gorgeous. I was lucky to get the names when the original 25 were given from Mae and Mickey. That made it easy to keep track when new ones were added.
    Frances

  5. Frances, you must have quite the records to know all the names and the sources for your daylilies! I like ‘Planet Max’ because I’m trying to focus on just the spider types.

    Hi Carol, it helped that the original 25 were labeled as we dug them at Mae and Mickey’s. Mae made sure the name was written on each plastic grocers bag saying I would be glad to know their names later on. As usual she was right on. We have a couple of spiders from that first gifting, Hyperion and Sammy Russell (formerly known as Nonstella). The spiders just never called out to us at the farms. But Planet Max was so tall and unique, he might be the start of a new phase. 🙂
    Frances

  6. Rose says:

    I enjoy reading the names of all your lilies, Frances, almost as much as seeing their lovely faces. I wonder about the story behind the naming of “Lusty Leland”:) I’m really interested in seeing your list of rebloomers; I want to add more of these to my garden.

    Hi Rose, thanks. The names are interesting to me too. I get the Lusty part of Lusty Leland for he is the tallest of the lot and is mighty vigorous with blooming and growing larger. A good one for dividing to make a mass of them. I am wondering how much the rainfall affects the reblooms. I have never really paid attention to the reblooming for we are usually at the beach when that happens, and will be again this year so I won’t get the info recorded, again. So far there are a handful, listed on the now completed daylily page on the sidebar if you want to take a look. 🙂
    Frances

  7. tina says:

    I too am quite impressed by you knowing all the names. Heck, I’m lucky if I remember what type of flower I planted, let alone the cultivar. Can you see me waundering thru the garden, hmmm, is this a daylily or crocosmia. I am so bad, but I am trying to do better. I love all these daylilies and I think knowing the names is important too. Off to the garden! 1/2 of rain yesterday makes it nice.

    Hi Tina, thanks but I think you are being too modest. You know the names of your plants better than I do. As for the daylilies, I got off to a good start with Mae who labeled each one as I did the digging. They were in a long row on the inside of the fence that runs along the street that you see as you make the turn to go to my house, if you remember how that was. It is raining here now too, I would like to be outside, but am thankful as ever for the rainfall. Makes for happy plants, and happy plants make happy gardeners. 🙂
    Frances

  8. Sweet Bay says:

    Oh no, more to add to the want list!! LOL You have a wonderful daylily collection.

    Thanks Sweet Bay, there are too many pretty ones, aren’t there? These are barely a hairs breadth of what is out there. When we go to the daylily farms, it is so hard to narrow it down to one or two, one could just close their eyes and point with the same satisfaction. There are no losers, only winners! 🙂
    Frances

  9. Jake says:

    Those Daylillies are some of the prettier ones I have seen, they are quite awesome. I alos like you blog, it is so informative and th epictures are great.

    Jake

    Hi Jake, thanks and welcome. Daylilies are quite photogenic, lucky for me. 😉
    Frances

  10. Sunita says:

    Please excuse me while I pick my jaw up from the floor … Frances you grow such beauties!

    HA Sunita, thanks. The daylilies are a beautiful group of flowers. We are lucky that they love the conditions here and are so readily accessible at reasonable prices. Or free if you happen to have wonderful generous gardening neighbors. 🙂
    Frances

  11. LindaLunda says:

    Mmmm this is real LOOOOVE!!
    Linda

    Hi Linda, thanks. I wish you would show a little more enthusiasm in your comments! HA 🙂
    Frances

  12. ryan says:

    This is great. We’re often trying to figure out what the various hybrids look like, so it’s nice to see the collection of photos. Otherwise, I just end up ordering “Gold Coin” over and over.

    Hi Ryan, thanks so much. Even with all the record keeping apparatus in use here, I still bought the same one twice this year. Good thing it was a real pretty one, Palo Duro Canyon. HA 🙂
    Frances

  13. linda says:

    Beautiful daylilies Frances!

    Hi Linda, thanks. I loved your mom visit video! 🙂
    Frances

  14. carolyngail says:

    Love the Spiders and doubles Frances and the red ones really catch the eye. A fabulous collection.

    Hi Carolyn Gail, thanks. They are all wonderful. You would think I didn’t need anymore, wouldn’t you? 🙂
    Frances

  15. Titania says:

    I have joined the crowd to see the finale of your daylilies. Great plants and flowers in a dazzling colour mix. Cheerful, uncomplicated flower power!

    Hi Titania, thanks for joining in! These are simply beautiful and very photogenic, plus super easy to grow in our area. Glad you enjoyed the parade. 🙂
    Frances

  16. Racquel says:

    Wow your cup really runneth over with gorgeous Daylily selections. I’ve never seen so many different types. 🙂 I’m glad you posted ‘Lusty Leland’, I think I have that one in my garden that someone passed along to me recently.

    Hi Racquel, thanks, it does and I am ever so grateful to have them. Lusty Leland is a tall vigorous fellow, you will love having him. 🙂
    Frances

  17. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    I am always impressed that you remember most of what you have in your garden Frances. You have such an abundant collection. All are just beautiful.

    Hi Lisa, thanks. I have many different lists and charts to refer back to help jog the old memory too. And now that daylily page is done, hooray! I want to make a page for each type of plant, a lifelong undertaking, but we will chip away at it. The daylilies are the largest group, and the most fun to photograph too. 🙂
    Frances

  18. Beautiful! My favorites are ‘Trahlyta’ and ‘Planet Max.’

    Thanks, MMD, good choices. I see you like your purples. Both are really darker than what the photo shows too. 🙂
    Frances

  19. What beautiful daylilies! Have you found this to be an exceptional year for them? Chicago Brave is an outstanding color (my opinion). I’d love any of those Spiders! 🙂 Hope you enjoyed a great weekend!

    Hi Shady, thanks. It was a good year, it is believed our normal rainfall, rather than extreme drought conditions helped it greatly. Chicago Brave is a strong red and good bloomer, excellent choice! Hope your weekend was fine as well. 🙂
    Frances

  20. keewee says:

    Francis, you had a wonderful day lily season.

    Hi Keewee, thanks, it was a good one. We are usually gone on vacation right in the middle of it and this year are going later so no blooms, except Brocaded Gown, were missed while we were away. 🙂
    Frances

  21. LindaLunda says:

    I´ll try Frances.. I will try :)!
    Linda

    HA Linda, glad to hear it. 🙂
    Frances

  22. lynn says:

    Frances, I love the Chicago series! Haven’t been a spider-form enthusiast but getting there! My fav in this post is Ahoya 🙂 Also, I have a beauty blooming with no ID but you may identified Ida’s Magic for me!! I’m slowly working on a post for all my varieties..

    Hi Lynn, thanks for visiting. Ahoya is a good one and we have two Chicagos, both excellent performers. If you have Ida’s Magic, you have very good taste, that one is a favorite too. I look forward to seeing your display, your pictures are just phenomenal! 🙂
    Frances

  23. Joanne says:

    Thank you Frances for the lovely show.

    Thank YOU Joanne for stopping by. Glad you enjoyed them. 🙂
    Frances

  24. Daphne Gould says:

    Very nice. Of course I think of this as the beginning of the daylily season. My garden is so much later than yours.

    Hi Daphne, thanks. How lucky you are to just be beginning with the daylilies. Well worth the wait. 🙂
    Frances

  25. Siria says:

    Oh Frances…your daylilies are awesome! I too am so impressed with your varied selection and your knowledge of every one. I have been adding more each year to my garden, but still have a long way to go to catch up with you. 🙂

    I was in your neck of the woods this past weekend, but was too busy with the kids to try and see if I could make a trip to see you. Hopefully one day soon though! It sure was spectacular weather too!

    Have a great time at the beach!

    Hi Siria, thanks. It is not a race to see who has the most daylilies you know. Or is it? HA

    Sorry you were so busy this weekend, my husband was out of town and I was home on Sunday all alone. The weather was perfect for garden touring too. 🙂
    Frances

  26. Pingback: Looking with New Eyes « An Artist’s Garden

  27. Wonderful pictures, Frances — I’m beginning to think of daylilies as I think about books: so many daylilies, so little…room. Standup is a stand-out.

    Hi Helen, thank so much. There are so many cultivars, very hard to choose new ones since we have so many here already, but we manage. Standup’s color is fabulous, the doubles are not reliable, but the color is. 🙂
    Frances

Comments are closed.